We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel but, Location, Location, Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel but, Location, Location, Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The beach and views are great. It's walking distance to St. Armands circle where there is something for everyone from all walks of life. From the budget minded shops and deli's to the high end boutiques and fine restaurants it's all within walking distance from this hotel. Great for families, large gatherings, or short weekend get a ways. Who spends majority of your time in the hotel anyway? It needs serious updating but the staff is friendly and accomodating. Spend a little on the the hotel and spend your time at the beach and then shop, dine, and drink to your hearts content.

Room Tip: You have basically 2 choices. Gulf view or parking lot view. If the budget allows, pop for the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WannabeIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are working to improve our property and will do our very best to share these exciting updates with our guests -
Kind regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    367
    188
    78
    40
See reviews for
278
394
26
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we stay for 2 night at this hotel, we pay extra to have ocean front, the view is awesome, the location is closed to st-Armand. You could find good food at this circle. The bed are very comfort, but the bathroom is a little bit old. You feel dirty in the bathroom but it is clean. The restaurant at the 7 floor is the best for view, you could have the best view for the surrounding, especially for the sunset. The food is ok, don't ask much, we just want to have a nice view close to the window. You are inside has food and a good company, the food is optional.

Room Tip: If you have an opportunity, ask for the oceanfront and the higher room (6floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank best t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you! We are working to improve our hotel and our food offerings. We know you will see a difference on your next visit, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here Oct last year and have just booked to go again this year.

Most of the other reviews are correct, it does need a little bit of attention, but as soon as you wake up to that Gulf view you're relaxed and don't care that it isn't completely modern.

I was very concerned last year before arrival because of some negative reviews, but so pleasantly surprised.

Breakfast buffet was good and surprisingly the Mahi sandwich I ordered around the pool was amazing! Happy hour drinks were strong, and that sets you up for a nice evening stroll down to St Armands circle to enjoy food and shopping. We'll be going back to Tommy Bahamas which was a favourite of ours last time we were there (great cocktails, food and fun service).

You must get a gulf view room, makes the whole stay fantastic.

We're going back Oct this year, straight from the airport and I'm sure it will be the perfect way to start a Florida holiday.

Room Tip: Get a gulf view, I can't imagine what you'd get to see on the other side of the building. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Che77London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Love this! Thank you so much for your praises of our special hotel. We are working now to update the property, and you will see a difference in October.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fl
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

First of all here is and why I (and presumably others) can't give this place a full excellent/5 star rating: fantastic location and views, but with very old appointments. However I feel like this also keeps the costs down! If this was updated and modern throughout, you'd easily pay $250/night for this place.

Pros: gulf view is phenomenal with large sliding glass doors and windows to enjoy the view, literally steps from the beach and 5 min walk to St. Armand's, room is large, bed is comfy (nothing special), restaurant and bar on site, room service, free wifi, nice tv, free parking in an area where parking can be tough, 10 min drive to downtown sarasota and Mote Marine.

Cons: All decor and furnishings are very old school, wifi is too slow for netflix etc (2-3mbps) and not apple tv compatible, bathroom small and needs to be redone, must do gulf view, I imagine city view would be ok on 5/6 floor but its a parking lot view on lower floors.

Bottom line, we'll be returning soon and if you don't expect a swanky Manhattan hotel, you'll be thrilled with your stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Radioheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you - we are working to improve our guest rooms, so that the hotel experience is as good as our staff and location. And we greatly appreciate your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Located on Lido Key just a few steps from St. Armand's Circle which is made up of dozens of shops and restaurants to please even the most discriminate taste. The Hotel staff was superb and took care of every need. The beach is directly across the street with crystal white sand and beach chairs for rent by the day. The pool was refreshing, perfect for a hot afternoon dip. Pool side bar offered great libations at a reasonable price. A short cab ride from downtown Sarasota to see a play or dine at Marina Jacks. I recommend this hotel to everyone, families, groups, couples. If you can, upgrade to a suite on the 7th floor, the extra room and private elevator are worth every penny. Will certainly return!

Room Tip: 7th Floor Ocean Front Suite if you can! Private elevator and amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TurboVol89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much - we love to know we get it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Wonderful location in walking distance to many restaurants and shops and across the street from the beach. Staff very friendly. Not updated so take that into account when looking at prices. Very clean. They have chairs and beach toys in the lobby to borrow for the day so you don't need to bring your own. There are no corner stores or groceries on the island so be prepared to drive a distance to get anything.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ilovecincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you! We are working now to upgrade our guest rooms, and know you will see improvements on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
251 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

You can't beat the price especially with the gorgeous view of Lido Key beach. The hotel is in walking distance of St. Armands Circle, which is great. Hotel is clean, but rooms are nothing real special. They offer free beach chairs and toys....first come first serve. My hubby ordered room service one evening during a storm; however, received the wrong food. The hotel staff isn't real friendly either.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetheBeach821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are so very sorry that you did not find our staff friendly - we work hard to be a warm and welcoming team for all of our guests, and are usually very successful. Sorry about the bad weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#4 of 46 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 stars 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
5.1 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing