We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really impressed after reading some of the reviews!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Kirkwood, Delaware
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really impressed after reading some of the reviews!”
Reviewed June 22, 2005

We booked a Southwest Airlines package and this was the only beach-front hotel in the Sarasota area that was available in the package. After reading some of the reviews, we were anxious to see if we had made a mistake in booking this hotel. Quite the contrary! We were upgraded to a beach-front room that was spotless. The pools were sparkling and service was exceptional. While the outside is deceiving (it looks dated), the inside was wonderful. I have to say that if I was just driving around looking for a place to stay, I would not have chosen this hotel from the outside appearance. However, I am glad we stayed and we will be back. We also found it to be exceptionally quiet in the evenings even though the pool was open until 10 p.m. The only meal that we ate there was breakfast before leaving for the airport. It was good but the food cannot compare to the restaurants in St. Armands. For those who are planning to book a last-minute vacation, you do need to ask about Red Tide. Because of this, we were not able to go into the water. However, the beach was cleaned daily and cabanas were available for a reasonable fee.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SXMChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    536
    291
    111
    70
See reviews for
455
516
29
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2005

We were well pleased, with a, pretty, oversized room. It was very clean. We only had a minor problem with drip from AC, that was taken care of immediately. Staff was excellent, as well as, housekeeping, and, maintenance. Super friendly, and well advised, on places to eat, and shop, and directions. We couldn't be happier. Hotel could use a little updating, but we would definitely go back there again. Food was great, also. Everyone was so helpful. The only complaints we had, was that, towels could have been put out sooner in the morning, for pool, and, rules around pool area could have been better enforced, due to diving into pool, and , very upsetting, and disturbing, that, small little girls, being unclothed, around pool, running back and fourth, to room, naked. Better supervision for pool area. Also, enjoyed ,water floatations, in pool. Other than that...No complaints....Great Vacation, Great Hotel !!!!!!!

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank zevart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2005

Easter is one of the busiest times in florida and certainly at the Helmsley. This was my 15th year of coming here and as usual was not dissapointed. During the years the hotel may have changed, but the experience of relaxation and true paradise hasnt. What more could you want with the white sands, perfect for kids to play in and a generally safe environment. All the staff have worked there for as long as I have been going, and welcome us back graciously each year, truly like a second family.
Over the years there are others who like us just keep coming back, familiar faces and other children to play with. My daughter has grown up with her friends she meets each year at the Helmsley.
Everything you could need is there, the rooms are comfortable, but to be fair when going to florida you dont expect to spend a large amount of time in your room.
Also with places like tampa and orlando not too far away if you want a rest from the beach, theme parks are easily accesible for a day trip.

Overall I wouldnt dream of spending my easter anywhere else and will be continuing to go to the Helmsley for as long as I can.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2005

I thought the Helmsley was great. We got a gulfview room and took great sunset pictures! The room was very clean and the staff was very nice. I don't know why people expect a city style hotel with inside hallways at a beach location. Imagine all the sand that would have to be cleaned up! I am always pleased with a large, clean room and friendly people. I've had my fill of budget deals and bad continental breakfasts in past hotel experiences. We had a small refrigerator and a coffee maker and that's fine for me. We had a balcony that extended to the next room, but so what. It fit. And I will include the sunset pictures that I took from it.
I lived in Sarasota in 1970 and I was familiar with the area. Lido Beach is very nice. So is St. Armands circle. I think the Florida gulf coast is more people friendly than the east coast. You can get fined for not stopping for pedestrians. All parking at the beaches and at St. Armands circle is free.
It's a nice please to go. Ringling and Mote Aquarium are nice places to visit. Ringling art museum is free on Mondays.
I enjoyed my stay at the Helmsley Sandcastle and revisiting Sarasota after many years.

Helpful?
5 Thank Judy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 25, 2005

Although the hotel was very pleasant and clean, it was mis represented. There are no activities for the children. Children were not allowed to sit at the bar, we we accepted but there was no where for them to sit if we wanted a drink at the bar. The children were not catered for at meal times and there wasn't a good selection of food and the food that is available is very over priced. It is not a 20 minute walk to St. Armands circle which is the nearest local shop/restaurant area.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 7, 2005

We just returned from a stay at the sandcastle. It is not the most beautiful or updated hotel, but it is a great place to stay on a beautiful beach. The rooms are standard, but the food service in the hotel is easy and convenient. The service was good and the hotel as a whole was clean and well taken care of. We loved the ease of getting to the beach. We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 5, 2005

I can't wait to get back to the Helmsley ! 5 weeks and counting, it will be the 5th time I have stayed there I love everything about it. The Gulf front rooms are heaven to walk out in the morning onto the beach and to not even worry about putting shoes on. Itis safe clean comfortable the staff are lovely the food is wonderful. everyone there just wants you to have a good holiday. The whole point of the Helmsley is that it is a beach hotel hence no long corridors and closed in walkways as stated by Hotel/motel! It is so laid back there you can't fail to relax. If you want entertainment St Armands is great for strolling around there are Flea Markets near by a Dog Track many resturants. Shopping Malls night clubs downtown Sports BArs showing English football golf courses boat trips from the marina Mote Marine just up the road I could go on forever.................

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,300 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
1,968 reviews
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Property: Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing