We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History and Enjoyment”

Mel Fisher's Treasure Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Mel Fisher Maritime Museum Admission
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“History and Enjoyment”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Since moving to Vero Beach in '07, my wife and I have been here many times. the museum is a small slice of Fisher's in Key West but educational and entertaing as an attraction. In addition, the gift shop is outstanding. I have purchased many gifts for the women in my life yhere. (Six, in all, you figure it out!) Prices range from inviting to astronomical! You can purchase items recovered from the Atocha. Great place to take visitors.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank blackfin45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    84
    32
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Good Times!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Mel Fisher, the man who led the expedition to discover the Spanish Treasure Ship The Atocha, in the 1980s has created two museums to show off his discoveries. The main one is located in Key West, FL. The secondary one is in Sebastian, FL. While not as large as it's sister museum in Key West, the Sebastian location is still full of good artifacts, treasures and information. You can even buy pieces of treasure found in the Atocha! For anyone who loves a good treasure hunting story, this is a great place to visit while on the Treasure Coast in Florida.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank GNRMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Place to Learn a Little History!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

While on a weekend holiday in Sebastian we discovered this timeless museum.. Being 55+ we paid only $5 a person. There is a coupon available outside the building that also offers a value discount for all others.

When you walk inside the museum you are instantly transported back to another era in time.
We were sent into a small theater room were one becomes familiar with Mel Fisher and his diving endeavors. After the movie we proceeded to the exhibits and displays; Artifacts from the Atocha and Santa Margarita are on display .. There's a lot to read and see here. Worth going We stayed about an hour + -. Friendly staff. too. Great gift shop too!

I would recommend this for Adults or Parents with older children/teens

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very Interesting Story Behind The Shiny Treasures”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

There is a great story here of how one man's drive and determination helped him overcome many obstacles and family tragedy to ultimately find his pot of gold. This is run by the family which still lives in Sebastian and showcases many of the incredible treasures Mel and his crew recovered from the Atocha. Not a high-tech fancy museum, but the artifacts are real and most everything is for sale! It is worth a visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RichC32958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Shipwreck Museum Visit”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Recommend highly if you are within reach and have the time, go by the Mel Fisher Museum in Sebastian. I have also been to the one in Key West and this is also a great experience. Great displays on the Santa Margarita also. The staff is friendly and it makes you get a real feel for Mel Fisher and his family's story. It is not modern but that's what makes it feel so real. If you like shipwrecks, treasure and the Fisher story, a must see stop over.
Great artifacts and coins....paintings and pictures I have not seen before in books. A gold bar you can lift up. I asked permission to take some pictures first. Nice gift shop too.
Gary S.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mel Fisher's Treasure Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mel Fisher's Treasure Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing