We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Hotel Facilities just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you are looking for a relatively inexpensive beach front hotel, you can't beat the location. Open the door and Lido beach is right there. Walking to St. Armand's circle would be a long walk, but by bike it wouldn't be that bad.

We checked in May 20th and when we got to our room the ceiling was leaking due to the A/C unit. There was water on the floor. We called the front desk and they sent somebody right away but we requested a different room. No problems there-99% of customer satisfaction is solving the problem. The next morning however, my wife lost all hot water in the shower and the drain was backed up. We called the front desk and they again sent somebody right away. The drain was fixed and they explained that the hot water supply was down and would be back up in a couple hours.

Bottom line: Our purpose was to be on the beach and we weren't in the room a ton. So the hotel was fine. But 4 star it is not! And the price was really good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pscsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,457)
There are newer reviews for Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 1,457 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2013

Everyone seems to want to be at the beach Memorial Day weekend and what a great time we had at the Helmsley Pool Bar! The food is great and you can't beat the location. After we imbibed, we went for a swim in the lovely warm gulf and then back to the bar for more laughs with the 2 awesome female bartenders who seemed to know just about everyone there on a first name basis. All in all a great experience!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for a week, it was bliss. Hotel is an older motel-style, so don't expect lots of flash. But it offers everything you need for a great beach holiday. A gulf front room is definitely worth it -- beautiful view, right on the white sand beach. Newspaper delivered to your door, in-room coffee maker and small fridge -- pick up some groceries in Sarasota and have breakfast on the balcony every morning. Staff were very friendly. Free limo service to the shopping/restaurant area at the north end of Lido Key, or walk to it along the beach. Local bus stop is right at the front door, easy way to get to downtown Sarasota (about 15 minutes away).

Lido Key is very quiet, a pleasure -- but go elsewhere if you're looking for nightlife.

The beach and the water are great -- a very slow walk-out in the water, so a great spot for people with young children or anyone who likes the water but is not a confident swimmer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 83Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The outdoor area was by far the high point of this resort. The private beach and pool area made this vacation very enjoyable. On the down side, the rooms showed their age and need updating. The pool bar was only open until sundown and the indoor bar had a definite Lounge feel complete with a one man band singing oldies. If the updated their rooms and bar areas this could be exceptional.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kabish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We paid for a Gulf front room and were so pleased with this decision. Our room was on the ground floor and opened out almost onto the beach. The room decor is a little old fashioned, however the room was very clean and had all the facilities we needed. In any case, this was more than made up for by the super friendly and courteous staff and the beautiful view from our room. The beach is stunning: white sands, lots of sea birds and very quiet when we were there. The sunsets were beautiful. The pool area looked very nice and we had a meal in the restaurant which was good. If we ever get the chance to come back, we'd definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it - especially the Gulf front rooms!!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Acorn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights happy for it to have been longer. Had large well fitted room with balcony overlooking the beach. Lovely to wake up to the sound of the sea. Bathroom on the small side and needed some attention but this and bedroom very clean. Food, breakfast(good choices) and evening meal very good and staff friendly and helpful.Staff on front desk polite and helpful too.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the block facing the lovely beach and water and the view is probably best above gro...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights while on vacation with friends and so happy we chose the Helmsley. Beach view room is a must! Free covered parking, incredibly friendly staff, best beach on the key for sure! It's a traditional Florida coast hotel/motel and although dates it is charming and super clean! Balcony was amazing, walk to the beach was about ten feet! We are breakfast there both days and loved our server Lynn! Perfect white sand beach, two great pools. Saw several manatees while swimming in the gorgeous green/blue water! A three mi it's drive to St Armands circle and many great restaurant options do close by. Only downside were the very uncomfortable double beds. Would definitely return!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradybunch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
217 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,125 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $169 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing