We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with exception of heating and cooling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #17 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with exception of heating and cooling”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel has a great location. The staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel is dated and needs so updates. Spotted carpet, peeling wallpaper, rusted room safe, etc. Apparently double beds only, small rooms, and baths. Pay the extra to get beach or poolside. Our biggest problem was that the entire hotel either heats or cools and you have to control over your room. Our third floor room was so hot that we (as well as many other guests) kept our doors open to cool rooms prior to bedtime. Then using a small fan provided by the office, we were able to keep room temperature almost bearable. This is primarily a problem when hotel is heating vice cooling. Probably would not stay there again given rates.

Room Tip: Beach side or pool side are the best rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    552
    307
    118
    76
See reviews for
482
541
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks .only a 3star rating but delivers well. It is tired and needs some refurbishment but its position is fantastic. Large room with a full size fridge we had a courtyard room but the sea was facing too ! Would def stay again. We booked through Virgin holiday s but would book independantly too.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you have an gulf view room, the view is incredible, was wonderful to watch the sunset from our balcony and fall asleep to the sound of the waves on the the beach. Very nice beach.
Hotel was a bit dated, but clean. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMSBLONDE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Did not stay here, looked at rooms and reads reviews, has antique heat and air system, rooms felt stuffy and
Expérience tells me would not get better, a two pipe air system. Views good from beach rooms. Anyway I am reviewing their breakfast cafe. Very nice buffet with good food at good price. Patio or inside seating. Great place with pool side dining .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PicassoPaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed at Helmsley in September 2013, for a couple of nights. The Golf View room was amazing, it is worth the price. The hotel itself was a good experience, good value for money. The staff was kind and helpfull. Free parking opportunities.
Located right on the beach - so nice. I will for sure come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This must be one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. The hotel itself is clean, kitschy and well priced. Decor is plain. Long time staff greeted us like old friends. Nice big rooms. Great breakfast buffet price. Burgers rock. Get an ocean view and listen to the waves. Seriously what more do you want at this price?

Room Tip: Ocean front a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheIndulgentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel has nothing else going for it than the location and the pools. Repeat customers mean nothing to the management. Very tired rooms and unfriendly personal. I am not sure why this hotel received a certificate of excellence.

Room Tip: Gulf front is most expensive but great for sunset viewing and listening to waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybille P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sarasota hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 48 in Sarasota
2,063 reviews
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
187 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Property: Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing