We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“untitled (so there tripadvisor!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Just back from a 3 nighter at this Holiday Inn, with excellent weather thrown in. I've seen some reviews regarding remodeling of this hotel and some inconveniences some have complained about. I see signs throughout the hotel about the remodeling going on but i did not see nor hear any of it. The beer is cold at the pool bar and the cheeseburgers are excellent. They ain't cheap but if you want cheap drive a mile or two away into town itself and eat in a parking lot. Otherwise, i'll take a cold beer of coca-cola and the cheeseburger at the pool bar with the view and the Gulf breeze in my face.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

We are so with you on the cold beer at the pool bar! Thank you for your compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,050)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

480 - 486 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here in December for 4 nights after visiting the parks in Orlando. The location is fantastic with an incredible beach across the road. I've visited Mexico, Thailand and Malaysia plus several European beach resorts but the beaches in this area were some of the best I've ever seen. The sand is powder white with a snow like texture and most of the beaches were empty. Bliss!!
From the hotel it's a short walk to the shops and restaurants of St. Armand's Circle which was very handy.
The rooms in the hotel could really do with refurbishment. Our room was quite musty and the decor was tired. One thing we really would have liked was a light on the balcony so we could sit outside and not disturb our infant son sleeping early evening.
Our rate included breakfast which we really enjoyed as the food was good and breakfast is served in the rooftop restaurant with stunning views. Kristina was our server each day and made us feel very welcome.
Overall we enjoyed our stay but expected much more from the room, given the rate we were paying.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank aliglobetrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear aliglobetrek,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area and the breakfast options we offer. We're sorry you were not well satisfied with the room accommodations you received. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife, daughter, son-in-law and I took a trip to Lido Beach for just a night. We were pleased with our choice of hotel right from the start. We used reward points for our stay, so the night was free. We were greeted by an extremely friendly front desk person. She informed us we had been upgraded to a bay-view room. We were located on the sixth floor overlooking a beautiful beach. We were on the beach about a half hour after arriving. Beach was powder white sand and there was plenty of room to spread out. After a few hours on the beach we returned back to the hotel pool. We were welcomed by a large pool with a "tiki bar" adjacent. The water was crystal clear and the temperature was perfect. Debbie, our extremely friendly bartender/waitperson, took very good care of us while at the pool.

We had decided to go out for dinner, so we didn't make it to the top floor restaurant for dinner. Judging by its location it must be a gorgeous view for dining. We were only three blocks from St Armand's Circle, so we walked there for dinner.

There were four of us in our, nicely appointed, hotel room and had plenty of space to relax. There was a nice sized balcony with chairs and a table to really appreciate the beach and gulf.

Glad we stayed at the Holiday Inn and would definitely stay again if in the area in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrylatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Great! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Prices for this hotel are vey high for the quality of property, but here it is all about location. Across the street from Lido beach and a few blocks from excellent shopping and restaurants. The room had been recently redone with new carpet, linens, etc. but the bathrooms here need to be gutted and the air conditioning unit should be thrown out and replaced with higher quality. Built in the 70's and showing wear. We picked this hotel as it was home base for a wedding and near the reception. I might be spoiled-- even Holiday Inn Express rooms are nicer. They clearly do well based on location as staff is sub par from most hotels. Wouldn't really recommend to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean otherwise you will be looking at the parking lot
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

We welcome your feedback. We do have a one of a kind location. We are working now to improve the condition of our guest rooms and guest room bathrooms through out the property. We know you will see a difference upon your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Spent 5 nights there for a family vacation. Great beach and pool.....best part of this hotel is the staff. Could not have been friendlier from the front desk to the staff at pool bar to room attendants. Best of all were the servers at breakfast every morning....great ambassadors for the hotel! We look forward to revisiting....splurge for the view!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Wow! and Thank you! We are so fortunate to have a great team working here, and we will make sure that your praises are shared with them. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel is located right across the street from the beach which I suppose is how it stays in business because other than that it's a total dive. The whole building is in major needs of updates, the outside, the lobby, the pool area...the whole time I felt like I was in a depressing bad 80's movie. There is nothing modern about this place...the airport Holiday Inn in Albuquerque is the Four Seasons compared to this place. We paid an insanely high price in late March for our room with a beach view, and the view from the balcony was nice but that's about it. The room was ok...but dirty and the sliding door to the balcony was broken and sketchy. Some of the staff were nice but a couple people, especially the night crew, were rude and miserable. I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it to anyone unless you pay like $100 or less for the room.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to share that we are updating the hotel in the course of the next few months. We will do our best to keep all of our guests informed of these changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I am writing this review to inform others of my experience because I rely entirely on trip advisor reviews when choosing my options.
Upon our arrival and throughout our stay until the moment we walked out the door every single staff member was pleasant, courteous, professional and accommodating. I did get everyone's name but I would like to acknowledge Kara, Pat, Jeremy, the female bartender, the nighttime security guard, housekeeping, maintenance, and all the others working there.
We stayed here from 4/4/14-4/6/14 as a family of 7 which included 2 older adult women and 5 teens. We reserved 2 double queen bed gulf view rooms and added a rollaway to one room. We were on the 2nd floor facing the gulf and the view was exceptional.
Both rooms were newly refurbished, neat, clean, attended to early in the A.M., contained a safe and small refrigerator, an adequate sized balcony with 2 chairs and small table. There were no complaints about the room. The shower pressure was good and water did not pool in tub as others have stated. We found beds exceptionally comfortable.
The pool is of medium size, adequate, clean, well maintained, beach towels are plentiful for pool or beach, lounge chairs and few tables with umbrellas and tiki bar for drinks and food served by a nice bartender women.
The restaurant upstairs does have fabulous panoramic view of gulf. You can order breakfast either as a buffet for about 14.00 which includes beverages and eggs made to order such as omelets. or order off the menu ala carte. They also serve lunch/dinner. Good food and service from the restaurants staff Kristina, Michelle and 2 different gentleman making our omelets.
The beach is just a few easy steps right across the street and pedestrians have the right of way and people do stop and its very convenient.
Once on the sand there is a gentleman not affiliated with the hotel but he discounts price to hotel guests for rentals of nice sturdy lounge chairs and umbrella which he also sets up for you for $5 chair/$10 umbrella. Beach sand is clean, maintained and water is comfortable.
There is free and adequate onsite parking, wifi and computer/printer, courtesy luggage storage upon checkout for later flight travel and poolside freshwater showers.
When looking for evening activity it is a 2 block easy walk from hotel to St. Armands Circle which is where the eateries, ice cream, yogurt, shops are located and you can get a map of it from front desk. On the beach 2 blocks south there is a beach concession serving good fresh food and drinks reasonably priced.
I had to get urgent medical care while there and there is a walk in clinic also located at the circle available also on weekends, good to have just in case.
If this hotel is within your budget then you will be satisfied. I am looking forward to returning. I have stayed previously 3 times at their sister property next door which is also very nice but much more expensive. The same room with a kitchen will cost you $200. more per night.
Thanks Holiday Inn Lido Beach miss you and hope to return sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NycMtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Wonderful! Thank you very much for sharing such kind remarks about our team! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,125 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
217 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,512 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 50 in Sarasota
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $195 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing