We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Mid-century modern hotel. Perfect location on Lido Beach. Two doors, one opened onto the beach. Very clean and wonderful, accommodating staff. The pool restaurant was very good for breakfast and lunch. Be aware this is a smoking hotel. We were put into a smoking room when we arrived, my husband is allergic so they moved us to a beachfront room with a slight upcharge. Better to book through the hotel directly to get the room you want.

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnecticutDivegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,472 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were on a 14 night travel through Florida ,all hotels were booked via Tripadvisor agents.
This was our 3rd hotel,when we arrived with a prepaid voucher for a gulf view room,we were told sorry not available by a very stern lady.They offered us a pool view room ,totally unacceptable, I had to point out to them that the room was prepaid so hey needed to find us a
gulf view.
Eventually found us a room,
Not a good reception by them,but a good location

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Recently I spent a long weekend with friends at the Helmsley Sand Castle on Lido Beach. This an older motel-style accommodation. We stayed on the second floor of a two-story section with outside entrances (i.e., no interior corridors)--haven’t stayed in a place with this set-up in ages. There was no elevator, which wasn’t a problem for me, but could be for others.

Our room was of adequate size with two double beds, two comfortable chairs with small table between, a desk chair, and large TV. The room was clean though the furniture was quite dated, rather worn, and drab. The mattress on my bed was firm and extremely comfortable. The room had a large walk-in closet with a small refrigerator. We had two sinks, one within the bathroom, the other just outside with a large, useful counter. All the plumbing worked, but the fixtures were rather old and hot water in the shower was limited at times. Sound-proofing could have been better as we could hear the baby in the room next door as well as folks on the walkway outside the room. The best feature of the room was the small balcony! We had a lovely ocean view and enjoyed the sunsets while sipping wine.

The hotel is in a beautiful location right on the beach. This made it easy to take a long, early morning walk. We didn’t try either of the two pools, but others appeared to enjoy them. The grounds were well-maintained, but not especially pretty (or maybe it was too early in the season to expect much). The lobby was bright and modern with a facility for printing airline boarding passes. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant one day. It was excellent and reasonable in price! Ordering off the menu turned out to be a much better choice than the buffet. There is complimentary wi-fi throughout the hotel, but I didn’t try it.

Staff in the hotel and restaurant were very pleasant and friendly. They always stopped to say hello when they passed us on the grounds.

The hotel is located just over a mile from St. Armands Circle with its many shops and restaurants and an easy 15-20 minute drive from downtown Sarasota.

Given its modest price and excellent location, this hotel/motel, though far from the most modern or luxurious, was a great choice for us.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Route128North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

After reading some of the reviews of this hotel I was apprehensive about my stay, the ratings ranged from 5 stars to 1 star, so here is my opinion. I would stay here again, you can't beat the price, this hotel is just fine, it has a great location and you have free wifi and parking. If you are look for an upscale place this isn't for you. The hotel is on a beautiful quiet white sand beach on Lido Key, it has two nice pools and pool area with a bar. It has a motel quality feel, the rooms have Florida decor but they are kept clean, the walls are thin and you can hear people next door and anyone walking by. Service is fine, helpful staff, free beach chairs on the beach, umbrellas are $10. Hotel is one mile from some really good restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NYGella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

If you like to walk into a double room bed hotel room with semen stains on BOTH throw pillows and shams this is the hotel for you. I was disgusted and brought suspect pillows and shams to the manager at the front desk who agreed to change them without apology or anything when we both knew what they were. Then some manager of sorts knocked on our door, came in with new linens and then yelled at a housekeeper in front of us to make sure that the linens were changed properly. Everything was shabby. I would never go here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kimberlyraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

My family and I traveled here to relax and take 5 days off from school and work. Overall it was fantastic.

The location itself is great; you get a private beach, two swimming pools, a bartender (that knows how to whip up a mean pinna colada), and a restaurant. The staff is very friendly, and for the most part you the workout room is empty, and the kids leave the pool around 5:30.

The down sides are the rooms, they are small, the rooms are small, the beds are too small, and the bathroom is even smaller. Overall for the price I would have to say it’s a steal.

The workout room is their but the machines are noisy, and the dumbbells only go up to 20lb weights.
They give you a balcony with your room, but they keep the lights on all night, so if you want to relax looking over the ocean at 10pm there is a light shining down in your eyes. The paint is also chipping on the outside of the building and it seems that for most people, they get a view of a pool and some grass.

For us, we got room 224 and had a nice ocean view. It was fantastic and the price is right, so overall I would recommend staying here next time you go to Sarasota.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the #220 - 235 (higher floors). Those have excellent beach views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I wasn't sure what to expect as the hotel is described as "dated" but it was great! Pools were nice. Beach location couldn't be better! It was great to lay in bed and listen to the waves! Not your typical chain hotel but well worth it. It is my favorite place to stay near Sarasota! We had an upgrade to a Beach side room and that made the stay even better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sw80Elvis_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
4.3 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,205 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
948 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach

Address: 1540 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236 (Formerly Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel)
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $174 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tropical paradise at the Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach in Sarasota, FloridaSandcastle Resort at Lido Beach has a relaxing sunny resort flavor, with a storybook seaside setting on a 600 foot strand of private, natural white sand beach on the Gulf of Mexico.Sun. Sand. Swaying Palm Trees. And Great Service, Too. You'll be treated to thoughtful touches, such as a morning newspaper and a small refrigerator for chilling beverages and snacks. Free wifi is also available throughout the property. Plus the pleasures of outdoor dining for both breakfast and lunch are virtually right outside your door. What's more, our recreation staff can provide personalized sailing lessons. There's a convenient Gift Shop on premises and we're within easy walking distance of popular St. Armands Circle, with its fine shopping and entertainment attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helmsley Sandcastle Sarasota
Sarasota Helmsley Sandcastle
Helmsley Sandcastle Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing