We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax ...and other things to do while you're there”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Las Olas Beach Club
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Satellite Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We have been visiting Las Olas every summer since 1990. It's a special place. No doubt about it. Another TripAdvisor member recently asked for advice on what to do and where to eat, etc. I thought I would share my reply with the rest of you to give you an idea of what to expect if/when you visit. I promise I am not affiliated with Las Olas other than being a once-a-year visitor. Here goes...

For a quick lunch, Da Kine Diego's just a few blocks south of Las Olas. Locals eat at any of the many restaurants ( e.g., Sun On The Beach) that pepper the road along route A1A.

Seafood is the mainstay of the region. We've been all over the place and rarely been disappointed. Just pick one of the top ones in TripAdvisor for either Cocoa Beach, Melbourne, Melbourne Beach or Satellite Beach.

Of course, Disney, Universal Studios and Sea World are just an hour or so away. Our family has enjoyed Capone's dinner theatre for a fun night out in Orlando.

But, if you want to stay local, then consider the following:
- walking the beach at night to go looking for sea turtles and collect shells
- when low tide occurs, walking out in the Atlantic to explore the coral reef just 100 feet offshore
- kayak tours where you are likely to encounter manatee
- getting up before sunrise to watch a real life painting unfold
- visiting Sebastian Inlet (the small museum there provides a unique history of the region)
- getting a boogie board to go ride in the surf (best place to do that is to drive south to Patrick Air Force Base beaches...the last public beach parking lot on Patrick AFB on route A1A before you enter Cocoa Beach...they have a boardwalk and showers to rinse off)
- karaoke night at Las Olas...I'm not big on karaoke... But it always turns out to be a fun time
- if space flight is your thing, the guided tour of the Kennedy Space Center is interesting...but I personally wouldn't make it a priority because I've been there done that...probably more interesting for first-timers...even so, I would consider it a rainy day activity
- the zoo is a really nice one
- a trip up the road to Ron Jon's in Cocoa Beach is a must for an hour or so of buying soveneir t-shirts, hats, flip flops, or other beach garb
- if you're into flea markets, there's a good one on the weekend that you can ask the front desk about
- if there is a photographer in your midst, come prepared to take hundreds of photos...sunrises, subnsets, pelicans, manatee, beachs, sea oats, sand and sea, beach people

If you're ever at a loss for ideas, check with the front desk. The are always ready with great suggestions for things to do.

After we check in, we typically head up route A1A north a few blocks to visit the grocery store, Publix, to stock up on groceries for the week. That way we can buy most of what we plan to eat for the week and maximize our time on the property.

Finally, if you are not intentional, and get caught up in trying to maximize the opportunities that abound in the region, you might overlook the best thing. The single most enjoyable, therapeutic, attractive, invigorating and wonderful thing about Las Olas is the rhythm of the ocean that constantly rushes up on the beach throughout your stay. It beckons you to unplug, relax and enter into a week of rest, connecting with loved ones and just being. So, my final thought is that even if you miss any or all of the attractions I've mentioned, your stay at Las Olas in and of itself will do you a world of good. It's true.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
27  Thank ChuckyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 119 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have been staying here just after Christmas for a few years. And each time is a great time. The staff are just great and friendly, nothing is to much trouble for them.

The apartments are huge and very clean.

The area itself is a bit run down now compared to recent years, quite a few shops and restaurants gave closed down.

But if you want a relaxing no hassle break, then this is the place. The beach is but a few yards away, the views are to die for.

And the complex itself, run quite a view classes / get together's . Karaoke, aqua aerobics, golf trip, cocktail afternoons etc.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MFJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at Las Olas Beach Club! Wonderfully placed resort, beautiful scenery, with many activities on the property, and close by. About an hour from Orlando, close enough to the theme parks but also far enough away, if you know what I mean. We took an airboat tour that was only like a half hr from the resort..I highly recommend it, it was called BullGator tours, saw so many alligators, our guide would also pick up little gators and let you see/touch them up close although we did notget the chance to do that. The fine people at las olas have recently built a new party room! It has 5 flat screen tvs and was an awesome place for karaoke night! the rooms were HUGE, the master suite has an ocean view and sliding glass doors directly onto the balcony, 2 bathrooms, one connected to the master, the other was more of a universal (available for everyone to use) Kitchen was stocked with everything you might need, with new appliances. We did not use the kitchen very much, as there were so many good seafood places around! My only complaints and believe me this did not take away from our vacation nor would it stop me from going to las olas again : the party room had all new flat screens...the rooms had the old style television? the pool closed at dusk due to the fact that the beach is a natural nesting ground for the loggerhead turtle(they cannot help it, the resort was forced to operate this way) the hottub is available to use at night though. Mostly a quiet resort, which suited us fine. that being said Las Olas has the BEST parking I have ever experienced at a resort, INDOOR parking underneath the building that you are staying in...go to the bottom floor, walk directly off the elevator to your car, also in the parking garage there are luggage carts...another nice touch. The resort is family owned and operated, but you would never know it! they had great service and were not involved in your business, unless you asked them to be. This is a timeshare resort and I am a Wyndham/RCI owner, But niether I nor anyone in our group was ever badgered to listen to any pitches, they did stick a flyer in our door...that was it. I would definitely recommend this resort for families or for a honeymoon...not a party resort....but on the party side, there were 3 nights where the resort offered free drinks to everyone! the Sunday afternoon mixer (frozen drinks yum), karaoke night ( beer and wine), and the potluck ( beer, wine, and mixed drinks)...Las Olas...Overall amazing place

Room Tip: All rooms are 2 bedroom rooms Facing the ocean! Great sunrises and breakfasts' on the balcony. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank midwest t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The were lots of free activities. We had some minor porblems with appliances and they were resolved immediately--even late at night. The rooms were spacious with lots of storage closets and the kitchen was fully equiped. All balconies face the ocean. It was wonderful to hear the waves braking on the beach, smell the fresh salt air, and wake up to a sunrise. The pool area was very clean and we liked soaking in the hot tub around 10 pm. We were on an RCI exchange. On an RCI exchange you can only come back every four years so we became owners. We are looking forward to next December for three weeks in this lovely place.

Room Tip: Higher Floors have a better view of the beach. We liked the North building. It was easier access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kat3Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I arrived at the Las Olas Beach Club in Satellite Beach yesterday, using a RCI timeshare exchange. We were lucky enough to get an end unit on the 5th floor. This is probably the largest condo we've ever rented. The living area is large enough to make a 3rd bedroom out of it...surprised that they didn't do that. It is very clean and the view is spectacular. The balcony runs the full width of the living room and wraps around the side, allowing a view from 3 sliding doors. The bedroom advertised as "twin" beds, actually has two full beds. The master suite has a king bed with a loveseat in it...with lots of floor space if anyone wanted to have small ones make a bed on the floor (blowup mattress etc). We would love to own here. RCI only allows exchanges to this place every 4 years. Bummer!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jacobscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

The spacious 2 BR, 2 BA end unit with 3 large sliding doors fully stocked condo (everything you need except food, drink, clothes). The balcony, living room and game area have fabulous, unobstructed ocean views. Master bedroom has king size bed, walk in closet, and own full bath. As a solo traveler, I found the staff unbelievably helpful and friendly. In addition to the many activities at or near the resort, the staff suggested local solo traveler activities and restaurants. The resort’s carts and elevators made luggage and grocery transport easy. The unit was well maintained and clean. Pool, whirlpool, direct beach access, community grill, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N0madg0lfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

walked into unit 201 and it is HUGE prob 1700 sf. with 3 large sliders, the living room has a fabulous straight on view of the ocean, and at night the breezes are very nice. it is a corner unit. nice to have elevators and carts in the garage to help you get luggage and groceries to your unit. the units are old inside but the view and friendly staff more than makes up for it. had grandsons bday party there and there were plenty of places to eat, large dining table, a smaller table for 4 in the living room and a kitchen table. well stocked kitchen, especially pans and utensils, even a garbage chute next to the elevator. choppy ocean but nice pool, pool noodles and a grill. friendly neighbors made our trip very homey

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jgieske347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Satellite Beach
3 mi away
Radisson Suite Hotel Oceanfront
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
3.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Melbourne Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Melbourne Beach Oceanfront
6.6 mi away
Anthony's On The Beach
Anthony's On The Beach
#21 of 31 in Cocoa Beach
147 reviews
7.9 mi away
Port d'Hiver
Port d'Hiver
#1 of 13 in Melbourne Beach
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Olas Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Olas Beach Club

Address: 1215 Highway A1a, Satellite Beach, FL 32937-2446
Location: United States > Florida > Brevard County > Satellite Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Satellite Beach
Price Range: $256 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Olas Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Olas Beach Club at Melbourne, has something for everyone. The property consists of 40 condominiums, which face directly towards the ocean, with nothing but a sandy beach between you and the Atlantic ocean! All Units comprise of two bedrooms (master has a king bed) and (guest room has twin beds), two full baths, a fully equipped kitchen, washer and dryer, dining room and living room (with a pull out sleeper sofa). Sliding doors off the living room lead to a roomy balcony furnished with table and chairs. Perfect for Al fresco dining. There is a heated swimming pool, hot tub and plenty of sun loungers around the pool deck. The Resort puts on a karaoke wine and cheese evening, potluck event along with a Comedy/Magic show. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Olas Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Olas Beach Club Hotel Satellite Beach
Las Olas Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing