We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Nearby Hotels
$147
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$63
QualityInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
$154
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$489
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$234
$195
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,513)
Filter reviews
1,513 results
Traveler rating
383
584
324
135
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
584
324
135
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslido beachpool bargulf view roomarmand's circlepools were nicebeach frontbeach staffping ponggreat beachan older hotelfree shuttlebit datedgulf of mexicoper daychairs and umbrellaspool sidewhite sand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,157 - 1,162 of 1,513 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2007

What a wonderful place

We stayed there for 4 days 3/21 to 3/24 and enjoyed every second of our stay.

The staff was great, thanks Linda at the pool bar, Bart on the beach.

The beach was close (right out the door) and beautiful. The sunset's were awesome.

St Armands Circle was nice. We also took the sunset boat from town one night, the band was good and the sights were great along the way.

The mix of hotel guest was younger and older couples about 50% and young families with kids about 50%. We all got along just peachey.

The rooms were ok but when in paradise you don't spend much time in your room.

You won't regret your stay there

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2007

Great place. We would definitely return. My first impression was excellent, and never changed. The staff was friendly and helpful, the place was clean well maintained; the pools were great; and the beach was beautiful.

The place is a little dated, but who cares? We opened the door and the Gulf of Mexico was right there, so who cares what the curtains looked like.

We didn't eat at the restaurant much, because we wanted to try different places in and around town but the restaurant was good when we were there.

They just installed wireless in the lobby before we left, but frankly we didn't want to be checking emails much while we were there. It was vacation, after all.

Overall, it was a terrific experience and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank Fungyrl_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2007

I guess the Helmsley name made me expect more from this hotel. Despite it's excellent location and nice public areas, the rooms are dark, dank, with all the charm of a highway Holiday Inn, complete with noisy air conditioning unit that goes on and off all night long. Bathroom tiny, towels thin, ragged and in short supply, and very inferior fixtures and bedding. If you want a glorified cheapy motel for a high price at a lovely location, this is your spot. The staff was very nice, but many of the areas looked in need of refurbishment. Just not what you would expect from a Helmsley property at all. We wouldn't come back here.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank YGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

I have stayed on Lido Beach at least 25 times before in a timeshare condo, but for a 2 night stay with friends, I needed to find an actual hotel. I had seen this hotel countless times from the beach, and it always seemed to be busy, and received good reviews on Trip Advisor, so I booked it.

It is an older location, and could use some upgrades in minor details such as wallpaper & locks on the doors that were hard to turn at times, and free high speed internet would be nice, but that's the extent of the "negative" things I have to say. Everything was clean, which makes a big difference in an older property.

The property is right on the Gulf of Mexico, with great views from the Gulf Front rooms. It is very well maintained, and the grounds are in terrific condition. The beach is raked every morning by the staff to keep it as soft as possible. 2 big heated pools sit in the courtyard along with a pool bar. Beach chairs, cabanas & beach volleyball are all available free of charge. The staff was friendly, from the front desk, to the coffee shop/bar, to housekeeping and maintenance.

The beach is great for walking, and we had good views of dolphins one afternoon. The sun sets each evening right in front of the hotel. St. Armand's Circle, filled with shops & restaurants, is a 10-15 minute walk or a 2 minute drive.

It was a positive experience staying in a different place on a beach that I already know is fantastic, and is affordable for a beachfront location.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank TrueLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2007

We spent five nights at this hotel and, contrary to some of the previous reviews, we found it to be excellent. All of the staff were friendly and helpful, our requests were met and service was delivered with smiles. We enjoyed our Gulfview corner room and all of the hotel's amenities. The beach was clean and groomed regularly. In terms of value, our holiday experience at the Helmsley could not be exceeded. Overall, we highly recommend this accomodation.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank blueherongal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews