We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DIRTY ALL THE WAY AROUND”
Review of Sleep Inn Sarasota

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn Sarasota
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DIRTY ALL THE WAY AROUND”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

- The maids don't change the bed comforters only the white sheets. - The General Manager uses his hands to serve breakfast to guests. - Their breakfast tastes like dog crap. -It is not a safe location; (cops were in parking lot cause someone's car was broken into) - Over rate this place for what it's actually worth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience here at Sleep Inn Sarasota. Your feedback is very important to us. We will certainly take this as an opportunity to strive for continuous improvement of our business.

Management at this property takes pride in providing our guests with an enjoyable stay. We clearly fell far short of that with you during your visit here, and for that I cannot apologize enough. I have spoken with the General Manager about your disappointing experience and you may rest assured that the problems are being rectified. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    73
    63
    20
    34
See reviews for
56
102
30
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here for several nights while house hunting. The first room we were assigned had to be switched since the scanner on the door was broken. After several tries, they still couldn't program keys to make it work. The breakfast room was small, uncomfortable, and dirty. There was no one person assigned to replenish and clean the bar and tables. The garbage was even overflowing at times because the place was sold out (Memorial Day weekend).

Worse than that, the halls were not air conditioned and not vacuumed - I even saw dead roaches on the floor. The room was not even made up one of the days and we were gone ALL DAY! When we returned around 4 and called to the main desk, we were told, sorry, the maids have left for the day (this has never happened to me before).

The worst was one day when the toilet was clogged, the maid did not report it to maintenance. When we returned about 10 pm, we were also told that the maintenance person was gone for the day. I had to ASK to bring up a plunger so we could unclog it ourselves. I will never stay here again.

The fan for the bathroom sounded like a plane was landing in our room - and the AC unit too. BEcause we booked this through Hotel.com, we were stuck with whole reservation.

Room Tip: None- run the other way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tajmahowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

As new management continues to have a presence at the hotel, I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,
Merideth Milliner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Older establishment, but a nice place to stay. Centrally located to many attractions. The pool was excellent! Free breakfast was okay, our main complaint was seeing a male memer of the hotel staff restocking the donuts and bagels with his bare hands, no sanitary gloves. Because of that, we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello Frances E.,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. Restocking breakfast items with bare hands is certainly unacceptable and the issue has been addressed. We welcomed a new breakfast hostess this week and look forward to continued improvements throughout the property. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Booked this hotel based on AARP recommendations, absolutely horrible!!! First room given was about the size of a cruise ship inner cabin, outdated and danky. We went down to front desk and requested another room(young lady a desk was very helpful). This room was larger but still fit in the motel category, plumbing was not affixed to shower wall, paint job was sub par, walls had cracks and stains, and lets not talk about the breakfast. Went down to breakfast late i.e. 8:30 there was basically nothing to be had. Next morning obviously the person who handled breakfast task did not change items from prior morning, he came in late about 7:30 ( breakfast was from 6-10 am?) and when asked by other hotel guest about pancake batter, guest was told he would have to wait 10-15 minutes?. Found out from employee that hotel is in foreclosure. Oh and by the way, if you want to use the stairs, not only is the staircase not secure from the outside world, but it is in fact outside, so you have to fight through the pest to get to your floor. Best thing in the room was the T.V.

Room Tip: Stay Away from this MOTEL, the best rooms are somewhere esle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AF128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Sleep Inn Sarasota.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations during your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with the General Manager and Breakfast Hostess to ensure we improve on these situations in the future. As new owners continue to make improvements throughout the property, guests will be welcomed with new bedding, updated plumbing, fresh paint and other updates to improve our valued guest's experience. I can assure you the property is not in foreclosure and new management is dedicated to providing upgraded accommodations at this property.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to Sarasota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southcentral Florida
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

We've never had a bad experience in a Sleep Hotel. I wonder about some of these bad reviews. If there is a problem in your room, just report it! Unless it is sold out, they will be happy to move you.
Our room was very clean and the bed and pillows put us right to sleep! We were concerned the airport noise might keep us awake. It didn't!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyRiderClassic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your review will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed one night. The hotel is basically in very poor shape inside. The stairs leading tlo the 2nd floor are very noisy. The room door handle was not working properly, had to get the front desk clerk to assist. The room smelled awful. The bathroom was in very sab shape; no trash can, the tub was dirty with mold, the toilet was very slow to run and the hand wash basin was missing components. The bed mattress was not firm as is it had expired its normal usage period. No information binder in the room.
The TV was great. The breakfast area was very small and way too enclosed. The food was not that good but I guess you get what you pay for. Presumably this hotel is up for remodeling this June. I really hope so. I stayed there 3 years ago and was well worth it then. The outside is looking real nice but I would recommend check your room first before you commit.

Room Tip: Read the review
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delfrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hi Delfrio,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Sleep Inn Sarasota. I am happy to inform you that the planned renovations for this hotel are already underway and we are excited about the upgrades we have planned over the next few months. We do hope you stay with us again in the future so we have the chance to provide you with an experience that exceeds your expectations.

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Sleep Inn is right by the Sarasota/Bradenton airport, is almost secluded in its location, with palms and vegetation all around, and surprisingly quiet. Didn't hear planes at all. The room wasn't real large, but was pleasant and clean, with fairly simple decor. Good TV service and WiFi connection. The nicest feature was the spacious walk-in stall shower. Breakfast was the usual Choice Hotels fare: eggs,sausage,waffle,cereals, etc., and was attentively tended by a staff person. I enjoyed a good restful night there, just what I needed on the way North.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merideth M, Marketing Manager at Sleep Inn Sarasota, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are delighted to read you had a nice stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Sarasota
Days Inn Sarasota
#31 of 48 in Sarasota
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#29 of 48 in Sarasota
216 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Sarasota-Bradenton Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Sarasota

Property: Sleep Inn Sarasota
Address: 900 University Pkwy, Sarasota, FL 34234-2848
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn Sarasota 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles from SRQ airport and miles from Siesta key beach - #1 beach in the US - this fully renovated, smoke free, interior corridor hotel offers free continental breakfast, free high speed wi-fi access, outdoor pool, business center and guest laundry on premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarasota Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing