We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Wonderful pool and the most helpful wait staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful pool and the most helpful wait staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have been staying in this hotel on regular trips for over 10 years and marvel at the cheeriness and efficiency of the restaurant and front desk staff. Although this is not a resort hotel, the pool with waterful is a very nice touch, and I hear they are adding a firepit outside for Smores and the like. The location is between downtown and Lido Beach/St Armand's circle so conveniently located. The carpeting is looking a bit frayed and in need of an updo, but the facility is clean.

Room Tip: The rooms on the pool side allow a view of the city and water.
See more room tips
Green Features: Not obvious to me what was being done that was environmentally friendle
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 543Janb543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and a quick update, the fire pit is comp,eye so the next ti e you come down, you will be an,e to enjoy a fire with s'mores while looking out over our marina. Thank you for being a loyal customer and the guest room carpet is going to replaced soon as we want to stay ahead of the curve and provide you and our other guests the best product possible. We look forward to having you back for another 10 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    612
    203
    87
    37
See reviews for
398
642
70
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We wanted to do something special for this weekend and picked Hyatt Regency Sarasota because it was centrally located to everywhere we wanted to visit.

The staff could not have been nicer. When we first got there we were greeted by Erica. Erica was one of the friendliest people I have ever met. She was full of enthusiasm and suggestions.

Our room overlooked the water and gave us a perfect view of the fireworks on July 4th.

I am also a runner and they had water and apples out for runners in the morning and running cards to take with you with a suggested run on it.

The only downsides included a toilet that was constantly running and not having soap or toiletries in the room when we first arrived. However, those were small hiccups when compared to the otherwise perfect couple of days.

Thank you to Erica, and everyone one else at the hotel that made our trip so great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the ti e to write your review. The front desk is a very important part of the arrival process and I am glad that Erica w able to exceed your expectations. We will look into the room in which you were staying to make sure the toilet is fixed. We always want to make sure take care of all our guests but when the runners come back into the hotel, we think it's nice to get them some nourishment right away, thanks for the comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SR
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I wanted a night away in our home town, and booked a last minute trip to the Hyatt. We would have preferred to stay out on the beach, but the holiday weekend left few options. We booked the king room package with breakfast.
We arrived to a busy hotel with what appeared to be a large wedding party. After we navigated our way through the crowd and found the small entrance we checked in. The lobby was very busy as well. We found our way to the room, and noticed the nice view of the marina and downtown Sarasota. We ate at Owens Fish Camp, offsite, and had a great meal. After arriving back at the hotel we crashed for the night, tired parents of three. The next morning we took long walk over the Ringling Bridge, great walk. We headed to breakfast after showering and checked out around 10.
I give the hotel a 3 mainly because of the following.
1. Seems as though the atmosphere at the Hyatt is for entertaining. I am guessing they do a good job of finding wedding parties, corporate meetings and conventions. The lobby appears to be the only meeting area for these large groups outside of the groups we saw congregating around the pool area at night.
2. The charges for internet, water in the room, and other room items were excessive. I'm sure the desired guests types of item 1 above don't really pay attention to the charges once the nightly festivities are well under way.
3. The breakfast buffet was odd. The total bill for the two of us would have been $42. We had the standard buffet that came with the room package. The entire buffet spread covered maybe 30 feet. It had the standard eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, juice, muffins, and etc. The taste of the food was not much different than that of a local breakfast establishment. Our family has visited the Grand Bohemian in Orlando and they have a spread worth the higher price. The Rosen Shingle Creek hotel in Orlando also has a spread worth the higher price. This was in my opinion over priced by $20.
4. The view to the gulf is mostly blocked by two large condo's on the south side of the complex. The rooms face either N or S. Yes you can technically see the gulf, but the building obstructions in the area are fairly high.

Sorry Hyatt just not that impressed. Looks like you have your desired market targeted and have found the groups willing to spend money without realizing the hotels in the area can provide the same services at a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadkill678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your candid feedback. Your feedback is very important as we use this to continue and improve the level of service provided to our guests. I have shared your comments regarding the in room charges and the breakfast buffet with our management team. I apologize your stay did not meet expectations. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property. If you would like to discuss your stay further please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband surprised me with a quick get-a-way to celebrate our 15th anniversary. We are local and had to work that day and the next, so this was a quick visit but so great! When learning this was our anniversary, they made sure even a short visit was extra special. They gave us a room with great view of the canal (which was very nicely decorated) and special gift. We take get-a-ways quite often and even though we live only 30 minutes away, would choose the Hyatt again. So wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathiewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Again, happy anniversary! We were glad to make your special stay even more special and we hope to have the opportunity to have you back in the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights while on business/ vacation. Clean, comfortable with helpful team.
Left early am and forgot expensive watch in room. Called next day & housekeeping had turned it in. Doubt this would have been the case at a motel on Rt 41. Good job.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write your review and I am glad we were able to get your watch back to you.Housekeeping does a great job at making sure they get everything that our guests forget down into a secure place as quickly as possible. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Nice property and we had a great weekend but check in was delayed, the hotel has slow elevators and the topper they wanted $9.95 for wifi. I'm typing right now sitting at a Delta gate for free at TPA but Hyatt is charging for wifi...that's just ridiculous. Staff bent over backward to make our stay enjoyable and were successful, just a couple things need shored up by Hyatt corporate types.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback in regards to your recent stay. I am pleased you found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. I will share your feedback regarding the elevators and Wi-Fi with our management team. Thank you for choosing to stay at Hyatt Regency Sarasota. I hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We decided to have a weekend at home away from home at the Hyatt Regency Sarasota. The hotel we were told was recently renovated, but not sure if that means since it was built 25 or more years ago or recently like last year? There was definitely a nasty smell in the hallways and the room smelled musty. It was so much so that we decided to leave the day we checked in. We did spend a short time at the pool first and it was just ok stuck between the hotel and a little marina. The room did not appear well maintained and clean. It's a shame there are no nice hotels on the beach in Sarasota. Even the Ritz is on the same street as the Hyatt on the bridge between downtown and the beach. It is not beach friendly for vacationers unless you rent someone's condo and stay there. You would think Sarasota would have some beautiful beach front resorts but the ones they do have on the beach are not what you would hope for. They are disappointing so say the least as was this Hyatt which is closer to downtown than the beach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your candid feedback regarding your recent experience at our property. It is extremely disappointing to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. Please know this is not what our guests should expect while staying at our property. I have shared your comments regarding the hallways and room with our management team. If you would like to discuss your experience further please do not hesitate to contact us directly. I hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#2 of 48 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#15 of 48 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
7.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Sarasota
Comfort Suites Sarasota
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing