We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and great pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and great pool”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were staying at this hotel for a long weekend with family and friends to go to a wedding in Sarasota. It is a great hotel. It is clean. The pool is great. The hotel provides kayaks and stand up paddle board as well. It was great to spend days at the hotel with all the activities we could do. The pool area is nice.
The food there is great. We ordered food from the pool area and from the restaurant. It was good.

The service is good...except they have less staffs at the pool area. Have to go to the bar in order to order food and drinks...or sometimes we need help on the beach umbrella at the pool area, we couldn't find anyone there to help us. Water provided in the room, housekeeping provided only one bottle per day...which is not enough. Asking for a first aid kit and we were told that they weren't allowed to give it to us. Other than that, overall is good.

Room Tip: Water/pool view. Higher floor for the nice view and breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tirateerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay and the feedback on your experiences. It sounds as if you had an opportunity to enjoy a lot of our hotel amenities while you were here. We are really happy to hear about your positive food & beverage experiences here, aside from the service difficulties you experienced out at our pool. We are reviewing your comments with our guest services team as your experience is certainly not the norm around here. We are also following up with our Housekeeping team as the new Resort Fee program includes two bottles of water in your room daily, so again our apologies that this was your experience. Thank you again and please come back to stay with us here at the Hyatt should your plans bring you back to Sarasota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    702
    248
    106
    53
See reviews for
504
758
79
499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is first class. The rooms are top rate, it is on the water, and the view from my window overlooked a marina. At night, I could look at the lights of Sarasota to the left and the Gulf of Mexico to the right. It is centrally located, and quality restaurants are a short drive or walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderlustat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay here with us in Sarasota. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel as much as you did and we look forward to possibly welcoming you back to the Hyatt during your next visit to the area. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We just returned from this hotel and it was AMAZING!!! Room was reasonably priced for area (this was the overall deciding factor to stay here since Ritz Carlton which I saw from my room was $300.00 more per night) The resort fee is reasonable and includes A LOT for the money (i.e. kayaks, paddleboard, shuttle to beach and st armands, waterbottles in room, wifi in room). We got the breakfast included rate and it was good. The pool area was nice with plenty of chairs, loungers, and shade. There is a waterfall feature that adds a nnice ambiance. The hot tub was the only thing sub par since the jets were not very efficient and it was a little dirty from surrounding plants and palm trees. Not bad enough that I didn't want to get in. It is tucked away which I liked. Boat rental right at resort. If you are a runner they are very close to the Ringling bridge and that offers a very nice run with beautiful views also if you run in the am they provide water and apples after you return. Gym was nice also if you like yoga they will give you a yoga mat and you can do a video in hotel room. Walking distance to several restaurants. The shuttle is just OK. During the weekend it runs every couple hours starting at 9 and ending around 10 but on the weeknights it doesn't leave until 1pm and last chance to return is 730. I found this lacking and felt they should at least have it available on weekdays. St Armands is a 5 min drive or very easy and beautiful 3 mile walk away. Rooms were clean and pleasant to stay in. Small fridge available. OVerall great stay and I will be back again. I would recommend for couples, family, and business.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silver35012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you so much for the review and feedback on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had an opportunity to take advantage of almost every amenity here at the Hyatt Regency Sarasota. Your shuttle feedback is valuable for our Operations Team and we will be sure to go over your comments during the next departmental meeting. We look forward to the next opportunity to host you here in Sarasota!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I just got locked out of the room I am staying at with my girlfriend's family. I just went out of the room and its 3 in the morning. Tried to go back in the room and noticed my room card is not working. Everyone I'm staying with is alseep and we need to wake up at 7am for my girlfriend's cousin's graduation. The front desk told me that my room card got demagnetize probably from being next to my cell phone. They told me they can't help me. My girlfriend's family booked the room and I have no way back in unless I wake them up. I tried calling them but they must be deep alseep or their phones are on silent. I don't want make too much noise knocking on the door because I don't want to disturb the other guests at the Hyatt. I'm sitting here not knowing what to do.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ricky1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are sorry to hear about the situation you encountered, but the safety in security of our guests is a top priority therefor our policies prohibit the issuance of guest room keys without valid identification. We welcome the opportunity to discuss the situation with you further and again apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here with three girlfriends for a getaway weekend, it was wonderful! From the valet to the check in, we knew we had chosen a great place. Everyone we encountered there was helpful and so pleasant. Close to St Armand's Circle shopping, which is another must see and do! Can't wait to get back there again!

Room Tip: We were only one floor up from the bar area and there was a wedding party who ended up there after t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russell78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your review! We are so glad that you had an opportunity to stay with us and we truly look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Hyatt during your next visit to the Sarasota area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
1,953 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I attended a conference at the hotel. It was an ok hotel. Tr pool area was very nice and contained a cool waterfall. The grounds were nice. There was free self parking which was nice. The lobby was ok and the meeting room was pretty average. All in all it was ok.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank LostALot22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback! Although we are pleased to hear that you did not encounter any issues during your stay, we always strive to create memorable experiences and above average visits for our guests. It sounds as if we may have fallen short during your stay. We are glad that you had an opportunity to take advantage of our complimentary self-parking, the manicured grounds and relaxing bayfront pool. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations should your travel plans include the Sarasota area in the future. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend at the Hyatt. I agree with other reviewers the staff went above and beyond to be helpful. At first I was a little irritated that we had to pay an activity fee, but it is worth it if you are going to be there for a few days. We took out the paddle boat as well as the kayakes. It was a perfect morning to spend in the bay. The hotel over all could still use a little updating. The carpet in the hallways and rooms seem a little tattered, but not too bad.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor with a view of the marina. The room was good sized with a deck just barel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mykidsmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhett W, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us! We are glad to hear that you were able to maximize the value of our new Resort Fee Program and enjoy some of the many benefits added with this new initiative. Our waterfront location allows for easy & convenient access to the bay on our Kayaks, Pedal Boats or Paddle Boards so it is always nice to hear that the new enhancements are being put to good use by our guests. With a constant maintenance program in place, things like our guestroom corridor carpeting will be up for replacement soon. We just completed a guest room carpeting replacement and will be upgrading the TVs in the rooms shortly. We look forward to the opportunity to showcase recent and upcoming renovations should your travel plans bring you back to the Sarasota area in the future. Thank you again for your review and the kind words regarding our wonderful associates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 48 in Sarasota
928 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
206 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing