We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed with a friend at the Helmsley Sandcastle for 4 nights. We were 40 year old women looking for a budget friendly beach destination. We did not pay extra for a view so we faced the parking garage which was not a big deal to us. The room itself was your basic 2 full size bed setup. It had a newer flat screen tv and a mini frig. The decor was quite average and clean. The only thing that was a bit annoying was how much noise we could hear through our door as people walked by. The hotel room doors go directly outside and not into any hallway. The reception desk workers were for the most part very friendly and helpful. The hotel food I tried (quiche and quesadilla) was delicious! The beach location was really nice. It was an easy drive to St. Armands Circle. We rented bikes on one occasion and rode to the circle. We also went for a short walk across the rode on some nature trails. This is the kind of place that has regulars that come back year after year or even decade after decade. It is not a party hotel. I did wish that the 2 bars were a little more lively however. They were both too quiet for my taste. The two pools were nice and warm. I have no major complaints about my stay. If you want a low key hotel on a beach without glamour than this may be for you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jchristine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

755 - 761 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at Helmsley Sandcastle many times and we love it at the Helmsley. Not the top luxury hotel but clean and priced right. We love the area and go for very long walks out to the end of peninsula. Plenty of shelling areas for the kids, sand dollars plentiful and a variety of shells. Long Boat key has many places to go to .. Shopping only 5 minutes away and some very good restraunts. Only minutes away from one of the best beaches in the United States "Siesta Key Beach" You have to go for a day or afternoon. "Daiquiri Deck" is not far from Siesta Beach it's a fun place to have one of dozens of frozen drinks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark and Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The location can't be beat, the food was good, the pool was warm. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great beach location, far from the noise, but close to attractions.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lmirkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arrived at hotel on 10th January 2013. First room was old, dated and over looking car park, not impressed at all, did not feel safe. Called front desk, and they were happy to show us two other rooms with a Sea View, we chose room 465 and whilst it was still a bit dated, it was 100 times nicer than first option. We paid an extra $260 for the total of our 6 night stay - it was well worth it. You can sit on your balcony and watch the sunset at 6.00pm each night.

The hotel is a bit old, and could do with a refit, but guess this would cost to much. It was however kept spotlessly clean by the team of housekeepers.

The pool area was OK, it has a pool bar, and they serve complimentory snacks at 4.00pm each day.

They offer a free shuttle into St Armunds Circle between 7am and 11pm every day. Justin and Jason, both nice guys. They will drop you anywhere you want, when you are finsihed give them a call and they will come back and collect you in their very smart Silver Cadilac.

The hotel has a restuarnt / bar lounge. Never ate in restaurant, but did go into the bar on first night, food Ok, live singer, he was OK too sadly the female bar tender was not. She made us feel as they we were an inconvienience to her evening. and could just about be bothered to speak, never went back again.

Lovely restaurants in St Armunds circle, recommend Crab and Fin, also Tommy Bahama bar serves fab cocktails.

Room Tip: Pay extra for Sea View, it was worth it. We had room 465, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A reasonably priced hotel compared to those around it. Friendly staff. The beach is great and they maintain it better than some of the surrounding properties. We would go there again. Nice breakfast but suggest dinner in town. Beach is huge and great for long walks.

Room Tip: Pick one overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I recently stayed at this property for three nights with an old friend from college. We paid a little extra for a fourth floor gulf view room, which was well worth the extra cost. The room was very nice with a small sitting area, suitable table and chairs and chairs on the balcony. Granted this isn't a typical "Helmsley" type property but it also costs far less. Everything is clean and well maintained. The staff go out of their way to help you. The guests seem to strike up spontaneous conversations (if wanted). Both the pool and the beach were lovely. The breakfast buffet is a real deal at $10 a person. For our other meals we went into Armand's Circle or Sarasota proper, both destinations are a 5-10 minute drive.
This hotel gave off a very pleasant relaxing vibe. The guests ranged in age, there were a few children, and many guests from Europe. I would recommend it to anyone, think vintage Florida with calming palm trees and blender drinks on request without any piped music or Disney glitz.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tchs_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The property has several buildings with different views, we faced the Gulf and the view is spectacular. Although the rooms are a bit dated, you are actually on the Gulf & not across the street. Sunrises from the room entry walkway, sunsets on the Gulf-how great is that? Newspaper in the morning, reasonable room service for breakfast on the balcony, and an extremely pleasant staff made our stay terrific. We will be back.

Room Tip: Face the Gulf for spectacular rooms with balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Loral H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,205 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
948 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $174 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing