We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day on the River”

About Kayaks River Rentals
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Day on the River”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

my husband and I live in Sebastian and try to go kayaking about once a year, visiting the beautiful Florida Springs. We talked many times about exploring the South Prong of the St. Sebastian river right here in our town. Last weekend the weather was perfect,so we went to About Kayaks to check out their kayaks. We need a tandem since I have back issues, and We are also pretty specific about the type of kayak we will rent. After talking with Chris, we decided to go ahead and rent their sit-atop tandem for the next day.
We arrived before they opened the next morning, and Steve, the owner, pulled in promptly with the kayak. He drove us to the canoe launch off of Rte. #512, and helped us get the kayak down to the dock.
We spent the next 3+ hours enjoying the beautiful day, the abundant Wildlife, yes alligators!, birds,fish etc...
Steve and Chris were great, friendly and helpful! The tandem kayak, wasn't the best one we have rented,however, it worked for us for this excursion, and was in great condition as was the other equipment. We prefer a longer, and wider sit-atop kayak.. Again, we tend to be picky!
The South Prong of the St. Sebastian river is a trip that should not be missed! Six miles of curves and bends, shallow and narrow for the first part, so a little challenging for a beginner, but eventually widening the farther north you paddle. Boat traffic increases as you approach the wider areas. We took a detour when leaving the dock and paddled South to the bridge that 512 passes over, it seemed too shallow to go any farther than that, but might be interesting if the water lever is a little higher.
Overall, a great way to spend an afternoon in Sebastian!!

Helpful?
1 Thank RLDona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    4
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“3 Hours down the St. Sebastian River”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a great kayak trip April 1, 2014 down the St. Sebastian River with kayaks from About Kayaks. Steve was very laid back and accommodating with service that includes taking you to and helping you with launching the kayaks. The trip was really lovely especially in the upper reaches and not difficult paddling, with broader and narrower river sections, and a new scene around every corner. It was a warm day and as a result we saw 3 alligators and many turtles sunning themselves and a Bald Eagle surveying his territory. Thanks Steve, it was a great day and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to our friends and Tripadvisor readers

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BarCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I had a small amount of canoeing experience but no Kayaking experience. You do not need a lot of experience or training to operate a kayak. The staff gave us a 5 min lesson. That lesson and a little common sense was all it took! My son, then 11, my husband and I love Kayaking. We rented 3 times from these people and all we can say is good equipment, great staff.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
169 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Kayaks were not properly matched with customers”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Four of us booked the trip. Only one of us was an experienced Kayaker, two had some experience and one was a novice. We received no instructions from the people who droped us off on the river and we were left to fend for ourselves. The Kayaks we were given were much too small for two of the members of our party (over 225 lbs) and we had several mishaps on the river. We ended our tour before we reach the take out point and had to be "rescued" because one of us tiped over for the second time and could not continue.

The river was lovely and the experience would have been better if different equipment had been available and if some time had been given to offer assistance to those of us who did not feel comfortable with the kayaks. We later found out that those kayaks are intended for children and small adults.

I would recommend that only someone with experience rent these kayaks.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed About Kayaks River Rentals also viewed

 

Been to About Kayaks River Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing