We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food, Terrible Service”
Review of Capt'n Butcher's - CLOSED

Capt'n Butcher's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Capt’n Butcher’s Restaurant is closed until further notice. Inside and Outside Dining Overlooking the Beautiful Indian River. Open for Lunch and Dinner. Two Full Liquor Bars with 16 Different Draft Beers. Many New Menu items to choose from. FRESH Fish Specials Daily.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food, Terrible Service”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We went for dinner a couple of weeks ago. I delayed writing a review because I wasn't sure how to rate the resturant, overall. After much thought I gave it an Average rating. The food was very good and by itself earned a 4 or 5 rating. The service was so bad that I was tempted to give it a 2 rating. There were three of us dining that night. We ate on the deck, which was moderately busy. There were 3 servers on the deck. Sadly our server didn't want to be working that night - or at least that's how it seemed. As one example of many, my husband had to ask for some napkins or towelettes at least 4 times - and never got them! She clearly wasn't into her job. Cap'n Butchers is nice place to eat. The prices are okay and the food is very good. Based on other reviews we must have gone on the wrong day, at the wrong time. I will have to think hard about whether or not to go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanneDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    122
    45
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent waterfront restaurant”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent food served on a waterfront deck! Platters are very good, especially the fried oysters. We've been twice in a week because food was so good and setting fantastic. First time, service a little slow but second time had excellent service.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank CARWestLaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortescue, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Good Food, Good Service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just arrived in town, and looked around for a place to eat near our hotel. Found a flyer for this restaurant at our hotel, so we gave it a try. Glad we did. Nice and clean, with a friendly staff. My husband had the Capt'n Butcher's Platter (deep fried shrimp, sea scallops, oysters, and fish) with a side salad, and the veggie of the day @$22.99. I had the Indian River Crab Cakes (2) and a side of french fries, and the veggie of the day @ $14.99. Our total bill with 2 beverages was $45.00. I'm sure we will be eating there again during our stay in Sebastian. They offer Beef, Chicken, Pasta, & Seafood dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
1 review
“Great place for a special birthday party!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I recently attended an 85th birthday party for a friend at Capt. Butcher's....the private room overlooking the patio & river was the perfect place for such a special event....we even ordered a full moon rising over the river which was perfectly amazing.
Kudos to the chef for the fabulous meals, which were enjoyed by all...mahi mahi, grilled to perfection & nice thick cut steaks were a resounding sucess!
Nice "fresh" salad to start the meal with their excellent "house dressing"...loved it!

I will tell all my friends about this place & will return with a friend next week (hopefully it will be warm enough to sit outside...although I did LOVE the inside decor too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant
Level Contributor
126 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Valentine's Day Dinner!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Last Valentine's Day they had a special for couples and it was really good!! But I wouldn't order a frozen rumrunner (watered down) or app (greasy) at the bar out back......

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt'n Butcher's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing