We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Nearby Hotels
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$153
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$301
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Airport(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
$103
$93
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Sarasota(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
$94
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lido Beach Resort(Sarasota)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$389
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $503/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,532)
Filter reviews
1,532 results
Traveler rating
385
590
333
135
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
385
590
333
135
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslido beachpool bargulf view roomarmand's circlepools were nicebeach frontbeach staffping ponggreat beachfree shuttlean older hotelbit datedgulf of mexicoper daychairs and umbrellaspool sidewhite sand
Filter
Updating list...
619 - 624 of 1,532 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed 4 nights. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and a walk on the beach every morning. The room may have been a little less than expected, but we didn't spend much time there. Clean showers.The beds were like sleeping on the floor. We left single-digit temperatures with sleet and snow; walking barefoot on the beach was a delight. Close to shopping at St. Armand's Circle, and a great Aquarium. Lots of great restaurants, and some located on beach.

Room Tip: We had a nice room facing the courtyard and swimming pool.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We are happy you chose the Sandcastle Resort for your getaway from the snow and cold weather. We also hope that, in the future, you choose to visit the Sarasota area and stay with us again.

Thank you for the business.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Spent several days at the Sandcastle. First the best- the beach!!! Magnificent! Other beaches near by looked like "beach toupes" The breakfast buffet was wonderful and the staff worked very hard. Our room overlooked the pool, but the inside were really dated with chipped furniture, mold on the bathroom tiles and blankets that weren't fit for a hotel guests. Let's hope with a new buyer this older hotel will get a much needed update. We would return if the place gets an overhaul.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool area or the beach.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Sandcastle Resort. We appreciate the comments and will work to fix the issues you had with your room.

We are working hard daily to make improvements to the property.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights 2nd week in March 2014, this was our 4th stay, already looking forward to our next one.
Firstly people say that the rooms are rundown or outdated, the rooms are fine. The furniture may not be brand new but in our room it was all in good condition. The room was always clean and had everything in it we needed. We asked and got a court yard room. Our personal favorite. Great for our 2 year old to play outside. Not that we spent too much time in the room as there is a very lovely beech just steps away, which is more important than the state of the room furniture.
The staff are all great nothing was too much, especially Chris the housekeeper and the 2 men with gray t-shirts on that were always around to help people. Sorry don't know their names, 1 I asked about the dog that used to live in the hotel, hope they get the praise they deserve.
St Armands is nearby and well worth a visit, nice shops and places to eat.
The overall feel of the hotel is very relaxed and we felt happy and secure here. Even the other guests were all very friendly. I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone.
You get what you pay for and I was very happy with what i paid.

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nigel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us here at the Sandcastle Resort. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and do hope you bring your family back for a fifth time.

Again, thank you for the business.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

You cannot beat the location of this resort. The beach is literally steps away and not super crowded. St. Armand's Circle is not too far away and the free Lido shuttle is quick and easy. Glenda in the dining room is a fabulous server. The beach crew is great. The pools are nice. Not so great - if one more person asked me for a tip, I would have screamed. That, and the phrase 'Not any more,' about old offerings vs. current offerings - take your pick of start time and free appetizers at the pool (started at 5 not 4 pm and NOT free), Luau's, house salad with entrees, paying entree prices for appetizers at dinner, gift shop closed for first 2 days, parking, etc. Apparently nothing is the same, but some staff don't know it and tell you the wrong information, or voice an opinion about how it hurts their tips. What was really NOT cool was the indoor water feature in our room when it rained, and hearing how old the hotel was and nothing could be done but offer some towels and an extra ice bucket to empty when the water fills up. Then having one person at the front desk telling us we'd get compensation, and upon check out hearing that the person who told us had no authority to give it to us. At least every guest we met was nice - whether family, couple, group attendee, return guest. Note about taxis - VERY expensive in Sarasota. If you can't find what you are looking for grocery wise in St. Armand and don't have a car, the Route 4 SCAT bus picks you up across from the hotel and drops you off there. If you take to 1st & Lemon, there is a Whole Foods right there. With traffic and neighborhood, best to go in the morning or early afternoon.

Room Tip: Definitely get an ocean view room. Ask for one toward the middle of the resort - the rooms on each end are near garages/parking lots. Ok except for suitcase wheels at 5 am. It's worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citysprout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

I am sorry to hear of your experience while staying here at the Sandcastle Resort and want to apologize for our lapses in service. The resort is addressing the items you mentioned and will continue to work at upgrading our property as well as our service levels.

Again, I do apologize and hope you will give us another try.


Regards,
Eddie Sipple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We checked in middle of the evening, it was dark, having just flown over from Dublin, via Newark. If we had stayed here 20 years ago it would have been fantastic. Have they spent any money on it since then, I doubt it. It is a run down property that we think was going to be sold to be developed or rebuilt into apartments. Staff were at their best - average, food from the bar or in the restaurant again - average, Pool Bar - not even average! However its position on the beach - wonderful ! Our room, at the back overlooking the car park. Could have done with a room overlooking the beach and maybe one with a balcony, had it been offered. Would have gladly paid the difference. Upon enquiring the following morning, told 'we are full' what a load of Bull. Thankfully we were only there for 5 nights, before heading down to Miami and a cruise on Ncl through the Panama. There are many restaurants nearby, not within walking distance though, thankfully we had a car. Would we stay there again? I don't think so. However would we stay in the same area again, a big definite Yes!

Room Tip: Check out the rates for a front, upstairs, balcony rooms. They are the best.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie S, General Manager at Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment in our property and I do apologize for that. We are working on upgrading the property, as well a the service levels; so we may have a product you can be happy with and would consider visiting us again.

Thank you for the business and again I do apologize.

Regards,
Eddie Sipple

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews