We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful anachronism”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed May 19, 2014

For those interested in Old Florida, this is a great find. It is a "low rise" (four stories) Florida oceanfront resort with two fabulous pools and a 1950's feel. The rooms have all been redone and look new. Flat screen TV, fridge, hair dryer and all the things you would expect in a modern hotel. Bathrooms have been completely updated, king-sized bed with great mattress and a huge closet. There is covered parking available, and the staff could not be more professional or friendlier. I wish I could say that the restaurant was fabulous. It is ok, but not a destination for a memorable meal. This hotel is designed for folks who want to get away to enjoy a pristine beach with wonderful amenities like beach huts, beach chairs, umbrellas provided by the hotel. It is not within walking distance of any shopping, eating or nightlife. However, you can find such a short drive away. We were there as part of a class reunion. The hotel provided what had been Leona Helmsley's suite as the hospitality suite. It was a wonderful choice for such an event.

Room Tip: We shared a balcony with the room next door, so if you need more than one room, be sure to ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for visiting us here at the Sandcastle Resort. Your comments have been passed along to the different departments in the hotel; including the Chef, so he may review your thoughts regarding the restaurant.

Thank you for the business and we do hope you visit us again.


Regards,
Eddie Sipple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

546 - 552 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

The short walk to the beach a plus. Watch all the hidden fees, especially Resort Tax. New owners took over Hemsleys and raised all the prices. Other than new shower heads, no difference. They took away the Saturday night buffet and entertainment. The singer they did have quit at 7:00 p.m??? The lunch menu is good, but limited. The dinner menu served salmon and a bisquit for $24.00, no potatoes, rice, salad or vegetables. What a rip off. When it was owned by Hemsley it was quaint and affordable. There is nothing extra for the 50% increase. For the same price you can stay at a new resort on Long Boat Key.

Room Tip: Choose Gulf view, it is very close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for the comments on your stay with us at the Sandcastle Resort. I apologize for the disappointment in your salmon dinner and have shared your comments with our Chef regarding your meal and food selections.

The music on the pool deck does end around sundown, but there is music which begins in the lounge at 7:00 pm on Friday & Saturday nights.

Again, my apologies, and I do hope you return to Lido Key and the Sandcastle.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Location is perfect, the service is nice, but rooms need a little updated, too old, the food at the restaurant is just average; friendly people work there, we will be back.....the gift shop has nice stuff

Room Tip: Frontbeach view rooms are the best......and higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alcayavic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Thank you for the comments regarding your stay at the Sandcastle Resort. I have passed along your thoughts regarding the food in the restaurant to our Chef. We review all comments with our staff so we may improve as we go forward.

Thank you for the business and we do hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

At Sandcastle Resort you are right on the beach, few feet away from the waves. The staff is friendly and tries to accommodate to your needs, but at times we were surprised that they were out of stock on simple things like, Sprite, Yogurt during breakfast, or the coloring menus for kids without crayons. The rooms are very old, like being stuck in the 70's, but the convenience of being on the beach is what you are probably paying for.

Overall if you are expecting a 5 start resort experience and room services, this is not the place. For convenience of being on the beach and having a bed to crash on when the kids are tired, it's an OK place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle. I do apologize for the lapse in our service and have passed along your comments to our team. We do address all comments, as we continually work to improve the guest experience.

Again, thank you for staying with us, and we hope you visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The room was very comfortable, clean and big. Two double beds and enough space for our luggage. The bathroom was also clean.
The hotel is a bit old but directly at the Lido Beach. A few steps to the white sand. They have sunshades and canvas chairs on the beach to use for hotel guest and the sunset is amazing.
The staff are very friendly, helpfull and courteous. Every morning we got a newspaper.
Unfortunately the room price are not include breakfast. You can have your breakfast separate on the restaurant. You have a coffee maker in your room and a fridge and if you buy some things, you can do your breakfast cheap by yourself.
The center, St. Armands Circle is not far away (5 min) and a nice place to shop, have some drinks, lunch or dinner. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Ground floor have a nice terrace to sit outside the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bettina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle. I will pass along your comments to our associates, so they may see how you viewed your stay with us.

Our beach is a beautiful beach, one of the nicest along the coastline.

We do hope you return to Lido Beach and visit us again.


Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went for a girl's long weekend, my mom 68, me 40 and daughter 8! All ages.
Weather was perfect. We had a regular room, a bit tight, moved to a pool side room and it was great, worth the upgrade. Everything was right at your fingertips, pool, beach, restaurant and pool side bar, gift shop, etc. Food was great......BUT the best was the pool side bar. Missy was great, very friendly, great stories, made you laugh and feel right at home. The kind of place you want want to go back again and again!!! When we were at the beach we saw dolphins and a manatee......huge bonus!!!!

Room Tip: Spend the little extra money for a pool side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

It is good to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at the Sandcastle. I will pass along to Missy your comments regarding her ability to make you feel at home.

Thank you for the business and please visit us again.

Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My family first stayed at the Sandcastle about 46 years ago, and we've been coming more or less since then. The hotel is a lovely property located right on the beach, just minutes from the charming St.Armand's Circle (shopping area with retail and restaurants galore). The Sandcastle itself is a well maintained resort, clean and neat with a fantastic staff. Our room was amazing, right on the beach, with 2 comfortable double beds. I was thrilled to see that our room would be cleaned by Chris our housekeeper, and sometimes Reatha (the beauty of coming back every year has been knowing that Chris and her co-workers are there each year to make sure all of our room needs are met!). Carolyn runs a great housekeeping department! Sherry and Matt met us at the front desk when we arrived and always did their best to make us feel like the most important guests at the resort. Adam was professional and courteous, and worked very hard to accommodate our large group. Connie, Zoe, Lynn and Chad greeted us with smiles daily at the restaurant where we enjoyed delicious breakfasts outside by the pool. Dave (beach and pool) took great care of our huge group at the beach every day, and we look forward to seeing him and Brad when we return next year. But the highlight of our trip was the Easter egg hunt and games on the beach! The staff worked together with all departments (Adam, Dave, Brad, (the food and beverage head, can't remember her name, sorry!) and the GM Eddie...were all out there having a great time with the guests!). All and all it was a great vacation.....oh wait, did I mention that the sunsets are spectacular?!? Can't wait to return next year! So happy to see familiar faces and meet some new ones!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Bebe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We do appreciate the kind words, and yes, we did have a great time on Easter Sunday.

Thank you for the business, and we look forward to your return to the Sandcastle.


Regards,
Eddie S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,170 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
945 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $159 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing