We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We've visited this hotel quite a lot in the past and have always loved it. However on this trip we had already stayed at 3 other Holiday Inns prior to arriving here, and quickly realised that this was the worst of the four.

At all three other hotels we were treated like minor Royalty due to my husband's Priority Club Platinum status. We were given room upgrades, coupons for breakfast, a toiletries kit in addition to the ones already provided, and just generally pampered and made to feel very special!

We arrived here and were given the standard city view rooms - we had booked 2 rooms. My husband went down to reception and asked if they had any upgrades available, so we were then given two ocean view rooms. He shouldn't have had to ask though, everywhere else we stayed we were allocated them without asking. Our room was fine, no problems, but my sister and brother in law's room was small, and the bathroom was grotty with a really nasty looking stained toilet, several cracks here and there and some black mould.

To sum up, we now feel that what we thought of as one of our favourite hotels isn't that special after all - yes, it's in a great location but so were all the others we stayed at - and we are now unsure whether we'll return again. We've already booked to go somewhere else in April, and it's looking unlikely that we'll return in November as we'd expected to.

Room Tip: High floors are best whether you have ocean or city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bmh51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Thank you for your very honest remarks about our hotel. We recognize that we are an older property. We also have better practices of rewarding our Platinum Priority Club members. We will take your remarks under consideration.
Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

671 - 677 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Wanting a break from the cold weather we spent a great week at the Holiday Inn on Lido Beach in Sarasota, Florida. OK so the hotel is not fancy or recently renovated, but it is clean. The rooms are large and adequately appointed. We took the Gulf side rooms at a modest premium and never tired of waking in the morning to a stunning vista of the beach and surf.

The location is what it is all about. Just exit the hotel and cross the road and you are on a beach of powdery white sand where you can literally walk for miles. There are no beach services other than a man who will rent you a recliner or chair but the hotel provides chairs, and has a good snack and bar facility in the lobby. Get dressed and walk about five minutes and you are in St. Armand's Circle, one of the areas best shopping districts to say nothing of a large number of first class restaurants like the Crab & Fin, Columbia and Le Colonne.

The staff is friendly; there is a lovely outdoor pool, an exercise room and a top floor restaurant called the Sand Dollar where you can breakfast or dine with a fabulous view. A great place to spend a week relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a Gulf View room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

We thank you for your wonderful compliments of our hotel and team. Thank you and we hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had the pleasure of visiting Lido Beach this past week. We decided to stay at the Holiday Inn w/my husband's travel points. You couldn't ask for a better view!

The hotel is a bit dated-but the great service from the staff more than made up for that! We needed additional pillows & they were delivered w/in 10 mins. We also ordered room service & that as well was delivered in less than 15 mins. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet on the 7th floor over looking the beach. The hotel also has beach chairs in the lobby for it's guests to take to the beach. It was only about 70 degrees when we were there-so we didn't use the pool-but maybe next time!

The hotel is w/in walking distance of St. Armands Circle which offers so many great specialty shops & restaurants. But the absolute best part was that this hotel is situated on street that the beach is off of. So you walk out of the hotel & across the street & there is the beach!

Room Tip: 5th floor & below you have a balcony on ocean side that you can sit on & enjoy the ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for sharing such a positive review of our hotel. We have a great staff and a great location - and we are very proud of both! We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great location- across the street from the beautiful beach and a short walk to St. Armand's square. We didn't eat the at the hotels restaurant, but next time would probably choose the breakfast included option, as there are few places for breakfast nearby. The room was very comfortable, even if a little dated. The view from our Gulf side room was beautiful, worth the extra money.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a Gulf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeanCTConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

We appreciate your praise of our property and location - and know that you will find great changes in 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last year and was amazed at the value given location. I returned during same week as last year. I feel the same as last year. Amazing view at an amazing price. Very friendly, helpful and engaging staff. Very accomodating.

Room is clean, food is decent. Bathroom is a little cramped, but very clean. Only oddity is stale smell in room but the sliding glass door helped with that. My room rate was incorrect at checkin but corrected without issue.

I would stay here again. Price unbeatable for unobstructed view of Gulf with clean room. Also beach is powdery white - really nice. I am a discerning traveler now on a budget and very much appreciate my lovely stay. Nice not to sacrifice everything when on a budget.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dctraveler6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you! We hope to see you in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and I booked a one night stay on the beachfront property to enjoy Christmas Day in Sarasota. Upon walking up to the property it was clear this is an older property, however the accommodations were very pleasing. Adam Simard exceeded our expectations and upon learning it was our 20 year anniversary really went above and beyond the call of duty. The bar service was also very warm and welcoming in addition to the restaurant on the 7th floor. The food and service was 5 star. It is apparent that the General Manager, Kym has an incredible team and should be proud to work with the staff that has the genuine care and comfort of their guests in their minds at all times. We will return for sure.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Efrem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

Wow! Thank you! We really love to hear when we get it right. We are blessed with a talented and thoughtful team, who will go out of their way to make our guests happy. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is located literally across the (quiet and minor) street from the public beach, and five minutes' walk from St. Armands Circle - an area of upmarket retail and restaurant businesses. The area is quiet and beautiful - ideal for a beach holiday.

The reception area is large and our welcome from the staff was friendly and efficient. We were acknowledged as IHG Platinum cardholders and our booking for a basic room was upgraded, free of extra charge, to a substantially larger room overlooking the ocean. All the staff we encountered, including at reception and at breakfast, were attentive and friendly.

The hotel has the standard features you would expect from a full-service property; bar, restaurant, health and fitness centre, outdoor pool, and there is complimentary WiFi throughout which was fast and effective.

Standard rooms are large enough and reasonably clean. The room we enjoyed was a good 30% larger than standard - huge in fact - and perhaps because of this size, appeared a little spartan. The addition of a sofa (for which there was plenty of space) might have given a feeling of even greater comfort and luxury. The decor was clean enough except for the ceiling which appeared in need of a fresh coat of paint. This, coupled with oldish fitments in the room itself and the bathroom gave a somewhat "tired" impression. I'd say this property's rooms are quite overdue for some expenditure.

In common with Holiday Inns in the US generally, the 6 ft.bed was excellent, enhanced by the "pillow menu" - a choice of four very different types which should suit most. Standard equipment including TV, coffee maker, refrigerator, iron, hairdryer etc., were all present and correct. Rooms in the hotel overlook the (free) car park on one side and the beach and ocean on the other. I gather the ocean view commands a small price premium. The hotel and rooms are air-conditioned throughout and the entire property is non-smoking. Adjoining rooms have interconnecting doors, so two or more rooms can be made into a "suite" of sorts to accomodate a larger group.

Breakfast is not normally included in room rates; it can be pre-purchased as part of an inclusive package, or can be bought as required. Two levels of service are offered; a full a la carte range, and a buffet. The price of the latter includes beverages and all you care to eat from a limited range of standing hot and cold food, plus an omelette station offering freshly cooked to order eggs in various guises. The inclusive rate allows a maximum value of $15 per person (at the time of writing) which will just about cover the buffet, but would struggle to cover much from the (expensive) a la carte selection. If bought separately, I'd describe the breakfast proposition as way over priced. The package rate we paid was good enough, though. I didn't notice any obvious other places in the immediate area where one might take breakfast, so I'd say that options are very limited. We did not take dinner in the hotel.

We stayed at an off-peak time. Room rates here vary hugely. Even at the time we stayed, we paid over $185 per night (including breakfast and all taxes etc.) which is probably around double what a similar property in the city of Orlando (for example) would cost. I did note that at busier times, one can pay substantially more here for a basic room. I have little doubt this is solely because of the location, and the fact there are very few other hotels in such an advantageous position, but given that the hotel is, as I say, a little "tired" and overdue for some serious refurbishment work, I have to say that it's not good value. I think the owners should look to spend some of that high revenue on their property.

In summary, this is an expensive place to stay but the location of the hotel is idyllic, offering unobstructed views of the Gulf - the sunset is spectacular - and the area itself is delightful. The rooms are good enough but overdue for refurbishment, and beds are very comfortable. The breakfast proposition is expensive, unless pre-purchased as part of an inclusive rate. And our IHG Platinum status was properly acknowledged with a complimentary room upgrade. There very few alternatives in the area, and, as we didn't experience any problems as such with our stay, this has to represent a reasonable choice for this location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SCAN60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kymberley M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2012

We welcome your very honest feedback. We know we have a special location as well as a special service team. And we are working on the standards and condition of our rooms as well.
Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,141 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
225 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 50 in Sarasota
938 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $207 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing