We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lido Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We attended/stayed at the Lido Beach Resort for a wedding. This place has a beautiful beach, and is at a great location near St. Armands Circle. The hotel itself is aging, and the price seems a bit steep for how old the property is but I guess it's all about location. Our room was large and clean, one complaint was that the shower head had no water pressure and was basically dripping out, my husband called the 2nd day we were there and the shower head was replaced very quickly while we were out at the wedding ceremony. I'm pretty impressed with their customer service in general, the staff for the most part is friendly and helpful. Banquet staff for the wedding couldn't be nicer. The tiki bar crew can be a bit aloof, but the guys on the 8th floor are really nice/friendly and will stay open late if your party wants to stay. Drinks are extremely expensive, and not very strong. Food is pretty good but again pricey.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morganne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. I truly appreciate the feedback and will certainly address the areas mentioned needing some attention. I hope you will return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    442
    230
    115
    68
See reviews for
466
534
23
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I can't say enough about the fabulous staff at the Lido Beach Resort. Their attention to details is amazing! My groups and I just love staying here and come back year after year. It is a first class resort, with excellent sleeping and meeting rooms. The meals and banquet staff are top notched and really care about each individual in the group. Working with Kim Lemke the Director of Sales is such a pleasure. The Gulf of Mexico beach is just steps away and the sunsets are amazing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the Lido Beach Resort. We certainly enjoy your groups returning on a continual basis. I personally have spoken to many of your attendees and they do enjoy the hotel and amenities very much! We look forward to your next booking with us, which I believe is coming up very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

This is a yearly stop for Memorial Day. Priced pretty high and not sure its worth it. Room had really nice view but tile where cracked in the Hall Bath and Kitchen area. Not sure why when the rooms are this high a $25 resort fee is required for a bag of popcorn and 2 waters. The Tiki bar charges premium prices for less than average drinks and the Staff is way below average. Even the bar upstairs has the same problem. Last year the pool was cloudy this year looked like some yucky stuff floating around. Below average for the price

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I will certainly use your comments to continue to improve our level of service in the areas you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed at the Lido Beach Resort over the Easter holiday weekend and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in the 4 floor original building in a one room suite complete with a kitchenette and balcony facing the water, We found the accomodations delightful and as "advertised" for the price. The staff were extremely helpful with suggestions and directions. The food was very good and fairly priced. Room service was quick and got it right every time. If you want to be near St, Armand's Circle and have a little slice of "beach heaven" and don't mind paying for it then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Book with the hotel directly to get the best rooms and prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind words! I am very pleased you enjoyed your Easter weekend at the Lido Beach Resort. I hope you can return again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This place is great for a long weekend getaway. I have been going to it for several years. The rooms are spacious with refrigerators, safes, microwave ovens, flat screen t.v.'s, king size beds. the beach, pool and tiki bar are close together very conveniently. There are beach umbrella's, cabanas and lounge chaise's available on the beach. There is a very convenient shuttle to St Arrmands Circle so you just park the car in a spot and not use it again until you leave.
The only thing lacking is waiters on the beach that will take and deliver food/drink orders.
Its priced moderately so the clientele is mostly young families and mature couples. No frat house, loud hooligans around.
The place is hard to beat.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for returning to the Lido Beach Resort and for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay. We look forward to your next getaway with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Berlin, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

went to the lido again on 4-27-2014 thru 5 -3 2014 have to say they have started doing some renovations the tiki bar was done over it looks great it was a great surprise the pool area was really clean and they were watching a lot more about children in the adult pool area also they have new pool chairs and chair towel backs they also put a lot more chairs on the beach very nice the grounds were very nice and there were a lot of workers doing things all over the property. Now the bad things the rooms still need to be updated badly the bed in our first room was so bad we had to change rooms after one night. They were very good about getting us a new room. They said that they will be doing rooms over soon but they have been saying that for the last four yrs. I hope they do its a great spot on the beach but without renovations the place will not be worth the high prices that you pay .

Room Tip: if you do go stay in the south tower more money but nicer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gambler599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your return visit to the Lido Beach Resort. I certainly understand your disappointment in the renovation schedule of the rooms. I realize we have been talking about it for quite some time but I am very optimistic it will happen this year. I hope you will come back again when we have the rooms complete! Thank you for your continued patronage and your feedback, both are very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

While a great location, the hotel's services leave much to be desired, especially when the price is factored in. We returned from the beach at 5 pm one day and found the room untouched - we had to call for room service - the staff wasn't the most engaged (one staff member pushing two large laundry bins entered one end of the hall as we were entering the other - rather than wait for us, he continued on forcing us to return to the entrance), and the Tiki bar leaves a LOT to be desired. The wings were pitiful (breaded, no sauce), the crab dip resembled leftovers (and that's a kind description) and the drinks were almost alcohol free. Others have mentioned the pool's sorry maintenance - we wouldn't even consider using it, we went straight to the beach. I would not return, nor would I recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartyPowerJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very sorry you did not have a good experience. I would love the opportunity to discuss your review and your stay personally. I look forward to hearing from you and addressing your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Property: Lido Beach Resort
Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing