We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greatvacation”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sebastian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oyster Pointe & Oyster Bay Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

As other reviews said it was about the boats and location. If you are looking for a laid back vacation, this is the place. The boat rentals made it possible to spend the morning on the water watching the wildlife and exploring the islands. Afternoons were spent by the quiet pool, evenings at the beach bars and seafood restuarants all within walking distance, many with live bands and no cover. The river walk across from the resort is made for an evening stroll. The units are small and basic but adequate. The amenities at the resort are perfect for a quiet relaxing week. Sebastain is next to Vero Beach so if you want a little more variety it is close by. It is a part of Florida that I would consider retiring to.

Room Tip: The 2 bedrooms say they sleep 6 but I would not suggest any more than 4 in a room as there is only 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisechandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 134 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent two weeks at Oyster Bay in February. The best part was the opportunity to rent a boat for $55 for a week. That made the entire stay worth it. The units are dated; no dishwasher or disposal and very basic furnishings. However, they are clean and have basic needs. The pool area in Oyster Bay is older and not fancy but once again was clean and well taken care of. It is in an excellent location; you can walk to any number of excellent restaurants, to several waterfront parks, and drug store or grocery is only minutes away. Sebastian is a laid back community and with the opportunity to have use of a boat, the stay here was very pleasant. We'd recommend Oyster Bay and will consider coming again; but, anyone coming here should be aware that it is not upscale. The boats and the location are the real drawing card.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CARWestLaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just spent a week in Sebastian with my family. Although the unit was not large it was adequate for a family of four and was clean with up to date amenities. We were nervous as previous reviews were very divided but our unit was fine and the inclusion of the boat was the clincher. We had a great week fishing and dolphin and turtle watching whilst exploring the many islands. The beaches at Vero, Sebastian country Park and Wabasso were excellent, sandy, clean, good surf and not at all crowded. The staff were courteous and friendly and Captain Hiram's provided some good jet skis, some meals and awesome margaritas. We were aware of some noise overnight but the train track probably disturbed our sleep more. We also ate at the local Mexican and used the fish market next door, both were good. We had a great week and I would encourage others reviewing the negative reviews not to be put off we had a great time and whilst not 5 star was certainly on par with much higher rated accommodation we have used in the US and definitely in the UK.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms away from the front of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UKMom_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We rented two two bedrooms for the week for 8 of us. Staff was awesome and serving! The units are clean and compact with everything we needed. We really enjoyed the Florida room on the back of the top floor unit and the patios with French doors on the front. The pool area was very nice. We took a boat out ($55 for the week with unlimited gas) almost every day to the little islands and had a blast. We cooked meals in the units for the most part but ate at Squid Lips and The Sand Bar (both walking distance) a few times and the food was excellent! We were skeptical because of some of the reviews but pleasantly surprised and plan on making this resort an annual trip!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank itsheathers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Oyster Bay in Nov. 2011 for one week. Our first time at a time share. After reading the other reviews I agree the resort is a bit older. But they are replacing the carpet and doing repairs. The unit was what we expected. We liked the low rise and also the gardens. It had new hardwood floors in living area and a table for 6. Also the internet. For the cost it was far better than come cottages you can rent for a week in Canada. The music didn't bother us and the pretty view of the garden from our balcony was just what we were looking for. We did miss our gas BBQ that we use all year round, as they only had a charcoal type and you would need to buy the charcoal and a lighter before you can use. I do wish they installed some gas BBQs. They could have in locked area and charge a small fee for use of. The BBQ is part of the vacation experience. Walmart a very short drive away and also other chain stores. We also enjoyed the Mel Fisher Treasure Museum as short walk away. The beach is a drive away and was very rough and windy at this time of year. It was also isolated. But the pool at the resort was kept clean and almost deserted, so a nice quiet spot. We also enjoyed the hot tub. The one thing that bothered us was the lack of any recycling. Throwing glass containers and cans into the trash is against our ethics. But as we did enjoy ourselves...we might even buy a unit!

Room Tip: We like the upper level..we had a balcony overlooking garden at front and at back of unit a sunroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We just returned from a 6 night stay at Oyster Bay - room 115. Unit was ready early, very nice with 2 bedrooms. (1) queen and (2) singles with a foldout couch. All new furnishing - beds were comfortable and the unit had all the kitchen and linens that would be needed. Our unit was close to the pool and spa. Bring your own charcoal to grill out at the 6-7 outdoor grills available. We paid for the boat service $55.00 for the week, but do to high winds (Sandy) we were not able to take the boats out.

I would recommend this as an above avergae property - very clean. The added benefit of Captain Hirams across the street for happy hour was within a 5 minute walk for great drink specials and appy's

Room Tip: Room 116 was one of the better location rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MryWitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wasn,t sure about our choice after reading other reviews,but found the resort to be totally fine. It,s not newly built with 2 baths or granite counters,but has been updated with new flooring and living/dining furniture. The pool and spa were among the cleanest I've ever seen, and the grounds are lovely. The boat rental at $55 for the week,including gas is awesome.What a great way to explore the Indian river lagoon area,enjoy the island beaches,fish,etc.From check in to check out everyone was efficient and helpful.Found Sebastian to be a very nice,small,well kept waterfront community. Lots of parks, brick crosswalks and roadway,pedestrian friendly,and tons of waterfront access for boating,fishing,or just enjoying the views. If you,re wanting a five star resort this is not for you,if you want to relax and enjoy a clean,conveniently located property with so many pluses, Oyster Pointe and Bay will not disappoint.

Room Tip: Perhaps not too close to Captain Hiram,s The band is fun, but plays until 1 AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EMMAFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebastian
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sebastian Hotel & Suites
12.9 mi away
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
Vero Beach Inn & Suites
#13 of 26 in Vero Beach
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capt Hiram's Resort
Capt Hiram's Resort
#1 of 7 in Sebastian
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Costa d'Este Beach Resort & Spa
4.9 mi away
Seashell Suites Resort
Seashell Suites Resort
#2 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
Davis House Inn
Davis House Inn
#1 of 5 in Sebastian
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Pointe & Oyster Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Pointe & Oyster Bay Resort

Address: 1570 US Highway One, Sebastian, FL 32958
Location: United States > Florida > Sebastian
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Sebastian
Hotel Class:3 star — Oyster Pointe & Oyster Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Also Known As:
Oyster Pointe And Oyster Bay Resort
Oyster Pointe & Oyster Bay Hotel Sebastian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing