We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2011

We were at the Holiday Inn over Christmas. The hotel was very reasonable and our room was quite large with a small balcony overlooking the gulf. The location is spectacular; it is a short walk to St. Armand’s Circle and right across the street from beautiful beaches with fantastic sunset views. Unfortunately, our room was in dire need of an update. We had a gulf view room with a king bed, a small fridge, table, chairs and a pullout couch. There was plenty of space but everything looked a little run down, from the carpeting to the furniture – including the chest of drawers that had a series of odd holes drilled into the top. The small bathroom was most in need of an update with old fixtures and floor tiles, a slightly moldy shower stall and a cracked tank on the toilet. If you are not expecting much and price is right, the location can’t be beat.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HobokenGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2011

Thank you for comments regarding your recent experience at our hotel. Our location is most definately our best feature, and we are the best value on Lido Beach. We are in the early stages of updating the property and furnishings. You will see a change soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,091)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,091 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2011

We spent two nights here last month, during the abnormally cold snap between Xmas and New Year's. I don't really like St. Armand's Key, which is what you have to go through to get from Lido Key to the "mainland" (it's tacky, crowded and touristy), but the experience of just seeing that amazing Gulf view out of our window was at terrific joy. It would have been so much the better if we'd been able to swim or wade comfortably, but we don't always get what we want.

The hotel wasn't cheap, but rooms were decent-sized, with little terraces. And it did have a nice sense of comfiness to it. I'd stay there again, I think, were I to return to Sarasota; I just don't think I will return to Sarasota.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melted_snowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2011

Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent visit.It was certainly a chilly week when you were here! And we have the location, location, location. The beach is our best feature. And we do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We all enjoyed our stay,great location, beach and shopping.The staff were very helpful and you can see the sun set from your room, WOW..Loved the pool. What is it with the room doors ? My daughter 11 years old could not open it and I had trouble. My only complaint , but the heavy doos did way on me after a while.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boston1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2010

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with our hotel! We know that our best advertising is the word of our guests! The guest room doors are heavy to serve as noise barriers for our guests, and regardless, still should open and close easily. We will follow up on that! Watch for specials and please fan us on facebook! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

My wife and I wanted a quick 4 day weekend in October before the cold midwest winters arrived. We have been coming to Lido Key for several years but never stayed at the Holiday Inn. WE WERE NOT DISSAPOINTED! The staff was so friendly, the rooms were top quality and the views were outstanding. The first day we stayed around the pool staring at blue skies looking out to the gulf. We didn't want to leave. The 7th floor restaraunt and the poolside drink/food area were great. The location of the Hotel is perfect for short walks to shopping and other restaraunts. I would recommend this place to anyone who needs a warm and friendly place to relax and enjoy. YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED EITHER!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LMD281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2010

We are delighted to know that your stay was such a pleasure. We appeciate your sharing how special this hotel is with everyone! We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2010

So the bathroom may of been tired,the restaurant so under sold with not so good food but fantastic views and very friendly staff (some serious marketing is needed here)but to just fall out of bed collect your deckchairs and hit the beach in under 5 minutes is a start.Then to leave the hotel and walk for 5 minutes tops and you are in the a classy shopping area with a very diverse selection of restaurants,had great fun in cha cha coconuts.To wake up in the morning and have coffee on the balcony watching the dolpins and pelicans really dont know what people find to complain about.What road, that isnt a road, we wandered over that very same road loads and never had to wait for traffic.The only down side of room was noisy air conditioning unit.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molly280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

My husband and I spent Labor Day weekend at the Holiday Inn-Lido Beach to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. I had planned out this little getaway about a month in advance, as we needed somewhere close (due to time constraints of my husband's travel schedule), but we wanted to truly make it a special weekend. Yes, we could have stayed at one of the pricier hotels on the island, but from reading the reviews of the Holiday Inn, it seemed this would be a great choice. Also, my husband is a Platinum in the Priority Club Rewards program, so staying at hotels where he is a member of the rewards program is often high on our list.

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend, and the hotel truly lived up to our expectations. The updated decor and bedding was nice, although it would have been nice to have bathrooms a little larger. The room was roomy enough. It didn't feel crowded (we had a room with 2 queen beds, instead of one king), so it fit the bill just fine there, even though it would have been nice to have a little more room, it was fine. The balcony was really nice (our room was a "Gulf View" one) and we really enjoyed sitting out there (it had 2 chairs and a small table) watching the waves and sights on the Gulf, both for sunsets, and also for the lovely, magical quality that the lighting of sunrise brings up and down Lido Key. The first morning we watch scores of dolphins playing (we'd brought binoculars, so that made the viewing even better) out in the calm waters---a real treat.

We did eat dinner at the Sand Dollar restaurant at the top of the hotel our first night of the weekend. We'd also read about this place, and that it is probably an undiscovered place, due to the fact that it's in a hotel and just far enough away from St. Armand's Circle, that it goes unnoticed. We had a very pleasant meal there, with supurb service and enjoyed an "early bird" (though it was 6:30---their early bird specials go until 7:30, which was nice) special 3 course prix fixe meal. The views of the Gulf and the beach from the restaurant windows were spectacular.

The location of this hotel is wonderful, as St. Armand's Key can be a bear of a place in which to park once it hits 10 a.m. or so, and it was an easy walk from the hotel to this trendy shopping/eating area. It was easy to get to the Mote Aquarium and to Sarasota proper, as well.

All in all, we had a great stay at this hotel, and we paid far less than we could have at other places. Yes, the hotel is not directly on the beach (you walk across a two-way street to get to the beach), but when you've viewing the beach from your Gulf-view room windows or balcony, it's as though you really are right on the beach. Minor detail that really didn't matter. There is also so much to do in the area that one isn't spending huge amounts of time in the hotel anyway, so this Holiday Inn has enough to satisfy. A lovely weekend for a great price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2010

We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday/ anniversary weekend with us. You have complimented us so greatly! And we will be looking forward to seeing you next year, or much sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

We booked the Hotel about 5 days before our trip and when we got there they told us the pool was not in use but we could go down to the Lido Beach Resort because they owned that Resort (wish we would have stayed there).....the Resort was very nice and Pools were great right on the beach....but I think they should have told us before hand......The room was ok did see a bug but I guess to be expected.......we didn't plan on staying in the room alot we were there for the beach there is not alot to do but St.Armands Circle was nice to walk around and good food... ate at Tommy Bahamas and the French Resturant........we went to a Comedy Show @ McCurdys lots of fun great show and cheap......drove down to Siesta Key Beach....so beautiful the sand is cool and like powder.........And don't miss the Ellenton Outlets fun day of shopping......They staff was very friendly....but we would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2010

Thank you for sharing your comments in regards to your September visit. Sad to know that the renovation of the pool was not shared with you at the time of booking, and very pleased that you enjoyed the Lido Beach Resort. Its a great location!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
961 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
275 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $246 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing