We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay - wish we had stayed longer”
Review of Lido Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lido Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Stay - wish we had stayed longer”
Reviewed December 3, 2007

We booked direct with the hotel for 3 nights and got a good deal. Our room was on the 4th floor of the 4 storey building and the room was brill; 2 beds and a kitchenette. When I booked, we asked for a room with a view and that was exactly what we got! Everywhere was very clean and the staff very pleasant. The pool area was very well kept by the pool staff and the beach was great, so relaxing.

Shops and restaurants at St Armands very near by and can be easily accessed by the hotel shuttle bus. They are within walking distance, but road is quite quiet and not very well lit as it runs along the beach.

The Bayfront at Sarasota is also only a short drive over the causeway with shops, bars and eateries around Main street, although once you get to the Lido Beach, you probably won't want to venture too far.

Very relaxing......my only regret was that we never stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorna,Colin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2007
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Lido Beach Resort. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit. Maybe next time you SHOULD stay longer! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    456
    238
    118
    69
See reviews for
488
547
23
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2007

After following all the glowing reviews posted about Lido Beach Resort on the Tripadvisor website I can only say "It's all true". This gorgeous property also has a very competent and cordial staff available to address any concerns as well as assist you in planning your day (concierge available until 5pm).
My husband and I shared a 2 BR/2BA suite with another couple on the 12th floor of the South Tower. The suite was spacious and immaculately maintained with a great gulf view.
Lots of little extras like in-room safe, free Starbucks morning coffee in the lobby, free room coffee, bottled water, free USA today daily as well as free local newspaper on the weekends. Also a very convenient, free shuttle to and from St. Armands circle on request.
The grounds are beautifully landscaped with 2 large pools and 3 hot tubs surrounded by a multitude of lounge chairs. There is also a very nice, breezy covered patio for those who prefer shady spots adorned with comfortable couches and rocking chairs.
We had breakfast at Christopher's twice and were pleased with service and food which was comparable in price to all surrounding restaurants.
Every morning I took a walk on Lido beach a very clean, uncrowded and lovely experience where sometimes I had the company of dolphins.
I plan on staying here each time I visit the Sarasota area.

  • Liked — Everthing
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank chattycathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2007
Thank you for your kind comments during your recent stay at the Lido Beach Resort. We love hearing from our guests. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorks
Level Contributor
252 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

We have just returned from the Lido Beach Resort, and have had a very good holiday, the hotel was recommended to us and we were not disappointed.

All the staff are friendly and welcoming, and make for a very enjoyable stay, we even had the General Manager come to collect our bags when we left, now that is service

We had a bay view room with kitchenette, the room was very clean and the kitchen fully stocked with fridge, microwave, hob plus coffee, popcorn, mints and bottles of water daily and to cap it all a dishwasher, which the maid used daily.

The bed is worth an individual mention, it is enormous and the best nights sleep we have had for ages. More storage space would be nice for a two week stay though.

The hotel has its own multi-story car park, and we never had a problem parking, the only problem sometimes was the size of American cars taking two spaces.

We ate at the different locations within the hotel Christopher’s, Lido café and the Tiki bar, and even had room service, apart from Christopher’s it was quick and easy food i.e. burger type food, every time it was good and prompt service, Christopher’s is more refined and upmarket, and have some very interesting combinations of food, well worth a try.

The Tiki bar is the pool side bar, this is the central part for the pool area and can sometimes get very busy, the staff are very good and some of the best bar staff I have seen, Laura in particular is excellent and a credit to the hotel.

The location is nicely placed for St Armand’s Circle and if you do not want to walk the sort distance there is free courtesy bus, my only issue with the walk is the lack of street lights along the road, it can be unnerving, so you maybe happier using the bus.

I have a couple of minor niggles and from reading Tripadvisor it is apparent that the management of the hotel read these comments, the first is the Business Centre, it is not really a Business Centre, with only one computer and limited access, it was difficult to gain the use on a regular basis, secondly the complimentary items in the room it was very hit and miss as to what we got, I know this is a free service but consistency would be nice. Screen doors would be nice so we can keep the balcony door open.

I would recommend this hotel without question and will be returning next year.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank prs54fmpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2007
Thank you for your comments and review of the Lido Beach Resort. It was a pleasure to help you personally. I will be sure to look in to the items you mentioned not being so good to ensure your stay is all you want it to be. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2007

We chose the Lido Beach Resort again because we enjoyed it several years ago and because it was rated highly on Trip Advisor.

Glad we did -- the King Suite we had overlooked the Gulf with a magnificant view. Very clean accommodations and decorated nicely in a beach theme. The facility is nice -- you can relax pool side or by the Gulf. When the Gulf sun got too hot, we found a place in the shade right by either of their pools. The staff was friendly and helpful, but not intrusive.

  • Liked — Location/View
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MidwestLiketoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2007
Thank you for your comments and review of the Lido Beach Resort. We certainly enjoy hearing from our guests and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2007

My wife and I wanted to take a trip for our anniversary and after reading the reviews here, decided on the Lido Beach Resort. It was a great choice and a relaxing weekend. I booked the room through the website and made sure to notify them that it was our anniversary. I reserved a jr king suite, but entered the room to find the 1br 2ba suite. The separate bedroom was a great bonus and the corner room had beautiful views out every window. The view from the balcony was well worth the room price as were the his/her bathrooms. The only issue (minor) we had with the room was that one burner on the stove didn't work and there was a beeping noise coming from somewhere? Staff came up the first night and said it was from the fridge. Wasn't constant, but a little annoying at times.

Anyway, our room was on the 8th floor and there were wedding receptions both Friday and Saturday night at Christopher's (also on the 8th floor). Neither night were we bothered by any excess noise or partying. We spent most of our days at the beach and pool. Even though the hotel was full, the pool area and beach had available chairs, towels and seats at the bar. The beach had some litter and the seaweed was somewhat unsightly, but this did not detract from the wonderful ambience. We took several walks on the beach and I would suggest wearing sandals as the shells can be rough on the feet. (I actually found a men's wedding band on the adjacent public beach and turned it into the lost/found - hopefully if finds its way home).

We also took advantage of the free shuttle to St. Armands (loved the Blue Dolphin for breakfast), the computer room and the free parking. Staff was helpful and polite. We ate sandwiches at the tiki bar by the pool and they were fine for the price ($8-10). Drinks were a little pricey (draft beer $4.50/Pina colada $8.00), but we were on vacation. We didn't eat at Christophers.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and we are planning on a return visit. The one thing that we were asked by several other guests was 'how did you find out about this place?' Almost like it was their little secret. Most people we talked to were return visitors and came several times a year.

  • Liked — Location, views
  • Disliked — Drink Prices
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank smofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 24, 2007
Thank you for your comments and review of the Lido Beach Resort. We enjoy hearing from our guests especially when they have a wonderful stay. Hopefully your comments will continue to help us get the word out about how wonderful the Lido Beach Resort really is. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2007

Great weekend getaway for me. Loved the little kitchen in my room and the pool was great...right on the beach! Glad to see an adult pool and a pool for families. Both were great places to hang and get some sun. Very friendly people here. Would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — some minor noise in room above
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FortMyersGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2007
Thank you for your comments and review of your recent stay. We appreciate the feedback we receive and look forward to your return stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Lido Beach Resort is a Gem! What a great resort in the heart of St. Armands Circle (Sarasota). This place has the personal attention and service that most resorts of comparable size utterly lack. The location is excellent, the beach and sea scape is first class. A free shuttle can take you to St. Armands Circle all day. Each room comes fully equipped with a fridge and home amenities. This place is kid friendly! The staff are constantly cleaning and manicuring the property - when you need something, they immediately respond with a smile/assistance. Please stay at this wonderful resort and get an experience that would normally cost you 500-700 a night at another resort like property. Oh yes, parking is free....Get a room in the new tower building, a little pricer, but worth the extra cost. Try to get a room on the 5th floor or higher so you can literally sit on the deck /room and see just the sea. I made reservations for April 2008 one week after we checked out. Also, when I was checking out, two sets of guest made their 2008 reservations while they were checking out. ENJOY!

  • Liked — Location/ quality of the hotel
  • Disliked — No supermarket close by. Have to drive 5 miles, but, not an Inconvenience
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Gauchoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LidoBeachResortGM, General Manager at Lido Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2007
Thank you for your great comments about our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as well as providing future guests additional information about the hotel and area. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#5 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,342 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lido Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lido Beach Resort

Property: Lido Beach Resort
Address: 700 Benjamin Franklin Drive, Sarasota, FL 34236-2011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lido Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beachfront location on Lido Key, an island in the Gulf of Mexico with easy access to downtown Sarasota. Featuring 222 suites, kitchenettes and deluxe guest rooms. Short stroll from the renowned shops and cafes of St. Armand's Circle. Beachfront pools - one for families and one for adults 18+ - hot tubs and oceanfront Tiki bar. Two restaurants - one on top of the hotel with panoramic views of Sarasota and the ocean - fitness room and 6,000 square feet of flexible meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lido Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lido Beach Hotel Sarasota
Lido Beach Sarasota
Lido Beach Resort Florida
Lido Beach Resort Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing