We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Sleep Inn Sarasota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Ranked #39 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Spent only one night here, but very pleased with what we found.The room was clean and looked as thou it had been recently been done over. All the people working here were very pleasant and gave us the impression that they were glad we had chosen their hotel. The only thing I could say bad was the room wasn't as big as we like.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larry51347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn Sarasota
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 250 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years and are very pleased to see the improvements made over the last several months. Our room was redone very tastefully with flat screen, some nice photos, new a/c and excellent bed linens. Towels could use upgrading and the breakfast while adequate is still in a very tiny space.

Room Tip: Rear facing are quieter
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cordyroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

What a great place! Clean, good wi-fi, nice beds. I was blown away by the set up of this place. The walk in shower instead of tub was great especially as I was with My father in law who is in his 70's. Room had fridge and microwave. TV was a nice flat screen with ample channels, including 5 HBOs'. The breakfast was above average for the price. Hot eggs and sausage were avalable. After staying at a Super 8 last year for the same price, there is no comparison! If You don't like this hotel, it's you.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night and it was absolutely ok for the price we paid! The room was very old and needs a renovation! The hotel is close to sarasota and a few steps from the airport! Breakfast was good and more than expected! We can recommend it!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Thorinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel just did a wonderful remodel. The front desk was very helpful. The continental breakfast was very neat and clean, The price that i was charged online was perfect for the quality of this property

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetpitt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sleep Inn Sarasota! We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I've stayed here many times on my frequent trips to Sarasota, and some of my previous experiences have been tolerable but not great. I understand that the property is now under new management, and it is apparent from my more recent stays, including this one, that the new management team has been, and continues to take steps to improve the condition of the hotel and the overall guest experience. The review that follows is for my most recent stay, in November, 2013.

My room was a single king room which had recently been refurbished with fresh carpeting, paint, and overall decor. It was a second story room, and I noticed that the carpet in the hallway was also fresh and new. The room, while somewhat small, had ample work space, a flat screen TV, comfortable bed with 5 or 6 pillows of various types, a washstand (granite) in the room itself, and a separate WC with shower and toilet. The in-room climate control unit worked just fine. The bed was quite comfortable and delivered a good night's sleep.

The wireless internet worked just fine - connected easily, with no login required.

There's a complimentary breakfast buffet available in the morning - fairly simple but adequate.

Check-in and check-out were both handled efficiently and pleasantly.

The motel is tucked at the end of a small street off of University Parkway, just past the Hyatt Place hotel, right across from the Sarasota - Bradenton airport. What makes things tricky is that the motel itself is not visible from University Parkway, although there is a sign at the corner for the Sleep Inn. From University Parkway, the motel's access road is actually the extension of the road that leads into and out of the airport. If, for example, you were to turn right off of University Parkway to enter the airport, you'd instead turn left off of University Parkway to reach the motel - and vice versa. Look for the Hyatt Place hotel along University Parkway - the Sleep Inn is right behind it.

Once you know where it is, it's easy to find, but the first time it may be a bit tricky if you don't know that it's hidden.

A variety of rates are available on the hotel brand's website, including senior and AAA discounts, and the frequent guest program, Choice Privileges, often runs some very good promotions that reward even those who travel infrequently - definitely worth checking out if you're not a member.

One thing to be aware of -- for T-Mobile wireless customers, reception in and around the hotel is spotty at best, and in many places, both inside and out, it can be difficult to find a signal at all. This is particularly true on the first floor of the hotel. So whenever I stay here, I try to get a second floor room to increase the odds of receiving an adequate signal. There's obviously not much the hotel can do about this, but I mention it because it might be an issue for some.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms may have better wireless phone reception. T-Mobile reception is spotty at best a...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank step12dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear step12dude,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at the Sleep Inn Sarasota. We always welcome feedback from our guests, especially as new management strives to find ways to make continuous improvements to the property and daily operation. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit, and thank you for choosing the Sleep Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The stay was ok but 3 days after staying at this location I noticed that my credit card was billed for 2 nights and I only stayed there 1 night. I called the GM and she informed me that later during the evening AFTER I checked out, a consultant stated that I was suppose to pay for his stay at the hotel so she billed my account. She stated that the guy informed her that I was his supervisor. I informed her that I spoke with the receptionist before I checked out and we were all on the same page. I'm not sure what made her think that she could bill someone's account at her leisure. I'm currently working this matter with Corporate/Customer Relations but I urge you all to be careful as the GM seems to mishandle credit card information. Why not make the guy produce a credit card or simply kick him out of the facility? Instead, she let him spend the night on my dime!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota
#32 of 50 in Sarasota
398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
0.6 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#29 of 50 in Sarasota
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Sarasota

Address: 900 University Pkwy, Sarasota, FL 34234-2848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range: $61 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Sarasota 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles from SRQ airport and miles from Siesta key beach - #1 beach in the US - this fully renovated, smoke free, interior corridor hotel offers free continental breakfast, free high speed wi-fi access, outdoor pool, business center and guest laundry on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing