We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel---Almost 5 Stars” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel---Almost 5 Stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had a short stay here in June and we really loved this hotel----light, bright, immaculately clean, very friendly. Our room was just beautiful, with some Lilly Pulitzer touches in the fabrics that made it seem very classic Florida. We had a gorgeous view and balcony overlooking the pool. We enjoyed some time at the pool which was nicely landscaped. The pool bar (Hurricane Hut) where we ordered lunch and drinks was OK but didn't seem up to the level of the rest of the property. Sarasota itself has a charming downtown area with some great restaurant options and the Hyatt is well-located for enjoying downtown Sarasota. I walked around the nearby Ritz Carlton, and it was very nice, but I was actually glad I was staying at the Hyatt with its bright, fresh décor. 4.5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iowaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Thank you very much for the great review & feedback on your stay with us over the summer. I was sorry to hear that we fell a little short on your Food & Beverage experience here and I hope that we'll have the opportunity to make it up during your next stay. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    584
    192
    81
    33
See reviews for
372
601
67
369
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vero Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My company held its annual business meeting at the Hyatt this week and it was a great experience from beginning to end. The bed was luxurious, the shower was the best I've had in a hotel in a long time and the food was phenomenal. The appetizers during our cocktail party were unique and so good. Hats off to the chef.

Each staff member was courteous, helpful and smiling all the time. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Wow! What an awesome review - thank you very much! Our goal is to ensure that each guest has an experience like yours, so we were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit so much. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

First the positives - great location, stunning view from the marina side of the building, updated facilities with nice room and in-room safe, solidly built so minimum noise.

Now the negatives - (1) forced bundling of wi-fi charges into a $15/night 'resort fee' that includes kayak rentals, etc. Ridiculous. Definitely not a hotel for a business traveler with that approach. (2) Service - tried to get an early check-in and staff promised to call and didn't, waited about 10 minutes in a line to check-in, smoke alarm ran out of batteries and I don't know how long it took the engineer to replace them...I had to flee my room after 15 minutes, which seems like an eternity when there's a shrill cheep every 30 seconds. The three hours that I was gone was apparently not enough of a window for housekeeping...they came at 4 when I was back in the room so no service that day.

Conclusion - may be nice for special occasions or vacations when guests can take a relaxed approach to expectations.

Room Tip: Loved the marina view but there was some pool noise - the other side has the bay view and would be q...
See more room tips
Green Features: Two waste cans for recycling. Didn't see much else.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debra128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us during your visit to Sarasota. I was sorry to hear about the difficulty you experienced with your smoke detector and we hope that the situation did not negatively impact your stay overall. We truly appreciate your staying with us and look forward to possibly welcoming you back on your next trip to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Recently stayed here for 3 nights with my husband in an effort to be close to Siesta Key Beach but not pay the beachfront prices of the resorts right on the beacy. Overall we were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. This resort is about a 10-15 minute drive to Lido Beach and Siesta Key Beach, which are some of the most beautiful beaches I've seen in the U.S.

The hotel is very clean and our room was nice. We had a room with a balcony facing the marina so it overlooked the water and some boats. We could see glimpes of the ocean in the distance but we were not right on the ocean. We had a kind size bed and a chair, but no couch. The room was on the small side but we did like the balcony and used it every morning. Our room also overlooked the pool which was a great view. Our bathroom had a separate vanity area with a mirror and sink, and then a separate room for the toilet and shower. The room that held the shower and toilet was incredibly small, but we dealt with it.

The pool is nice and the water was very warm, but the overall pool area is somewhat small. If you want to find a quiet area away from noisy people and kids, you really won't find it here. But it was still a fairly large pool given the small space on their property. We swam at night a few times which was very relaxing since the pool was open till 11pm. They had a little fire pit area outside near the pool and one night we saw a family roasing marshmallows there.

The workout facility at this hotel is very nice and I used it a couple of times. They had a few ellipticals, treadmills, and some weights. The cardio machines had TV's built in which is always a nice plus.

The customer service here was excellent during the entire stay. Any time we called downstairs for something like an extra towel or pillow, they delivered it right away and were always courteous. We asked for suggestions at the front desk a few times, and they were very courteous and friendly.

One really cool thing I liked is that they had signs in the hotel and in the hallways to respect "quiet time" between 10pm-7am. A quiet stay at a hotel is my top priority, so I really liked that they reminded guests to be respectful of others. I must say that our room was very quiet most of the time and we didn't hear a lot of noise from other guests. One morning we did hear little kids across from us running up and down the hall screaming and slamming doors at 9am, but that was their parents' fault for letting them run wild.

We took a dinner cruise on the Marina Jack II cruise boat one night, and it was only about 2 miles from our hotel to get on the cruise. It was expensive, but I'd highly recommend it. It was a 2-hour cruise with a beautiful sunset and good food.

One tip - do not pay for daily valet parking. It's free to park in their underground parking garage. You will have to pay a $15 daily "resort fee" for wi-fi and use of the pool and some marina activities, but we didn't find that to be too expensive.

Overall, a nice hotel with good views, great customer service, clean surroundings, and modern decor. We'd stay here again if we were in the area!

Room Tip: Choose a room that is higher up with a balcony and overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
Green Features: They don't change your towels or sheets unless you ask them to, which is great.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoTraveler105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thank you for your incredibly detailed feedback on your recent stay with us! We truly appreciate your taking the time to share your experiences and it will be a useful tool for our operations teams recaps. It sounds as if you were able to take full advantage of our hotel amenities and enjoyed your time in the Sarasota area. Should your travels bring you back this way again, we would welcome the opportunity to invite you back to the Hyatt. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We love staying at the Hyatt. One of our go to place for a stay cation. We love the openness and the customer service. We love being close to downtown and the shuttle they offer to St. Armands Circle.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thank you for the review on your recent stay with us! So glad to hear you had a nice time - come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Usually - we would prefer to stay at a 5 stars hotel like the Ritz Carlton next door there. But my husband was booked to take part in a conference there, so we decided to explore ..
It is not a 5 stars hotel, but the friendly front desk made it almost as enjoyable.
We had an important dinner to attend, and the nice team arranged a hair dresser and a make up artist, to come to our room. When the hair dresser was stuck in traffic, the front desk kept calling him, ensuring, he was on his way.
The hotel is located near the new-trendy shopping area. We tried couple of tasty eateries, suggested by the hotel team, and enjoyed it.
The eatery inside the hotel is not bad at all.
The gym is OK. So is the pool.
So we paid half of what we would pay next door, but enjoyed our stay and would come again.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony, which made us feel, like we had moor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are glad that you were able to give us a try as opposed to your usual brand and hope that your experiences here will help sway your decisions toward Hyatt during your future travels. We are the only AAA 4-Diamond hotel in the area, but certainly try to provide authentic hospitality and 5-Star service to all of our guests. Thank you again for your sharing your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Had a wonderful "get-away" long weekend at this beautiful property! Celebrated my birthday and our wedding anniversary. Entire staff was extremely friendly, professional, courteous, and quite attentive. All had helpful suggestions for dining and activities in the area. The on-site restaurant had good food and good service. Breakfast buffet was outstanding -- delicious. The pool area is very unique and a great atmosphere -- waterfall -- and lots of outdoor seating. Fire pit is a nice addition for cool evenings. Great views! One side the marina, the other downtown Sarasota. Both winners! Very convenient to the beaches just over the causeway. St. Armand's Circle and Lido beach very convenient -- great shopping and dining -- unique experience. Siesta Key beach also convenient. Our room was very clean and had a modern flair. All amenities were very nice. The resort opportunities at the hotel are outstanding -- kayaks, peddle boats, etc. Good times for just a couple or for families.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review of your recent stay with us! Sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities and we couldn't be happier that you had such a positive experience. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and our potential future guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
6.5 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
4.5 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 46 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing