We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Sportsman's Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sebastian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sportsman's Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sebastian
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Me and my husband just returned from a week's stay at the Sportsmans Lodge. It was a great stay. The new pool is absolutely wonderful. One of the more reasonably priced motel with a pool. Loved having the kiitchette so we did not have to go out every evening to eat. Grills were provided to use if you wanted to. Everything was very clean. Will definitely recommed to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SGledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 88 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2010

This lodge is right on the river with a lovely breeze, lovely view, great pavilion and wonderful owners! Janet & Bruno go all out to make your stay the best it can be - even to accomodate my husband's disabilities. The rooms & grounds are very clean and beds are most comfortable. Even their fishing dock is clean. Best place in Sebastian for your money! We had a wonderful stay and cannot say enough good about the lodge. Will definitely go back. Thanks Janet - the Baileys.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perriejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We were looking for a motel that would let us bring our 5lb bundle of curls. All of the other motels in the area discriminate against dogs, so we were delighted and relieved to learn that we could bring Mo with us. A room would have been great, but an apartment?!?! For less than the other motels?!?!?! This was a great place. It's on the water, with an outdoor pool, guest laundry, adjacent to parks, near wonderful restaurants, close to malls. It's clean, bright, comfortable, roomy, We are looking forward to another visit and will recommend it in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnadunbar498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My wife and I are from Sebastian, but moved away in 2002 for career reasons. This is the first time we've stayed at the Sportsman's, but it won't be the last! We wanted to head down to Sebastian for my twin girls' first birthday, but my wife's parents didn't have their spare room available. My mom mentioned the Sportsman's since her frients have been staying here for years. We decidted to give it a try and called about 3 days ahead of time to see if they had room ,but they didn't - bummer! We were trying to figure out how to make it work when Bruno (the owner) called us back. He said some other guests were willing to make a swap and so they had room - AWESOME! That was only the begiinning.

We arrived later in the evening, but Bruno had left the room open for us with our keys inside. The room was great! Awesome view of the river, comfortable bed and plenty of room for the kids. My parents and sister came over and we had a great time hanging out in the living/dining area while the kids slept in the bedroom. Good times.

The next day was the big event. After a great breakfast at Country Ham 'n Egg, which is right across the street, we got ready for the big day. The Sportsman's has a large pavilion (w/ fridge and grills) and pool free for use. We invited friends and family, grilled burgers and dogs, had cake and ice cream. It was everything we hoped it could be. We even invited some of the other guests to join the fun and made some new friends. My father in law brought the pontoon boat and tied up to the slip (free for the day, only $10 for the night) so we could give boat rides on the river. Fun, fun and more fun.

We had to leave the next day, but we were glad we made the trip. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We were planning a weekend away ,we were so excited to be able to get away and enjoy our weekend since this place is pet friendly we were even more happy. Only to find out once we paid for our three night stay and ready to enjoy our weekend, that certain rules apply to only 3 night stay as opposed to the 1-3 month stay the northerners stay. Were told our dogs were an annoyance to some snowbirds that were staying there,only to change our plans because one of us was STUCK at the hotel to make sure ours dogs didin't bark.COME ON THERE DOGS DOGS BARK!!!!!!! So spending the day by the pool dogs were barking off and on the whole time.GUESS WHAT THEY WEREN'T MINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I wonder was anything said to the extended stay snowbirds!!My guess probably not. I'ts just wrong where floridians can't enjoy anything in the winter

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank floridianFl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2010

The weather was horrible, so we didn't catch much of anything. Not the Lodge's fault. The managers are super laid back, and on the very last day, our boat trailer broke. Bruno helped us find a welder that got us in very fast, and didn't rob us blind. Very nice and helpful folks there. The room itself was nice too. I like that's it's all tile, so there's no grungy carpet. There's no housekeeping, so that kind of took me by surprise, but they get you anything you need.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGfamilyofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I had to go to Sebastian for business and we happened to stay at Sportsman's Lodge because of its convenient location. We were amazed at what a great place this was! It is right on the river with scenic views. Such a tranquil place! The rooms were spotless and the owners were friendly and extremely helpful. Don't let the name of the place mislead you--it's not just for men, and it's not just for fishing! There is a pool, too. This lodge would be great for a wide range of ages and for couples and families as well. Many good restaurants are nearby with lots of other things to do in the area. For those who love to swim in the ocean, the public beach is nearby. This place was a real find and a great value. We will definitely return and are planning our trip now!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GalwayChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebastian
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sebastian Hotel & Suites
14.0 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
12.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#10 of 26 in Vero Beach
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#13 of 26 in Vero Beach
385 reviews
1.2 mi away
Capt Hiram's Resort
Capt Hiram's Resort
#1 of 7 in Sebastian
379 reviews
12.6 mi away
Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman's Lodge

Address: 412 Indian River Dr, Sebastian, FL 32958-4708
Location: United States > Florida > Sebastian
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Sebastian
Price Range: $55 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sportsmans Lodge is family owned and operated located on the shore of the Indian River Lagoon. Whether a short trip or a family vacation, the Sportsmans Lodge has a room to fit your every need. With on site laundry, BBQ pavilion, fishing pier and the only waterfront pool in the area why would you stay anywhere else? Come enjoy a clean and comfortable stay at the Sportsmans Lodge. Easy to find, hard to leave... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sportsman`s Hotel Sebastian
Sportsmans Hotel Sebastian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing