We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of our all time favorites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Capt Hiram's Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sebastian
Certificate of Excellence
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“one of our all time favorites”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We come to this resort every year and are never disappointed. It's an older facility, but clean and comfortable. Each room has a private deck or patio. Our room had a walk in shower, so if you prefer a tub, you'll need to check. Hotel facility includes river waterfront sand bar and sit down restaurant with gift shop. The bar is fun and active and the food is good.

Our room did not have a fridge or microwave, but they do have suites that may include them.

It's a great place to stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lisa1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    107
    32
    13
    7
See reviews for
72
141
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Florida to visit family and found Captian Hiram's to be a wonderful hotel. The prices were VERY reasonable the staff friendly and helpful and the rooms were very spacious, comfortable and clean. We will definitely be back

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Whether it's cocktails at one of the sandbars or dinner in the main dining room, this place fits the bill! We love to go and order a bunch of appetizers and drinks when company is here to visit. They always have some entertainment, usually starting with a duo or trio and ending with a band on the main stage.
We have also stayed at the Inn and had a beautiful room; very accomodating!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patti m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for four days. Really enjoyed our stay in Sebastian. Room very clean and our bed was comfortable. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others thinking of staying in the area. You can't get much more convenient to cross the street to restaurant, bar, live music, and water recreation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and had a fun time in the resort and the resort also has a great sand bar with live music across the street. There are plenty of food and drink options nearby. We were just very disappointed in the comfort of the mattress.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I made reservations to celebrate our anniversary. We had no issues with our reservations. The check in and out was very efficient. We chose a King Jacuzzi Riverfront room with a beautiful view. Now, I have been in other Florida resorts before so I was really disappointed with what they call "the best of the best". The room itself is spacious. Our white jacuzzi had cigarette stains on it. Bathroom floor wasn't the cleanest with dim lights. The shower had very low pressure and the entrance of the room was dirty. The balcony is very small with white plastic chairs. Linens and towels were clean, bed and pillows were good. We had dinner in another local restaurant and breakfast at the Capt Hiram's. Not one of my favorites but it was an ok breakfast. As I said, the view is beautiful, gorgeous sunset and sunrise. Great place to stroll around holding hands. We had no issues with service in both room or restaurant. Very nice waitress.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ilovetotravel211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

It came as a recommendation & I couldn't have been more delighted! I had to change my reservations 2x due to wk changes, no problem. Then due to an extremely late arrival & long after all local amenities had closed, I called ahead asking for the favor of a lovely bottle of champagne be waiting in the ocean front room upon our arrival for a birthday celebration. It was accomplished and chilled in an iced bucket awaiting our arrival. We had a gorgeous view with a private balcony complete w/a bunny rabbit that faithfully showed up every morning to munch his breakfast while curiously looking back at me as I enjoyed a hot cup of tea as enjoyed the flora and fauna that is unique to this exquisite state. If you are looking to get away for peace and quite, OR are seeking a wealth of boating, fishing, water sports or aerial exploration of the coast & islands, as well as the entertainment & restaurant choices, then this is the spot to settle into, as you become part of the "A1A" life. You won't want to leave...

Room Tip: Be certain to get a room facing the ocean w/its own private balcony. If you're lucky, you get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meeewsic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sebastian
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sebastian Hotel & Suites
15.2 mi away
The Caribbean Court Boutique Hotel
13.6 mi away
Kimpton Vero Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Vero Beach
13.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Vero Beach - Oceanside
13.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
Comfort Suites Vero Beach
#12 of 27 in Vero Beach
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capt Hiram's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capt Hiram's Resort

Property: Capt Hiram's Resort
Address: 1580 US Highway 1, Sebastian, FL 32958-3831
Location: United States > Florida > Sebastian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Sebastian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capt Hiram's Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Capt Hiram's Resort offers an island resort atmosphere right on Sebastian’s River Front. Our Sebastian Florida Hotel is designed to appeal to weekend travelers, fishermen, business travelers and long term guests. The Inn has King or Double Queens room types. All of our smoke-free rooms have private balconies, many overlooking the beautiful Indian River, Internet access with complimentary WI FI. Other amenities offered by The Inn at Capt Hiram's, include coffee makers, small refrigerators, hair dryer, iron and board, in-room safes, 43" TVs, and rich, colorful tropical décor. The free-form, heated pool is beautifully landscaped with tropical foliage. Coin laundry and vending machines are also available to our guests.Guests of our Sebastian Florida hotel enjoy full access to our other wonderful features, including the riverfront restaurant (serving breakfast, lunch & dinner) and 4 bars: the Bahamian-style SandBar complete with Bimini Beach, the Coral Bar and Scoops. We also have the Grand Stand Bandstand with great live entertainment 7 days a week, the Boatique Gift Shop, and our marina nestled on the Intracoastal Waterway has 60 boat slips available and you can enjoy deep-sea and river fishing; scenic river cruises on the Indian River Lagoon, jet ski and boat rentals, and kayak tours.All this and so much more, in one location - so what are you waiting for? Come to Capt Hiram's, where you can be lazy or get crazy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Capt Hiram's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capt Hiram`s Hotel Sebastian
Captain Hirams Hotel
Captain Hirams Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing