We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for huge extra daily charge” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #15 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
oswaldtwistle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“watch out for huge extra daily charge”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our beach front room had the most amazing view from the balcony shame that we had smokers at either side of us as it though. Room very tired and not as clean as we would have liked. WiFi rubbish. On leaving we were given a bill with an extra $25 +tax PER DAY,this was a huge extra expense that we were not aware of and when we questioned it we were told that it is a resort charge. Be aware that if you leave something in your room and go back for it if the room has been cleaned you will NOT get it back. I left a favourite necklace and was told that if it was found they could post it to me. Couldn't understand why they would not get check with housekeeping for me

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillybillywilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
The resort fee should have been explained to you upon check-in; I apologize if it wasn't. The resort fee includes: in-room bottled, water, in-room coffee, patio games, beach games, use of lobby business center, shuttle to St. Armands Circle, free parking, free local, credit card & toll free calls, bicycle use, free wifi,beach chairs & umbrellas.

Regarding your necklace, would you please send me a description of it and I will search our lost & found. My email is: eddie.sipple@sandcastlelidobeach.com.


Thank you,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    497
    252
    98
    58
See reviews for
396
458
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is an older property and the rooms aren't as lush but who goes to the beach to sit in the room? Perfect beach location! They offer complimentary beach towels, chairs umbrellas, paddle boards, noodles, bikes....the list goes on and on! The staff said we will do whatever it takes to make you happy!! and they did, Colin at the pool made sure we had an umbrella when all other tables were full. The pool is so large so its not overcrowded and the live music was spot on playing a variety of songs. The shuttle drivers were also very accommodating taking us back and forth to St. Armonds Circle. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms were very quiet, they do have rooms that overlook ocean and have balconies, lower units have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalee1628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle Resort; we do appreciate the business. I will pass along to Colin your comments regarding his hospitality. He does a very good job on at the pool & beach.

I am glad to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, and hope you visit again.


Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama, Republic of Panama
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were really looking forward to a stay on the beach, but was deeply disappointed. The hotel is terribly overpriced for the room we got, which aside from the room being old, tired, dark and small, we were given a room next to the kitchen! It was so bad, we checked out early the next day and looked for another place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dixie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the resort in June. We are working on improving the look of the resort. I would like for you to give us another chance. Please email or give me a call if I can be of assistance and have you return.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel was clean but looked somewhat tired. I object to the hire resort fee and felt it was quite expensive for the stay.
The wait to check was at least 20 minutes as there was only one person on the desk. There were no lifts so had to drag suitcases upstairs.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank tudsElodma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Sandcastle Resort. I do apologize for the wait at the desk; it should not take that long to check in. We do have 2 elevators on property; one for the 4-story building and 1 directly off the lobby. We also have bellmen (or any of our other associates) available to help you with your luggage should you so desire.

Thank you for the business and we hope you do return.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 6/7th July for a wedding which was on Holmes beach, based on other reviews we decided to be open minded, from checking in to leaving we were disappointed, management/ check in staff do not have care in the world and were more bothered about taking our card details for payment. Was not informed of the $25 a night resort fee until we confirmed our booking :( this fee was for wi fi that didn't work and water which we never received either night. We queried this on check out to be told you get charged this whether you get or want these facilities
I took a shower in the smallest bathroom we have ever been in,placed my clothes on the side of the sink only to come to pick them up covered in bleach,
Breakfast was far to over priced and luke warm for 4 of us was about $60
Opening your room door was like stepping back into the 60s all flowers on curtains, bed covers and pictures( not good)
Now for the only good point, I never seen a sunset like we did on both nights, if you decide to stay here please please book a gulf view, more money but it's worth the view THATS ALL
Our stay cost us $568 definitely not worth this amount


Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Philandjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Sandcastle. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations in our product nor our service.

We are working to make changes at the property in both the product and service areas, so that these types of experiences do not happen.

I do apologize for your experience. If you would like to return (or just want to share more of your experience), please give me a call.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The rooms were awful looking ...old ..the bathroom was too small, outdated and pathetic. The building and rooms appeared to be built in 1930's...the beds were so hard until I could hardly sleep at night. The best part of this hotel was the outdoor pool chairs and breakfast. After paying resort fees the breakfast should have been free. Beware ,,,you will be charged a resort fee of $25.00 per day, plus all the other taxes and fees which adds an additional $100. If you are looking for a romantic place this is not it. The water smells awful...please do not drink the water..this place looks like the old motel 6 of yesterday.

Room Tip: Upstairs beach view is better. Don't choose the courtyard view because it is way too dark at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank felicha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I have reviewed the comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle. I apologize for the dissatisfaction with your stay.

We are working to upgrade the property in different areas through the summer months; hoping to update our product as much as possible and deliver a positive experience to our guests.

Again, I do apologize for your experience while staying with us.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My family and I have been visiting the Sandcastle for nearly twenty years. We truly loved the Helmsley Sandcastle. Because we came each year we knew many of those who worked at various levels and capacities. In fact, that was one aspect we loved--the friendliness of literally everyone who worked there. When we called to book our rooms for this years' visit, we found that it had been sold to new management and the rates had skyrocketed--way beyond what we could spend per night. We were devastated.

We found another location for our visit to the area. One morning we decided to have breakfast at the Sandcastle in hopes of seeing some of our friends. We entered the lobby--not one familiar face behind the registration desk. The one new person there, briefly raised her head and said, "Welcome." Once we left the lobby to reach the restaurant our eyes were almost visually assaulted. The lovely white and pink tables and umbrellas around the pool were replaced with BROWN chaise lounges-several rows deep. And it was easily apparent that the lounges were not new. Our guess is that they are discards from another property. The pleasant, always friendly and smiling restaurant manager, was replaced by a man who never made contact with any customer and never smiled. We saw three wait staff we knew. One had been relegated to the cash register, and although did not say so, appeared very unhappy. One other acknowledged us, but didn't appear comfortable stopping for a short conversation. (The restaurant was not busy.) One of my family members walked down to the beach and saw another familiar face. Again, nothing directly stated, but totally understood why we weren't staying.

So many people gone. Friendliness replaced with guarded spoken words. Light, airy, colors replaced with darkness. Tolerable rates raised to exorbitant levels. Rooms needing TLC--not touched. Leona Helmsley's wedding gift from her husband--virtually unrecognizable. So sad.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank marshmellowSavannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
I have reads the comments regarding your stay here at the Sandcastle and feel very badly about your experience. Being such a loyal guest, I would want you to have the same memorable experience you have been accustomed to when visiting the resort.

I do hope you plan to return. If I can be of assistance in any way, please call or email me. Again, I apologize for our lapses in service; both when calling the resort as well as when you were here.

Regards,
Eddie S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
3.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 814 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#4 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Property: Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Otel, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing