We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2011

The Holiday Inn Lido is an old Motel. Bathrooms are original, stucco ceilings, loud ice machines in hallway, dated lobby, no real service like someone offering to help with your bags, or hold a door open. The pool area was a box and as bland as the rooms and lobby. I actually checked out a day early. My wife hated the place. I went up to check out the restaurant to find wonderful views. But again a dated diner with drop ceilings. I didn't eat there. For over $200 a night, I would pay $100 more not to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connoisseurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

We regret that you did not enjoy our facility. We certainly recognize that we have work to do. Even more regretful is that you did not experience the level of service we all work so hard to deliver to each of our guests. Kind Regards -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

837 - 843 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2011

The discrepancy in reviews suggests that the rooms must be partially refurbished. We stayed in a beautiful large, ocean view room with king bed. The furnishings all seemed quite new, and it was a really nice room.
The hotel is on a quiet spot, right on the beachfront, convenient for everywhere in the area, and a short walk to St Armands Circle where there are a number of restaurants and shops.
We booked through hotels.com and, whether or not we got lucky, could not have asked for a nicer room for the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you specify a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2011

Wow! Thank you. So happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us! Hope we see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

This Saturday, my daugther had a Cheerleading competition in Sarasota so we decided to stay overnight in Lido Beach, what a perfect place to spend a relaxing weekend. The hotel was percfectly located just a couple of blocks away from St. Armands Circle. You can go and have dinner and a few drinks and dont have to worry about driving. The staff was wonderful and accomodating, Debbie at the Pool Bar was Fantastic, the hotel had free beach chairs and umbrellas which was very convenient. I would reccomend this hotel to anybody looking to spend a relaxing weekend. I will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLERMONTFLORIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2011

Thank you for sharing the love! We are working hard to be a great hotel, and are so happy when our guests have great escapes! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Our recent stay at the Holiday Inn Lido Beach was a most pleasurable one! After reading many negative reviews, our visit was preceded by some anxiety and apprehension; however, those feelings were totally unnecessary. The hotel was absolutely perfect, providing everything you needed for a wonderful vacation. The staff at the desk couldn't have been any more accommodating or pleasant, and our room was clean, not too outdated, with a gorgeous view of the gulf beach. Our dismay at a road being directly in front proved to also be a thought not worth worrying about. The walk to the beach and view were better than many have with their hotel splat on the sand! There were beach chairs, umbrellas, and even beach toys (buckets and shovels, floats) provided to guests which is normally available for a steep fee per day rental, or maybe at more expensive upper class hotel resorts. An example of the staff going out of their way to accommodate their guests could be when I realized I had no way of opening my wine and, upon inquiring at the desk if the bar or restaurant would uncork it, WHALA!! Here you go---they provided me with a corkscrew. I turned to go open my wine and return it and they told me to just hold on to it until I checked out! ACCOMMODATING! The pool was lovely with music and a pool bar, the restaurant was satisfactory if you didn't want to venture away from the hotel, St. Armand's circle was a short stroll keeping you out of the traffic, and the sunsets were breathtaking! I would definitely recommend this hotel AND do hope to visit again!

Room Tip: It's well worth paying for a gulf view room!!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
Thank Nancy088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2011

Wow! Thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit. You really describe what we are all about, and we appreciate it. Hope we see you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

My mother and I enjoyed our 3rd vacation at the Holiday Inn on Lido Key! We were greeted by familar faces and welcomed back! Kudos to the front desk staff, the wait staff (Idella, Kristina, Ann) and Pablo who was delightful! Also, housekeeping did a fabulous job. Our room was comfy and clean and the view is spectacular. We had many relaxing days by the pool and enjoyed the beautiful gulf view from our room. The beach was amazing and we enjoyed our walks and talks! Thanks so much for everything. The Holiday Inn is lucky to employ such dedicated and friendly people. Thanks again!
Room 706

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank room706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2011

Thank you for sharing the love! We are so happy to be a part of your special memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

This Holiday Inn is located right across the street from a real nice beach. The beach is clean and there are lifeguards on duty. The hotel offers daily beach towels and chairs.

The staff at this hotel are exceptional. They were friendly and attended to concerns immediately. Very easy check-in and check-out. Our room was spacious and had a great view. The room was clean and well maintained. May need an update but everything was functional. Real solid wooden doors that kept out corridor noises.

The hotel is an easy walk to St. Armand's Circle where there are shops and real nice restaurants. Very clean and safe area. However, the hotel has a 7th floor restaurant with a great view and the food is very good and reasonably priced.

I would stay at this Holiday Inn again when in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Thank you for the praises of our staff and our hotel! We know how valuable vacation time is, and are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

For a hotel, rather than a resort, this place has great service. The staff is very nice. They have free beach chairs and towels for daily use (first come, first served). The location just doesn't get any better. The beautiful beach is right in front and Saint Armonds Circle is a five minute walk for shopping and dining. All they need is a bike rental shop.

Reserve a gulf view room. You will not be sorry. If you have older kids, you can watch them on the beach while relaxing on your balcony.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gotwhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2011

Thank you for sharing your compliments about our team and our great location. Bike Rental Shop is on our "to-do" list! Hope we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
951 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,235 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
260 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $222 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing