We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so good” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homer's Smorgasborg

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Homer's Smorgasborg
Ranked #34 of 141 Restaurants in Sebring
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: It's really a Smorgasbord = aboslutely anything you want for a great price. Top - #1
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not so good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Everything about the restaurant is downer, the food is mediocre and the faculity is old and out dated, and over priced. Would not recommend this place to anyone at anytime.

Helpful?
2 Thank Valari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    36
    23
    9
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nancy, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Come Hungry and Enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Friends invited my wife and me to eat at Homer's after church one Sunday. The first hint we had was the parking lot. We had to park some distance away, but it is in a shopping center, so there is always more parking if you are willing to walk a little. Once inside, we found the restaurant was very busy, but there were tables available. We paid as we entered, found a table, and began to help ourselves. The salad bar was good enough that I almost ate too much. While it is unlikely that anyone will like everything, it is hard to believe anyone won't find plenty they like. The variety is amazing. You serve yourself to drinks which are included in the very reasonable price. As we were finishing, my wife spotted someone with ice cream and sent me to investigate. I found peach ice cream for her and mint chocolate chip frozen yogurt for me. She loved hers and I loved mine. The only danger here is that you will over indulge. I encourage you to survey all of the food before you decide. Otherwise you may fill up and then discover something else you just have to have!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank MadisonPreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
109 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a good choice for a meal at a reasonable. Lots of selection and salad bar is good and fresh. All this at not much more than the price of a fast food place.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chuckd1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food/Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The food at Homer's is always fresh and well prepared. The price includes drinks and great desserts! Seniors all get a discount. I have eaten here many times always enjoy it. There are separate rooms for special occasions and groups.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shiner58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Food is a bit hit and miss, but when it's good, it's really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Homer's Smorgasborg is a giant open-plan dining establishment with lots of tables and chairs and a very large buffet which includes: cold pastas, salad bar, hot foods, meat carvery, taco station, dessert buffet, soup bar, and soda fountain.

The fried chicken is not to be missed if it's available and the hush puppies are nice. There are a lot of standards at the salad bar. The dessert buffet is a bit lacking with many items having the same hollow air-puffed taste. However, there is a French Silk (chocolate mousse) pie which was tasty.

The service is friendly and basic. Your party sits at a table and you self-serve while servers periodically whisk your plates away. Leaving a small tip of about a buck per person feels right for the clean-up only service.

Senior discounts are available and holiday meals are offered during festive periods. I am always happy to eat here, it's nice for a casual meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank p011y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Homer's Smorgasborg also viewed

Sebring, Central Florida
Sebring, Central Florida
 
Sebring, Central Florida
Sebring, Central Florida
 
Sebring, Central Florida
 

Been to Homer's Smorgasborg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing