We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a trip to Sarasota”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location for a trip to Sarasota”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Lido Beach hotel several times now. If you are expecting the quality of the higher end hotels, you will be disappointed. However, if you are looking for fantastic views of the Gulf of Mexico, a beautiful and uncrowded beach, comfortable/clean lodging, and the ability to park your car and leave it for the weekend then this is a great hotel. I have travelled here at different times of the year and have always had the same experience. My most recent trip was in March for Spring training baseball games. There are two clubs very close by (Sarasota and Bradenton) as well as several others within an hour drive. And those in the family who weren't up for baseball, spent the day at the BEAUTIFUL beach and pool. In the evening you can walk to St. Armand's Circle where you will find a ton of eating options, as well as shopping.

And as mentioned above, I wouldn't put the hotel on the level of the high end hotels, but I would also say it is on par with other Holiday Inns I've stayed at. Keep in mind, this is an older hotel. That being said, in all of my stays it has always been clean and the staff has always been friendly and accommodating.

The restaurant on the top floor has a great view to enjoy breakfast. I've never had dinner there, but I imagine the sunset views would be amazing. If you are a person who enjoys sunsets, you must spend at least one evening on the beach to see it. The hotel also provides beach towels and chairs for the beach. The chairs are a bit worn, but there is also someone at the beach who rents chairs for $7/day and umbrellas for $10/day.

Looking forward to another trip back to Sarasota next year!

Room Tip: I've always paid a little more to have a Gulf View room. You can't beat the sunsets from yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwhjr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We just love that you visit us again and again. Thank you for choosing our hotel when in Sarasota. It is a special place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    412
    199
    82
    43
See reviews for
309
446
28
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at this Holiday Inn for one night. Extremely comfortable room, very clean. Helpful Reception Staff. Excellent position on the beach. In the warm weather this hotel would be very popular - it wasn't warm when we were there. Free use of Computer in the Lobby which I feel is a must if you are travelling. Breakfast was included in our room tariff and this was in the Restaurant - a very full buffet breakfast was offered including an omelette bar, a very large selection. Although the cost was included gratuities were expected. Highly recommended for position to walk to Longboat Key which has many individual shops offering gifts, clothes, restaurants etc. Less than a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the car park, not at all noisy. The best rooms overlook the beach but are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your short visit. We have had some unusual weather this March, in the summer, it is just HOT here. We hope you make it back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Md
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hotel was nice - nothing fancy - but was on the beach - yes there is a small road between the hotel and the beach but very little traffic. Some parts of the hotel are showing its age, but the staff was very friendly, accommodating, and helpful. Room was clean and maintained well. Dining Room on 7th floor offers a nice buffet breakfast and the view can't be beat!

The beach at Lido Key is fantastic - I thought March would be a busier time...we almost had the beach to ourselves many of times! Drove down to Siesta Key - just a couple miles - and it was beautiful as well. Went down to the end of Siesta Key - Turtle Beach and stayed a few hours - sand there is very different - more grainy and a lot of black sand - very beautiful - not as powdery or white as the north end of Siesta or on Lido. Facilities provided on Turtle beach are nice - bathrooms, picnic areas, playground - just behind the dunes off the beach.

Drove in to Sarasota numerous times. Went to a few Os spring training games - a lot of fun, very nice park! Navigating the downtown area is very easy to do - with a map of course!

Dining out in Sarasota offers many many choices - we ate at Daiquiri Deck and Crab & Fin Restaurant (nice!) in St. Armand's Circle; Half Shell Oyster House (downtown); O'Leary's Pub & Grill (bayfront area);

Room Tip: Gulf front rooms - ask for a higher room for the best view - ask for a mini fridge to be added to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachMamma64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Your photos are great! Thank you for sharing just how special we are on Lido.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is an older Holiday Inn, if you are familiar with them, but with some nice upgrades. And very reasonable rates.

Top floor restaurant with killer views of ocean and of Sarasota. We only had breakfast there, which was good. Nice indoor/outdoor bar, half in the lobby, half in the pool area. Nice pool, but ding for no hot tub. Decent little gym. Our balcony looking out at the beach was heavenly.

Good service and friendly staff. Some nice touches like a rack of folding beach chairs, you can grab one on your way to the beach.

Location is excellent. Across the street from miles of nice beach. 2 blocks in one direction is the Lido Beach rec center where you can rent stuff and a weekend crafts market. 2 blocks the other direction is St. Armand's Circle, a cute 4 block area of shops and restaurants and lots of life.

We had a very good time there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adriantm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are pleased to let you know that we are updating our pool deck, and planning on a hot tub by the end of the year. Happy to know that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed this past weekend. This was our first trip to Sarasota and we were Happily surprised! The beaches are gorgeous, immaculate and uncrowded. We've lived in FL for 30 years and never realized what we have been missing, there's so much to do and see in Sarasota. That's the plus side, the negative was the room. We had 2 rooms one had a beach view and was fine, not great but just ok. The other was pretty dirty, there was a 1/2 in. of dust on everything, the curtains were filthy, bathroom old and dirty and the view of the parking lot wouldn't have been quite so annoying if the plastic furniture had at least been useable. Did I mention the toilet didn't flush? I did call and complain and was told that they would take care of it right away, however when we returned from a very long day at the Ringling Museum it was not done. The other thing we found annoying was the pool area, no hot tub and zero atmosphere. I realize that whenever you stay at the beach especially one this beautiful you will pay for that privilege, however I expect when paying a premium price to, at the very least have a clean room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so very sorry that you were so dissapointed in your visit with us. We certainly can do better for our guests, especially as you brought these items to our attention. We are as dissapointed in ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay it was for my wedding night. But left some cd's in room and called and left several messages to housekeeping and never got response, I'm pretty sure they found them but never returned calls......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terbo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. To better assist with the return of your items, please call the hotel and ask to speak with our guest services manager - we will see what we can find.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent two weeks at this hotel in February of this year. We enjoyed our stay. It is our third year at this location. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Couldn't have asked for anything more. We feel safe in this area and the beaches are truly beautiful. The pool area was clean and the bartenders at the tiki bar were great. All food we ordered at the bar was delicious. Breakfast buffet was good but needs something new. Exact same items year to year. Maybe some fresh waffles or pancakes added? Same for dinner, needs a menu update. The view from this restaurant is awesome. Feel they are not utilizing their great potential. You are within walking distance to St. Armand's which has trendy shopping and great restaurants. Overall a great place to stay and we will return February 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patfanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind compliments. We rolled out new dining room and bar menus at the beginning of March. We have also added an omlet station to our breakfast buffet. As we continue to grow our menus, we know you see the difference next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,023 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
914 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing