We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Lido Beach Resort-Will Be Back Next Yr”
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lido Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2008

We stayed at LBR for 3 nights in a beachfront junior suite.
We were initially scheduled for 2 nights and was able to check in a day early without any questions or problems. The reservation and front desk staff are very professional/ friendly and very customer service oriented. Complimentary morning coffee service in the lobby was nice touch although we didn't realize it was there until day#3. I would suggest that the check in staff let the guests know of this service.

The suite was great..not ultra fancy but very clean . It provided us with just about everything we needed. One comment would be that a full size coffee pot would be more appropriate, rather that the tiny one provided. Housekeeping was great and provided us with daily H20 bottles, chocolate mint candies and package of micro popcorn. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the morning w/our coffee and evening w.cocktails for the sunset.

The internet access was a little slow in our room. This could be upgraded as my husband was not able to do everything he needed to do on his laptop.

The property has great beachfront, pool, hot-tub..plenty of tables, chairs, lounges. There is a nice covered area near the koi pond with alot of furniture for those who want to stay out of the sun..but still have a nice place to relax. Another nice option is the adult only pool and area. Gift shop is small, but has pretty much everything you may need.

We did not eat at any of the restaurants on the property. We took full advantage of the free shuttle to St Armands Circle and ate there. The shuttle staff was superb and we never waited more than 2-3 mins either way for a ride. We walked a few times also...approx 10 minutes. We loved Columbia Restaurant, Tommy Bahamas, Le Colonne(italian) and Crab/Fins. Don't leave there w/out getting an ice cream at Kilwins-homemade and delicious .You'll know it's reputation when you see the line out the door.

One suggestion I would have is to make the pool area and tiki bar non-smoking. Being from Massachusetts where most places are non-smoking now, this was very annoying. There was one guest sitting on edge of pool, smoking, cigarette butts were left near the hot tub and heavy smoking activity at the bar. We would have spent more time there, but were unable to tolerate the smoke. Maybe a smoking area outside the fence on the end of the beach before the rocks would be better( and healthier for us non-smokers!!)

All in all, we loved LBR- great atmosphere, nice quality resort
and wonderful staff. We will return and tell others also.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank casey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2008

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and review the Lido Beach Resort. We truly appreciate your comments and will certainly consider some of your suggestions. We look forward to your return in the future. Thank you again for your comments and suggestions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,355 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2008

This is the third time we have stayed at this complex, the last time being in March 2007 now March 2008.

It is still THE place to stay in Sarasota but probably because of all the praise this hotel has had in the past I feel the management could be getting just a little complacent and are letting standards fall.

The staff through out are brilliant, the rooms great (more to follow) the setting fantastic and so convenient for everything but the general maintenance of the property is slipping.

We had a room (4007) in the tower block, a Jr Suite. Good size over all with moderate view over the pool to fantastic sunsets. The noise from the pool was very intrusive as was the sound of the fridge in the ajoining kitchen and the sound of the toilets flushing from the many floors above. The bathroom, of excellent size, and facilities was spoiled by a water leak of very long standing, from the shower. This resulted in mold and rotting wood not only by the shower but also the bathroom door frame and floor area. There was also an odd smell in the shower when not used for a few hours. We requested a room change or even paying for upgrade, "sorry we are fully booked" was the reply, this I very much doubt.

We contemplated checking out but stayed as the possition of the hotel is so fantastic.

On two occasions we went to the Cafe Lido for meals, very below standard is the only discription I can give, certainly better eating anywhere in St. Armands Circle and less cost.

Christophers Restaurant has gone to be replaced by a Grill Room, we visited but did not stay, the area was filled with convensioneers from some company or other. Americans are known to be loud in a charming way but this lot were obnoxious.

Looking out over the pool area I noticed that the same light that was not working in 2007 was still not working in 2008, other things like the Koi Pond being so green the fish could not be seen and slight smelt added to the feeling of complacency and neglect on the part of the management of the hotel.

The hotel in one year has gone from an excellent family hotel to a good family hotel and has appearantly moved into the corporate hospitality sector, much to its detriment, though hard times in America make needs must and this departure may be beyond managements control, but the general standard of upkeep is not.

I still fully recommend this hotel to Families but not to those wanting nightlife, Sarasota as a whole has none, and also recommend it to those of mature years. 75yr olds will feel juvenille when walking in the circle, this is no detriment at all, the area is charming and very gentile. And VERY child safe.

The pool is now split into Family Pool, the larger one, and Adult Pool, the very slightly smaller one, great idea. But the "Germans" were there every morning by 7.30, towels all over the place, no people, and most never turned up until afternoon to claim the sunbeds so decorasly reserved. Good management would have removed these towels as lost property when the pool officially opened.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2008

Thank you for taking the time share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. We truly appreciate your feedback. I can assure you there is no sense of complaceny. We realize we must continually strive to improve our property in all aspects to ensure our success. I will certainly share your observations with the staff to correct the items you mentioned. I apologize for any inconveniece you experienced during your stay. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

My family just returned from a 5 day stay at LBR and I must say it exceeded our expectations! The room, the views, the pool,the beach and the service were all wonderful. We enjoyed the food both poolside and at the restaurant, however, service at the restaurant was a little lacking, especially considering the price. I think once they get it all together, the Lido Beach Grille will be a top notch restaurant. I would recommed this resort to anyone looking for a laid back beach vacation with their family that has a Caribbean feel yet the convenience of Florida. I think couples that aren't looking for any serious nightlife would enjoy the resort too. Everyone from myself to my 70 year old mother and 5 year old son loved our vacation there and plan on returning next year!

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovesvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2008

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Lido Beach Resort. We truly appreciate your comments and will certainly take action to improve in the areas you mentioned. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

We stayed at the Lido Beech Resort over spring/Easter break and found the experience wonderful. We have three teenage children that never got board! There was plenty to do for everyone, the view was great, the food at the grill was very good and reasonably priced. The staff was very friendly and accomidating to our every need, (my girls paid special attention to Carlos and Edgar, so I thank them for their patience). I would book another stay there in a heart beat. It was a little expensive, but you get what you pay for in Resorts.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sher8911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2008

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. We certainly appreciate your comments. I will be sure Edgar and Carlos know you mentioned their names. They will be very thrilled. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This was our first stay at the Lido Beach Resort (March 24-28, 2008). The hotel was completely booked and busy due to Spring break for many families. As a frequent traveler, my expectations are fairly high, and the Lido Beach Resort did not disappoint. I commend the staff and give an "Excellent" rating due to this being such a busy week for the hotel, yet the service and facility were excellent for the entire stay.

We had a special (and inconvenient) request for housekeeping that was promptly and professionally responded to. This seemed to be generally characteristic of the service provided by the staff. Service at the pool-side bar and cafe was friendly and responsive. I did not feel we were being “price gouged” at every turn. The food and drinks in the restaurants and bars were very good and reasonably priced. We did not dine at the Lido Beach Grill on the 8th floor (formerly Christopher’s), but heard other guests comment favorably on the food and service.

The property itself is modern and well kept. I highly recommend a beach-front room in the South Tower. The room was very spacious for the four of us, the kitchenette is nicely equipped, and the balcony is spacious with an outstanding view. The facility itself has very attractive public areas, and other than being busy around the pools, you never really felt as though the hotel was full. The room was also very quiet at night. We may have just hit it lucky with good neighbors around us, but some good planning for noise reduction must have been put into the South Tower construction. At night, we never heard anything from the rooms on either side of us, below us, or above us. To the chagrin of some guests, the pool bar does not stay open late, so outside of the room was quiet every night after 10p.m. This is definitely a family friendly resort, however I would not hesitate to stay there as a couple. There are two pools, one of which is reserved for guests 18 years and older.

We used the Resort’s complimentary shuttle to St. Armand’s Circle on a couple of occasions, then walked back (it is an easy walk). The shuttle was always prompt and the drivers were helpful with shopping and dining suggestions. Paige at the concierge desk was great. We were not able to get a table at the Tropical Cafe at Tonny Bahama's, so she recommended and reserved a table for us at Hemmingway’s Retreat (which was excellent), and she took the time to follow-up with me on my cell phone and also left a message in the room. The Resort’s close proximity to St. Armand’s Circle is ideal. We had fun shopping and dining at "The Circle" each night.

We really had to work hard to come up with anything negative about our stay. The only thing we could think of was a coffee spill/stain on the balcony was not cleaned by housekeeping for two days, and towels were not available one morning when the pool opened (but did show up within 30 minutes). I'm somewhat embarrassed to even mention those things because they were such minor “nits” in a week when most hotels would have had a hard time handling the busy period. I think that speaks volumes about The Lido Beach Resort being a well-managed establishment with a well-trained and excellent staff.

Prior to our stay, we debated whether we should have tried the Sarasota Ritz Carlton, but have already decided to book the Lido Beach Resort for our next Florida vacation. The Lido Beach Resort is a beautiful property, in a great location, with a high level of service, and based on our experience, has earned its #1 Trip Advisor rating.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SailChicago2217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2008

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. The staff will be thrilled to hear how you enjoyed your stay, especially during such a busy period at the hotel. I apologize for the two inconveniences you experienced. Although we try very hard for perfection, there are times where we do fall a little short. I will be sure to share these items with the appropriate departments so we may improve for the future. Thank you again for your comments, they are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

This is a nice family resort, on the beach with good amenities and attentive staff. We were upgraded to a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite (no real explaination but who would complain!) and it was really nice. Your basic Florida decor, lots of pastels and tile, couches a bit old, but great beds and linens. Wonderful view of the gulf from the balcony.
Finally - an adult pool!!! The kiddies had a large pool too and it was so nice to relax without getting zonked on the head by beach balls. The outdoor cafe/bar had good burgs, salads and drinks. The beach offered cabanas & chaise ($15 day) which was ideal one day. The sun was brutal but welcoming after a snowy NH winter.
The location is close to St. Armand's Circle (on-demand shuttle from hotel) which is wonderful for shopping, people watching and good food. One night we snacked at a really cool upstairs Lebanese restaurant (Cafe Galante) and watched a beautiful young woman belly dance as we sipped wine.
If you're looking for a nice hotel on the beach, (but not up to the standards of say a Renaissance Vilnoy/St. Petersburg) this won't disappoint.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelBugNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2008

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. We truly appreciate your feedback. I will be sure to share your review with the entire team. The staff enjoy hearing from our guests. I am hopeful you will think of the Lido Beach Resort in the future when looking to stay in the Sarasota area! Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We just got back from Lido Beach Resort for a 4 day stay. We had a awesome experience. We are a family of 3. Mom, Dad and 6 year old daughter. The resort was beautiful. The rooms were spacious. We stayed in a room with 2 queens and a small kitchenette. It was perfect. We had a room that had the common balcony, which was nice, each room had 2 chairs by the door. When we put our daughter to bed, we could enjoy listening to the ocean and be right next to our room, and let her fall asleep.

The beds were very comfy! The staff was very accomodating.

We did not eat at the resort, althought the menu looked yummy! The koi pond between the 2 buildings was a fun place for our 6 year old to look for the fish and go over the bridges.

The pool was nice. It was great her being 6, that she could swim, having smaller children would not have been as easy, because there were a few steps that went down into a 3 foot section.

The beach acess was great. There are shells galore! Make sure you walk up to the public beach. There is powder white sand about 1/4 mile up from the hotel. Also, driving down to Siesta Beach is well worth the trip!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2008

Thank you for sharing your recent experience of the Lido Beach Resort. I am very happy to hear how you and your family enjoyed your stay. I will be sure to share your review with the staff. We look forward to your next visit to the Lido Beach Resort. Thanks again for taking the time to review the hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 51 in Sarasota
2,234 reviews
5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#2 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,664 reviews
4.7 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $235 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing