We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Nearby Hotels
$148
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$170
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Sarasota(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
$106
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
La Quinta
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$404
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$132
$128
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,512)
Filter reviews
1,512 results
Traveler rating
383
584
323
135
87
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
584
323
135
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslido beachpool bargulf view roomarmand's circlepools were nicebeach frontbeach staffping ponggreat beachan older hotelfree shuttlebit datedgulf of mexicoper daychairs and umbrellaspool sidewhite sand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
658 - 663 of 1,512 reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Lovely beach within a 100 ft. Free parking. Enjoyable patio next to pool where a nice breakfast can be had. Pool is clean and good size. The restaurant looks a few decades old, but service is decent and so is food. The same can be said of the rooms we have had, clean and somewhat dated. But the geography is well placed. Not 10 minutes from Armand Circle where everything is available, from great shops to a variety of good restaurants.

Room Tip: Pool Side doesn't always mean actually beside the pool......Insist if that's what you want. They are some of the best rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I deceided on a last minute trip to Florida and the price was right at the Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel. I loved everything about this place. The food was great, the staff even better, especially Kelly and Rachel at the bars. They made great drinks and were lots of fun.. The sunsets were amazing. The rooms are a little dated, but it was clean and comfortable, and served its purpose for sleeping. The bathroom is very tiny, but doable. I went with a no view room, and would definetly spend the extra money for a gulf view next time. What I loved the most was that everyone we met there, have been coming back for years.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLR0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Happy to leave this... Hotel... Erm Motel. Don't stop here. Rooms are old-fashioned and if you have the chance to get one of the several rooms as I had, you will get a splendid sight on a parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a Gulf view!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurentDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Last few days of our holiday a great place to spend them... Location perfect right on the beach.. Sunset amazing.
Rooms very tired but very clean and everything you need from safe to iron to fridge !
Pool was heated which is such a bonus the staff were great but Kelly made our holiday ! Fantastic bar tender works soo hard and makes the best piña coladas !! and the entertainment at the bar had us in fits would go back again and wish we could have stayed longer...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlcandlat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We chose this property due to such a favorable rate and great location on Lido Beach. Just minutes from St. Armand Circle and at a very quiet end of the Key. Reviews said hotel was friendly, clean and had a wonderful beach. So true! 3 food venues, free parking, great location and a pro-guest staff (all except the pool bartendress who was a bit unfriendly). From a special room request by phone prior to arrival, to the front desk staff, to the beach cabana attendants, we had great experiences. Room was extremely clean, pillows and sheets seemed new (read prior pillow complaints), although mattress was very firm. Everything worked in our 2 rooms. Hotel was 3 star and met those expectations for a much better price than others along the beach. Yes, could use refurbishing, bathroom was older and small, but for the price, it was a great stay. Loved the 2 large pools, pool bar with free snacks during happy hour, amazing beach and reasonable cabana/umbrella rental. Free beach lounges and newspaper too. They upgraded us from no view to a room on the courtyard, with a small patio area and courtyard with seating and nice areas to sit day or night, which added variety. We loved our stay and hope to return. Stayed here many years ago and it was just as enjoyable this time around.

Room Tip: End rooms with gulf/beach view, of course, have magnificent sunsets. Everything was quiet in our south end location with a courtyard view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dzine3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews