We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn @ Lido Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2011

We booked a waterview room through Hotels.com and got a room next to the elevator and ice machine over looking the parking lot. When we asked to be moved we were told that all the rooms were booked and we had to complain to Hotels .com. Not a good start. That said, the location was great. Walk out the front door and you are on Lido Beach. You can walk to the center of town in two minutes. The rooms are a bit dated, but hey, it's a Holiday Inn. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyhutch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2011

Thank you for your feedback- we appologize for the confusion on your booking. We certainly hope we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

826 - 832 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

I am very conflicted on this hotel. On the one hand, it is smack on the beach, a two minute walk to downtown and the front desk was incredibly nice - on the other hand, the rooms are circa 1985, the bathroom fixtures were rusty, the wall paper peeling off the walls and the doors were paper thin between rooms (we had people partying in the room next to ours). If they just updated the rooms and decor I could recommend the hotel to people.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cglasb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Thank you for sharing thoughts on our hotel. We are pleased to know that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed our location. We recognize need for improvement, and are working on this as well. We do hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We stayed here for one night before moving to the Lido Beach resort (which was beautiful) & were thoroughly disappointed. Rooms were dirty, Bathroom was filthy, Staff was unhelpful, Lots of Road Noise from the street etc. I would NEVER stay here again. Overpriced for what you get, as you can spend a little bit more & be directly on the beach (this hotel is located is across the street).

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CapeCodBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

We deeply regret to learn that you were so dissappointed with your short visit. We thank you for your comments and will use them to improve our services and offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

My wife Maggie and I have used the Lido Beach Holiday Inn on 4 previous visits and are returning there for a 5 night stay on 27th April this year.
We have always been absolutely delighted with the staff, view, surroundings and quality of service offered.
While some people may have experienced problems I always feel it makes sense to bring this to the attention of the Hotel and have no doubt that any concerns would be addressed.
I do not regard us as experts on the Hotel in any way, but have to say that we have never experienced any of the problems spoken about on a couple of posts on TA in our previous 4 stays during our annual trip to Florida.The very fact that we are returning to Sarasota Lido Beach (as many of our fellow guests do every year) speaks volumes.
Please try it you will NOT be dissapointed!
Harry

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunlovers3Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Thank you for the compliments! Looking forward to seeing you both again in April!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Hotel is good with a great location, right on the beach and walking distance to lots of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

Thank you! We appreciate knowing that we do get it right! And we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We checked in at 1 am and checked out at 10 am, even though we were booked for 4 nights. I really don't like writing such negative reviews, but this hotel was seriously bad. It's very dated and worn out. The bathroom was Motel 6 quality with a dripping faucet I heard all night. There was white "stuff" (mold?) in the a/c unit, which smelled. There was candy in the guestbook and a dirty fork on a chair. The entire length of the wall was un-vacuumed. The phone was dirty.

The manager came out to speak with me when I checked out. I outlined all the above for her. She did not offer money off. I paid around $206 for the 9 hours and didn't even shower. She offered me use of the pool for the remainder of the week. She was very nice and seemed receptive to my points, but I feel so ripped off.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. It needs to be completely renovated - and cleaned.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaxNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your photos and details of your stay. Again, we deeply apologize that we did not meet your expectations. I want to assure you, as we discussed at your departure, that yours is the exception in guest experience. I regret to learn that you feel adequate compensation was not offered, and encourage further conversation regarding same.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

We chose the Lido Beach Holiday inn this time instead of a condo or beach house because we were here only a week and decided not to worry about cooking. (Restaurants are within easy walking and are varied from American to Cuban to Italian, and reasonable to posh.) The room has a fridge so we were able to keep drinks and breakfast food close at hand. We paid a bit extra to have a Gulf view and it was worth it. The back of the hotel looks over local 1-2 story houses, so probably shows Sarasota on upper floors, but waking to a beach view and beautiful sunsets made our room worth the $20 per night extra. We used the balcony every day to read, watch the beach, hear the water, etc.
This hotel has seen better days -- the rooms are very outdated and carpets could be renewed. However, they keep it clean and are typically good at providing for your needs -- from beach towels to corkscrews. The king bed had 6 pillows.
What makes this stand out is the location. It is right across Ben Franklin Drive from the best walking and shell-hunting beach in the Sarasota area (Lido Beach). It is a 5 minute walk to the shopping center of town (great stores from souvenirs to high end clothing) where the restaurant choice is fantastic. Some locations have live music at night.
The restaurant on the top floor has a good menu. We ate there once and found it ample in quantity, good in quality, although not special.
The hotel has a pool and coin operated laundry.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Compuvideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILidoBeachGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

Thank you for your compliments of our staff and hotel. We do have one of the best locations on Lido Beach! Come see us soon for another beautiful sunset.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 50 in Sarasota
2,141 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 50 in Sarasota
938 reviews
5.1 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
226 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach

Address: 233 Ben Franklin Dr, Sarasota, FL 34236
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $207 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a barrier island, off the coast of Sarasota, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach is just steps from the powder white sand of Lido Beach and only two blocks from over 140 upscale restaurants, shops and galleries on St. Armands Circle. Featuring a sophisticated, yet 'Florida Casual' decor, The Holiday Inn Lido Beach combines the relaxed atmosphere of a beach resort with the amenities and services of a full service hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Lido Beach
Sarasota Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing