We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Been going for years, will go again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suntide Island Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suntide Island Beach Club
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Been going for years, will go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

My family owns several weeks and we go each year at least once. Great location, very clean and well maintained. While this is billed as a resort, it is better described as a small timeshare complex. Each unit has a kitchen and living room, furnished with basic equipment, plus a gated parking area with assigned parking space.
This was my first August visit, a little more vacancy than other times I have been there. Also, they will not rent out a unit for a single night.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ukcats77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clermont, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We bought our week 30 years ago when we lived in Sarasota. We visited many timeshares before we decided on Suntide. Outside of some problems in the early years with the old management, we have not regretted our purchase. Walt, Sheryl and the gang have been exceptional. The units and the grounds are not just "kept up" they are constantly being improved and updated. Kudos to all involved. We now live in Northeast Georgia and look forward to our beach week.
It's like family reunion time when we see the others who have been there as long as we have. We are not only enjoying the children we watched grow up, but now their children as well.

Room Tip: We have unit 134 with no view except the driveway but are only in there to sleep. It has a larger l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

You just can't get much better than this. Very up to date modern condos with all the amenities. Great Views. Fabulous service. Friendly staff. The guests are a family amongst themselves and welcome newcomers as part of that family, Daily cookouts, singing around the pool and hot tub. Assigned parking. The condos are right on the Beach. Space is limited on the beach so be prepared to park in your assigned parking as with all beach resorts. This one is slightly different in that the parking lot is at the end of the condos between them and the beach, but really, who cares? More parking available in front on the street. Walking distance to St Armands Square for the best in shopping and dining. Low cost tourist shopping to upper scale high end art shops of various types. The dining is outstanding whether looking for a local pub / bar, or family dining or elegant dining for two in a romantic setting. Beast restaurant for food and drink is Cha Cha Coconuts for fabulous wings (made them give me the recipe and have made them at home many times) and terrific rum runners. (add a shot of 151 rum). Lots of entertainment too (especially after a few of the rum runners and 151 shots). We were there in Oct/ Nov 2010 and there were hundreds of Zombies walking the square for Halloween. What fun. Weather is nearly always great in the Sarasota area and lots to do everywhere. And the pristine snow white beaches are the best. We see lots of resorts advertise white sand beaches, but none compare to the beaches of Lido Key and neighboring Siesta Key, Do yourself a favor and take a trip over to Old Town Siesta Key for blocks of drinking and restaurants. Amazing fun. We have stayed at many of the hotels, resorts, condos along Ben Franklin Drive in Sarasota and find the Sun Tide to be the very best of them all.

Room Tip: uppper floor rooms have a better view of the ocean. We stayed toward the front at the top of the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We booked a room through RCI & were lucky to get a one-bedroom on the second floor overlooking the pool & with a view of the beach. Would definitely not want to stay in one of the first floor units which appear dark & have no view. Our unit was clean, comfortable, nicely furnished (microsuede sofa, leather lounge chair, 42" flat screen TV with DVD/CD), fully stocked kitchen.
The resort has a small pool, lots of beach chairs & grills, a short walk through the parking area to the beach. Limited activities (coffee & pastries on Mon., hot dog lunch on Wed.) but lots of things to do nearby--St. Armand's Circle for shopping/restaurants, Ringling Museum of Art, Mote Marine Aquarium, Marie Shelby Botanical Gardens. Go view the sunset in the lounge on the 8th floor of the Lido Beach Resort nearby.

Room Tip: Second floor only. One bedroom was comfortable for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Loraine170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coshocton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We just returned from a two week vacation at Suntide Island Beach Club. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. They were always available to answer questions and suggest local restuarants that were yummy! Our condo was very clean and well furnished. There is no odor of mold. You are steps from the pool and ocean from any condo unit there. The beach is beautiful with awesome sunsets. There are many owners that have been coming there for many years. Friends are quickly made. Grocery stores and gas stations are approximately 10 minutes away (over the John Ringling Bridge into Sarasota). Remember, Suntide Island Beach Club is located on Lido Key (island) where it is very private. The only con would be the pillows are too hard. We plan to return in September as we own multiple weeks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Java2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, NY
Level Contributor
166 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is an old tired resort. The pool is small. The rooms are outdated. The staff was not very friendly except for the housekeeping staff. There are too many rules to follow. Only two resort sponsored activites - morning coffee and a hot dog lunch. The only good thing about this resort is that it is on a beautiful beach. We will not be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DogLoverDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Robert, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I travel by motorcycle several times a year all over the country. This year our June trip was "the long way back home." We left Missouri, stopped in Nashville, then to Biloxi, Fort Walton Beach (the Best Western suxs!!!), then Gainsville and Sarasota. Normally finding a hotel on a road trip is pretty easy, but not here! We road by Suntide and decided to see if they had any vacancies, yup, we got a nice condo for a few days and loved it! The place was clean and fresh, staff and other guests were extremely friendly, and the beach was unbelievable! Did you ever have a mantee swim up within five feet of you? Those things are huge! We are definitely going back and serious thinking about buying a time share at suntide, it was that nice. It was hard to leave, bt we still had to ride over to Fort Lauderdale, then up the east coast through the smokies and back to Missouri, work suxs!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank randys48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#4 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lido Beach Resort
Lido Beach Resort
#9 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coquina On The Beach
Coquina On The Beach
#26 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suntide Island Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntide Island Beach Club

Property: Suntide Island Beach Club
Address: 850 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Suntide Island Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Suntide Island Beach Club Hotel Sarasota
Suntide Island Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing