We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #19 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location at a reasonable price”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is located right on Lido key beach. You can walk to St. Armands circle, which is a little over a mile away. The hotel was clean, and the staff was great. The food at the hotel restaurant was good.There are two nice pools, and they keep their beach area clean. Beach chairs and towels are free. Like the other reviews, I have to say that the hotel is dated. The bath area was tiny, I could barely close the door when standing inside the tub/toilet room. There are no drawers in the bath vanity, so you will live with your stuff all over the counter top. I would suggest updating to include some rooms with kitchenettes. There is only a mini-fridge in the room, so you will likely be eating out all of your meals. That can be difficult if you have specific dietary restrictions. So all in all, a good stay. If you have nice weather and tend to not spend a lot of time in your room, you will be just fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyezduzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    553
    307
    119
    76
See reviews for
484
541
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We usually stay at luxury properties... and as we arrived, checked-in, and eventually entered our ocean view room, I began to worry. As it turned out, the only items that truly justified my concern were the paper thin towels in the bathroom. Beach and pool access were extraordinarily convenient. Parking was fine. And the beach was terrific.

Yes. The rooms are dated and very basic -- though roomy with flat screen TV's. The A/C worked. Everything seemed clean. Water pressure in the shower was excellent. The bed was quite comfortable. And as dated as the place looks from the street or the rooms, from within the pool area, it's a great layout and you don't really notice it. And who spends their beach vacation in a pool lobby or room anyway?

We enjoyed the pools, the beach and the 3 minute drive to St. Armand's Circle for meals, etc. We never attempted to eat at the hotel. (There are basically things to do in every direction without spending more than 15 minutes in a car.)

The ocean view was marred from inside by the dated windows and terrace door, and the terrace was shared, so think twice before you pay more for an ocean view. However, now that I now what I'm in for, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JerseyShoreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff is accommodating. The rooms are clean but only on the surface. Updates in all aspects of the room are needed. The gounds and beach are well kept. It's a big space but much updating is in need for the price they charge guests.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmb0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Wonderful views, food, service, staff !!!
We had a huge wedding party
Everyone was thrilled!
Fresh flowers in shiny clean lobby
Eggs Benedict were amazing
Great food
Staff sooo accommodating!
People have been working there for a long time- they are happy. Family feeling

Room Tip: Courtyard and beachfront king!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elissa1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

If your a beach person this is the place for you. The Helmsley is a rear gem. The beach is groomed and the beach staff have your chairs and towels out exactly were you want them every day. The tiki bar is staffed by Kelly and Missy great bartenders fun people. Our housekeeper was Carolyn she kept the room sparkling. My husband lost his I pad( it fell out of his briefcase), John a staff member found it and hand delivered it back to us. Thank you John!!! The front desk was extremely helpful when I needed contracts scanned and emailed. The list just goes on and on. there are so many people that made my vacation special I just wish I could list them all. The Helmsley may not be a 5 star hotel but it has a 5 star staff and they will make you feel like a 5 star guest.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniseMatolcsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We just returned from a 4 day stay at the Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel and here's the good and the not-so-good. The good is location. Right on the beach which is about the best beach I've ever been on and price which for a beach front property is a great deal. The staff was very helpful and friendy. The food at the pool bar was pretty tasty and eating on the beach was so fun. So here's the reason I rated this average. The condition of the property is dated...very dated. The room reminded me of the motels I stayed in as a kid in the 70s. I believe there are updated rooms, but we did not have one. It was like stepping back in time, but not in a good way. The other thing that reminded me of the old days was the smoking. There were ashtrays on every lanai! My kids asked what they were because who has ashtrays anymore? So that was weird and uncomfortable. Would I stay there again? Not sure. If there is an updated room, then probably yes. But I doubt I would be eager to return to the 70s again no matter how close to the beach!

Room Tip: I'd ask for an updated room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I spent a short stay at the 'Sandcastle Hotel' and I wasn't sure what to expect. It was a fun spot to stay on the beach. Don't expect new, it older and a little ruff around the edges but it has atmosphere! And when they ask if you want a view or not, be careful what you choose because your room could be facing the parking lot/ramp.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k4pana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 48 in Sarasota
2,067 reviews
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
188 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Property: Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing