We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Leicester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Very very quiet”
Reviewed June 12, 2006

We stopped at the Sand castle and I have to say that it was everything it said it was in the broshure BUT it is not a short walk away from the Armands circle is is a long walk or a five min drive and boy is it expensive there but there are some good eating places but you have to drive 5 miles for a Supermarket and 3 the other way for cheaper eating places so be warned - yes it is a place to just chill out and relax - and do all your shopping in Orlando.

Helpful?
3 Thank Dado 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    542
    296
    113
    74
See reviews for
466
527
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2006

This hotel is great- if you're expecting motel 8.

These pictures are misleading. this is not a hotel - it is a motel.

The pool was very decent - thats about it. No internet in rooms. it is right on the beach, but its a narrow beach and you'll prefer siesta beach. The guest is greated with a message regarding temprature - something to the degree of "when the a/c is on, its on. if you get cold, we'll bring you a space heater. if you get hot, we'll bring you a fan".

The helmsley of sarasota - a dissappointment, to say the least.

the bathroom is only ventilated by a window overlooking the hall to other rooms. In fact, when i got locked out, i climbed in the window as they have no locks.

the center of the room had discolored, wet carpeting due to a leaking a/c.
The room was very small, and we had the 'best' room available.

If you're more accustomed to the hyatt, wyndham, or any hotel on that level, do not stay here. If you're used to motels, this may be jsut the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lauren6318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2006

We have stayed at the Helmsley many occasions, and recently spent a fantastic week in a gulf front room, after mad days in Disney. Anyone who has stayed in these rooms will know where I'm coming from, they might not be as luxurious as other hotels in the vicinity, but with these fabulous sunsets and powder beach at incredible room rates, we can turn a blind eye to the negatives, as there are so many positives. The rooms were cleaned daily to an impeccable standard, and the beds are very comfortable. The bathrooms are clean and adequate. Staff are fantastic, from reservations/front desk/souvenir shop/chambermaids, everyone I met was so friendly and happy. I have photos of me playing as a child 30 years ago at this hotel, and even though I could go to the Ritz Carlton or the Ramada I choose to go back to the Helmsley - stay quaint, stay querky, stay just the way you are ..........
will be back real soon

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank teabag992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 26, 2006

We stayed at the Helmsley for 5 nights may 15 - 19,2006. It was much better than expected, very long and deep beach (you could spread out all your gear and sunbathe and/or swim in relative privacy). The rooms were decent,clean and kept that way!! A word on the restaurant- we ate mostly just breakfast there (which was good), however on our last night we were too tired to go anywhere and ate at the Hotel restaurant and guess what? - it was the best meal we had in Florida!!!!!!!! In short, if you want excellent value for your money stay at the Helmsley Sandcastle! A Westbrook,ME couple

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2006

We deliberated long and hard before choosing this hotel and we were delighted with our choice. After spending a week "doing disney" with our young sons my husband and I collapsed onto the beautiful Helmsley Sandcastle beach and didn't budge for 3 days. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly and our room was comfortable and clean. We had a gulf view room and the sunsets were glorious. Would love to return and spend longer in the area and would definately choose this hotel again. Highlight of our 3 weeks in the USA!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geenag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2006

In an absolutely idylic location, great pool area and right on a fabulous beach, which saved this hotel from a terrible review.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, but the bar staff and waiters were the worst we have met in 13 years of travelling to the US. They were abrupt, non communicative and incompetent.
The rooms were very damp,dripping air-con units and clothes were very damp even with a de-humidifier in the room.
If the staff can not be happy when working in one of the most beautiful locations they should try factory work.

Helpful?
7 Thank draycot2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, PEI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

The Sandcastle was recommended by our travel agent. When we got to our room (courtyard) we were questioning our choice....the room was what I would call just fair. The place is really showing its age. However, after stepping out onto the balcony, all I can say is Wow - the Gulf breeze, the sunset, palm trees...despite its age, the place has a character about it that just has to be experienced.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank peiscooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,346 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Property: Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing