We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“very nice hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“very nice hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

My family was with a group attending a ballroom dance competition this week, with a total of 4 rooms between us all. We were very satisfied with the rooms. They are tastefully decorated, clean, quiet, and comfortable. We slept well in very good quality beds. Made use of the mini fridge and microwave. The complimentary breakfast is standard La Quinta fare, nothing exciting but not bad. The pool was kind of small and the pool deck area too small as well, but the kids enjoyed it anyway. The staff was helpful and pleasant. We will be back to next year's competition and will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkbw59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    214
    112
    60
    44
See reviews for
237
215
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcanum, OH
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family and I had planned a trip to Sarasota in July; we were so excited to get there, we left a day early, just to adventure and explore. Then the reality hit us....we were traveling with our dog and when it came time to find a hotel to stay at for just one night (until our rental-unit was ready), we ran into difficulty (and some attitude!) We first stopped by the Holiday Inn Express in Sarasota and waited in line for 10 minutes just to be told that we were not welcome because of our dog. Not only did they say they weren't pet-friendly, the counter clerk was rude...her exact words were "Absolutely not! Not under any circumstances do we allow animals!" I suppose if you have a guide dog, the Holiday Inn Express in Sarasota won't help you. Anyhow, so we ended up stopping by La Quinta...I walked right up to the desk, and said "I have two questions, are you pet-friendly and do you have a room for tonight?" The desk clerk laughed and said "yes, to both!" I was so relieved! The clerk was fabulous, very friendly, unbelievably accommodating, and hospitable! She welcomed us with open arms and even took the time to welcome our dog and play with him! Her name is Debbie, by the way...if you go there you'll love her. We were so impressed with Debbie and with the low cost to stay that we honestly didn't expect much when it came to the room, but we were very pleasantly surprised by the cleanliness of the room, and how nice everything was. The pool was great and the complimentary breakfast the next morning was out-of-this-world! Just having breakfast at the hotel saved us quite a bit of money since our family has two adults and two teens. I plan to be back in the Sarasota area quite often and will always choose La Quinta for my short-term stays.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StickerChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

The staff was very friendly, the hotel was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and was close to the beaches. For sure we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waltereider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel location, price and guest rooms were very good. However, a couple of small things bothered me: no one at the front desk upon check in - just a sign saying someone will be back!; elevator had the same trash on the floor during our entire stay and the lobby had the same two discarded soda cups during our entire stay. Their staff needs to be trained to do more than "just their job".

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lls929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

The front desk staff was very personable and friendly. We took with us our Shiba Inu, and the girls that worked the front desk, as well as housekeeping, doted on him the whole time. The pet policy here was awesome, no deposit and no fee. The room was clean, seemed new. Came with fridge and microwave. The outdoor pool was heated. Breakfast was out every morning, supposed to be from 6-9, but the staff ran it later if there were still people out and around. Close to all the Arts and Theatres in Sarasota.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaineb9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoca, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at La Quinta Inn-Sarasota and will return in the future! The front desk receptionists were very friendly and helpful. Our double bedroom was clean, comfortable, spacious and quiet, facing the back of the hotel. It overlooked the waterway next to the hotel, which was soothing and relaxing. Our one night booking turned into three nights and we enjoyed everything!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DELTA-Girl-1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed here as La Quinta sites have been good in the past.
The good points - a nice clean room with a comfortable bed . The bathroom was also clean.
The hotel literature and a notice on the room door advises that for security reasons customers should use a safe deposit box. These are available to hire and to just ask at the front desk - when we asked we were told "That his hotel does not have them" ! We pointed out the notice on the hotel door and the literature to which the rather curt reply was "We dont do them"
As a result we we were having to cary a large amount of money and our valuables with us all the time.
The other point is that the breakfast is rather lacking in options for our tastes - if you like waffles and muffins then fine. The lady working in the breakfast room was a credit to the hotel.
I cant therefore recomend this hotel to uk tourists who are carring their 'world' with them for 2 - 3 weeks

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisfromtheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
1.3 mi away
Regency Inn & Suites
Regency Inn & Suites
#24 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota I-75
3.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Sarasota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Sarasota
6.7 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown
Address: 1803 N Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34234-8338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota was recently named a 2011 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence award winner!You deserve a day at the beach. Choose the La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota facing the Sarasota Bay as well as overlooking Long Boat Key, and you'll find yourself just a short drive away from Lido Beach and Siesta Key Beaches. Conveniently located just three miles from Sarasota-Bradenton Internationa...see morel Airport, this tropically landscaped hotel is near several popular attractions including the Van Wezel Performing Arts Center, John & Mable Ringling Museum, Sarasota Jungle Gardens, and Ed Smith Stadium home of the Cincinati Reds Spring Training Camp. Offices for Boars Head Provisions, Florida Power & Light, Waterside Catering, and Wellcraft Marine are also located nearby. Ringling School of Art & Design is also located nearby. Guests will enjoy a refreshing heated outdoor pool, fitness center, and a delicious Free Bright Side BreakfastTM each morning. Each spacious guest room features free high-speed wireless Internet access, a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, voice mail, data port telephone, expanded cable channels, and much more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LaQuinta, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Sarasota
La Quinta Inn & Suites Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
La Quinta Hotel Sarasota
La Quinta Sarasota
Sarasota La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing