We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Mexican, Great Lunch Prices”

Don Jose Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 143 Restaurants in Sebring
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Wide Selection of liquor at our bar, Dining room area, patio area, a long dock on lake Jackson.
Sebring, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classic Mexican, Great Lunch Prices”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Chile Rellenos are quite delicious as is the Chicken Chimichanga. Those tend to be my two staples when I visit Don Jose's.

The platters are all the same during lunch and dinner, but you can get them for $2-3 per plate at lunch.

If you are looking for some Mexican in Sebring this is a place to try.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    94
    34
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
RIVERVIEW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fresh and flavorful”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Both our meals exceeded our expectations and the atmosphere was decorated festive and overlooked a lake. Excellent value if I lived closer I would go regularly thought prices were good for what you get.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetheocean4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canonsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican food in Sebring!”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

You'll find a lot of authentic Mexican food on the menu, complimentary chips and salsa, great lunch specials on food and drinks and kind and caring waitstaff. You can sit inside or outside on the large covered deck which overlooks Lake Jackson to the southeast. The prices are reasonable for the big portions! They usually have a buy-one-get-one free drink special, and they bring out two at a time for EACH person! I recommend the chicken tacos with a BOGO margarita. I spent a relaxing lunch out on the deck one day by myself, studying Spanish for over an hour while I ate and enjoyed the view. Take your time and enjoy this traditional fare!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Casey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Above average for Sebring”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Don Jose's is a nice Mexican restaurant. A little above average. Fast service. It is nice atmosphere with it being on Lake Jackson. They have a full bar and the prices for the food and bar service are pretty fair. Salsa is homemade

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valeriepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don Jose, not the best, not the worst”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Sitting on the lake outside is a nice touch; food nothing to brag about except the ceviche was fresh and served ice cold. The fajitas were passable. Were so looking forward to a good margarita, but these tasted of a mix instead of being fresh lime juice based.

Service was lackluster, no follow up on beverages or asking if anyone wanted dessert. Saw many staff inside the restaurant just chatting.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindasauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Jose Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Don Jose Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing