We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Timberwoods Vacation Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timberwoods Vacation Villas
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed at Timberwoods for the last 3 yrs and find the villas 'Home from Home'. Very well equipped and furnished. Great location for shopping and getting about. 2 mins from Siesta Key Beach which is absolutely fabulous. Would concurr with other reviews that it suits the older generation. Hope to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have returned to Timberwoods consecutively for the past 12 years and still love it! It is our home away from home! Great location, love the pool and the villas. See you next year!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Great place to stay for a relaxing holiday - I went for several years. The independence of your own property and shared amenities like a pool and club house. Villas are very clean and spacious. Location is great being near to Sarasota Square Mall and other shops and restaurants. Does cater mainly for older holiday makers - but that makes it ideal for a relaxing time (no children running around - sorry parents, but we don't all want that inconvenience :-) ).

Room Tip: The cul-de-sac streets are pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

This is a really nice place with wonderful amenities. However, the adults in our group are ages 34-50 and we have two very well behaved children. We have been reminded more than once that the rules at the pool are quite specific, strict, and allow very litlle fun to be had. The residents for the most part are not welcoming toward us and it honestly shows in their faces as we enter the pool area. We are not wild, crazy, over-the-top, or loud. We have found that this resort is well-suited for the older community. If you are looking for nothing but quiet,it is lovely. The villas are quite spacious and well equipped. The location is great and only a short distance from beautiful Siesta Key Beach. I would recommend a different resort if you are age 65 or younger. Definitely I will choose more wisely when planning a week away with our friends and our kids.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KD C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stopped here for a week in may and found it all very pleasant. The villa was a very good size in a nice quiet area .One thing we did find was the kitchen was starting to show it's age, although some of the appliances had been updated,but this would not put us off going again. The villa was very clean and only 5 minutes from the swimming pool which was spotless. In all a very good find thanks to Trailfinders. If you are looking for somewhere slightly off the normal Florida tourist spots but only ten minutes to the fabulous beaches of the gulf coast this is well worth considering.

Room Tip: Ask for a Villa near the main pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simplyredBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed at Timberland Villas in Sarasota while our daughter attended a class at the hosptial in this area. We brought our 5 month old grandson and thought we would have a great time. The place we rented was very nice but another owner let us know when we got to the pool (late one evening) that our grandson could not get in the pool! We had not intended for him to go swimming but the attitude of this individual with the manager present made it impossible to enjoy our stay! Would NEVER go back~

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Disappointed34618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Timberwoods Vacation Villas, responded to this review, June 17, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for submitting your review to Trip Advisor about Timberwoods Vacation Villas. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was disappointing. Timberwoods rents villas and our main focus is to make sure your villa is in great shape and exceeds your cleaning standards.

The situation at the pool that you mentioned is very unfortunate and I can assure you that the person you spoke to was not Timberwoods Vacation Villas' Manager or even an employee. I do not go to the pool at night time and we have always been friendly with children. Personally, I am a grandmother of a 8-month old baby girl and I would never behave in such way with any guests. Every Summer we have little league teams stay with us and they occupy all of the villas we rent.

There have been cases where owners who live or are on vacation in their villas (which we do not manage) have acted as higher authority without merit. We do not possess the power to rule how other adults behave at the Pool area, unfortunately, their actions affect us and we have asked for them to halt the hostility.

Once again I apologize for the inconvenience this caused and, even though you say you are not interested in coming back, we hope to have the privilege to have you as our guests once again. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Teresa Blanco
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

Really enjoyed staying at Timberwoods and would definately come back. The resort is not too large so you don't feel overwhelmed with people. The pool and outdoor facilites are great and we never had to wait to use anything. The villas are lovely and very spacious. The grounds had lots of mixed wildlife, turtles, ducks, otters and lots of different birds which was a pleasure to see and although you feel secluded from noise and traffic etc when in Timberwoods you are also very near to local malls, restaurants and Siesta Key beach and turtle beach are only a short drive away so it is very centrally located for anywhere in Sarasota and the other nearby Gulf beaches of Venice in one direction or Anna Maria Island in the other.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
2.7 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.7 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
6.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timberwoods Vacation Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timberwoods Vacation Villas

Property: Timberwoods Vacation Villas
Address: 8452 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34238-2936
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Timberwoods Vacation Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous Siesta Key is just 2 miles away! Located in 25 acres of wooded pines & a tropical park-like setting, you will enjoy walks along two scenic ponds inhabited by a wide variety of wildlife such as Great Blue Herons, it's Birder's Paradise! 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, washer, dryer, living & dining, private garage w/remote entry, screened-in furnished patios. FREE WIRELESS INTERNET, DVD, Cable TV, and FREE PHONE CALLS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Timberwoods Vacation Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timberwoods Vacation Villas And Resort
Timberwoods Vacation Villas Hotel Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing