We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain for the Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Bargain for the Fantastic location”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been going to the Longboat Key/Sarasota area for Xmas and Spring break vacations for over 15 years and previously stayed in rented condos on Longboat, big enough for me and my three kids. For the past two years I have been going during non-vacation times, without my kids, and just needed a place convenient to Longboat and Sarasota -- Lido Beach! The Holiday Inn is literally a short three block walk to St. Armand's Circle. I have family at the southern end of Longboat and in Sarasota and both are within 10 minutes by car.
The hotel could use updating (I stayed in some updated Holiday Inn Express rooms in NJ and MA which were excellent) and initially had to request another room and request a refrigerator. Once settled in with a king size bed and a gulf view we were satisfied. Older yes, but over $100.00 per night less than nearby hotels. It's not the Ritz Carlton, but it cost half as much.

Room Tip: Insist on a gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you! We are the best value on Lido Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    421
    203
    83
    47
See reviews for
322
454
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are local residents and wanted a get awaY but stay close to home for our anniversary. This hotel is good. Beach is directly across the street. Beautiful sunset. The best for us was the location to St Armand's circle. We walked to it and had dinner at Crab and Fin. Nice restaurant but I would recommend driving to Chart House just a few miles away. Hotel service was very friendly. Room was clean and no loud noises. Older building but we would stay again. Has restaurant on top floor with all glass to view the ocean. We had a breakfast buffet and it was good. The bed was nice and they have extra pillows!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdkanddmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
What a great idea! A beach getaway in your own backyard! We are a special spot for a short escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We ventured into Sarasota for two nights and were thrilled to find the Holiday right across the street from the beach for such a low price ($169/night) at the top of the season in mid-March. The room was extremely clean, updated, balcony view, and my only "minor" complaint would be that the bed was not that comfortable. You were given a choice of soft or firm pillows which I have never seen before in any hotel -- and we travel a lot. The staff was over-the-top helpful and courteous from the front desk to the restaurant. The breakfasts were great and their roof top restaurant has a great view and their Sunday brunch is well known in the area. We found it so convenient to St. Armand's shopping district (without having to go over the causeway), but even going over the causeway to visit other areas was a piece of cake. One extraordinary attraction was the Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey Museum and Mansion. It is a must to visit the museum as the miniature-sized recreation of an entire circus from moving from city to city to the three ring circus tents and everything else imaginable that goes on to put on an event of this magnitude. Loved it, loved it, loved it. I would return to this hotel and area without giving it a second thought.

Room Tip: The balcony view rooms are very nice. The hotel is on the main street, but we heard no traffic nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Wow! Thank you. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your short visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We recently stayed at this property and I felt good enough about it to give them a thumbs up rating. This is an older building which shows. But, boy, if they aren't doing their best with what they have. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. It is being kept clean and minor updates were seen. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: If ocean view isn't important, select view of Sarasota for lower price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geog50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We deeply appreciate the recognition that we are making the most of what we have in this property for our guests. And will share your kind words with our team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My lasting impression here was that they tried to change my reservation from the room I had actually reserved. After some waiting, they gave me what I was supposed to get in the first place, but I didn't appreciate them making me feel as if I owed them for doing so. The rooms were fine, nothing really good or bad. I wouldn't stay out here again, not because of this hotel, but because when you need to leave Sarasota, it takes forever to get east from here if you try to do it in the morning or late afternoon. If you're going to do that late in the afternoon, allow at least another 30 minutes to get where you're going.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tc3399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We welcome your honest comments. The seasonal traffic here can be a challenge, especially when leaving the island. Thank you for considering us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here a week and had a great time. This was our third stay here. Can't beat the location across the street from the beach, and walkable to a very cool downtown. Restaurants and shopping are great. Staff is is very attentive and knowledgable. Not the fanciest, but the views and location more than make up for it. And a special thanks to Debbie at the Tiki Bar. Our 6yr old already wants to go back to see her next year.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Vnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Wonderful! Thank you so much for choosing us for your vacations again and again. Our Debbie is a gem, and we will be sure to tell her how much you enjoyed her service at the pool bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Third time we stayed at the Lido Beach Holiday Inn 3/26-29 with our grandchildren (13,9). Great location, beautiful beach just across the street, breakfast buffet, short walk to St. Armond's Circle, what more could you ask. Warmer weather?!? Nice rooms. Ours was a queen double with plenty of room for Grandpa and three women. Only suggestion I would make is that the bathroom could use a makeover. It was clean with plenty of towels and everything worked, but a spruce up would make my grade excellent. Each time we look for input for a place to go during Spring Break, our GK's say Lido Beach Holiday Inn. We're Floridians so its an easy trip for us. I agree with "capmity" that this is the best kept secret, so why are we telling everybody?

Room Tip: Gulf views are the most expensive, but sitting on the balcony with a cold drink and watching a sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnordst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Wow! That one blew us away. Thank you for making us your vacation destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 48 in Sarasota
2,099 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,470 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
205 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 48 in Sarasota
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing