We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lido Islander(Sarasota)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Breeze Resort(Siesta Key)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,513)
Filter reviews
1,513 results
Traveler rating
383
584
324
135
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
584
324
135
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslido beachpool bargulf view roomarmand's circlepools were nicebeach frontbeach staffping ponggreat beachan older hotelfree shuttlebit datedgulf of mexicoper daychairs and umbrellaspool sidewhite sand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 1,513 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2005

We stayed for 3 nights in this loverly hotel - Our room was one of the cheaper ones, but was well appointed and everything you need for a stay on holiday - bed, fridge, and TV.
Otherwise, its out on the beach, poolside or the Lido complex just down the road. We had a day of rain, but were helped to find a great shopping centre in Sarsota , lots of bargains at the Macy sale followed by a trip to the cinema in the same block.
The hotel includes a complimentary taxi service to the Lido, for dinning etc.

An excellent stay.
thank you

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Serenity-starship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
227
Reviewed July 3, 2005

We spent a total of 7 nights towards the end of May. Hotel scores 10/10 for chill out factor. Only minus might be it’s a tad quiet at night time. We upgraded for a few dollars more for a sea view room. Well worth the extra cost. Waking up to the ocean is a big plus, seeing the sun sink over the Gulf with a glass of red wine in one hand and my wife in the other “priceless”

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2005

We booked a Southwest Airlines package and this was the only beach-front hotel in the Sarasota area that was available in the package. After reading some of the reviews, we were anxious to see if we had made a mistake in booking this hotel. Quite the contrary! We were upgraded to a beach-front room that was spotless. The pools were sparkling and service was exceptional. While the outside is deceiving (it looks dated), the inside was wonderful. I have to say that if I was just driving around looking for a place to stay, I would not have chosen this hotel from the outside appearance. However, I am glad we stayed and we will be back. We also found it to be exceptionally quiet in the evenings even though the pool was open until 10 p.m. The only meal that we ate there was breakfast before leaving for the airport. It was good but the food cannot compare to the restaurants in St. Armands. For those who are planning to book a last-minute vacation, you do need to ask about Red Tide. Because of this, we were not able to go into the water. However, the beach was cleaned daily and cabanas were available for a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SXMChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2005

We were well pleased, with a, pretty, oversized room. It was very clean. We only had a minor problem with drip from AC, that was taken care of immediately. Staff was excellent, as well as, housekeeping, and, maintenance. Super friendly, and well advised, on places to eat, and shop, and directions. We couldn't be happier. Hotel could use a little updating, but we would definitely go back there again. Food was great, also. Everyone was so helpful. The only complaints we had, was that, towels could have been put out sooner in the morning, for pool, and, rules around pool area could have been better enforced, due to diving into pool, and , very upsetting, and disturbing, that, small little girls, being unclothed, around pool, running back and fourth, to room, naked. Better supervision for pool area. Also, enjoyed ,water floatations, in pool. Other than that...No complaints....Great Vacation, Great Hotel !!!!!!!

Stayed: May 2005
4  Thank zevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
cambridge, england
12
Reviewed June 4, 2005

Easter is one of the busiest times in florida and certainly at the Helmsley. This was my 15th year of coming here and as usual was not dissapointed. During the years the hotel may have changed, but the experience of relaxation and true paradise hasnt. What more could you want with the white sands, perfect for kids to play in and a generally safe environment. All the staff have worked there for as long as I have been going, and welcome us back graciously each year, truly like a second family.
Over the years there are others who like us just keep coming back, familiar faces and other children to play with. My daughter has grown up with her friends she meets each year at the Helmsley.
Everything you could need is there, the rooms are comfortable, but to be fair when going to florida you dont expect to spend a large amount of time in your room.
Also with places like tampa and orlando not too far away if you want a rest from the beach, theme parks are easily accesible for a day trip.

Overall I wouldnt dream of spending my easter anywhere else and will be continuing to go to the Helmsley for as long as I can.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews