We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary, not Extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New Mexico
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Ordinary, not Extraordinary”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We recently stayed here for several days in March. The overall decor is quite pleasing. But a hotel needs to get two things fairly perfect-the bathroom and bedroom. That is why we stay. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The toilet paper holder came completely off the wall, as it was placed too close to the toilet. The toilet and tub/shower are in a rather small space-quite cramped. The coffee pot was on a nice shelf-with no outlet to plug it into, so it had to be moved near the sink. When you are paying the price we did, you do not expect these types of situations. The rooms and bathrooms most certainly need an update. We did appreciate the extremely friendly and helpful staff. Our favorite was Shane from Valet and he could not have been nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellynewmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our property with us. I appreciate your candid feedback regarding the bed and the bathroom layout. I am pleased to read that you found the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. I will be sure to share you kind words with Shane. I hope we can welcome you back to our property in the future.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    955
    683
    240
    99
    48
See reviews for
476
736
77
480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency near downtown Sarasota. My partner and I came in for 5 nights as we were visiting family in the area. It was very close to downtown, a 10 minute walk to very nice restaurants and bars.

The hotel was modern and looks as though it has been recently updated. It was very clean and the facilities were well maintained, including a great pool and fitness center.

The hotel provided a shuttle that took us to Lido Beach and St. Armands Circle. It was my first time in Lido Beach, a bit less crowded and more comfortable than Siesta Key, for my taste.

One part of our stay that stuck out to me was the customer service. There were two bell-men that seemed to go out of their way to ensure we were satisfied. The first was Richard. He was friendly, polite and able to add some personal experiences to our trip. There was another bell-man who was a tall, blonde gentleman, also very helpful and friendly.

This Hyatt is not a beach front property and a short drive to the beach, but for someone looking to visit Sarasota and explore downtown, this is a great hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure to request a balcony room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherF7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I will personally make sure Richard is recognized for his efforts as customer service is what we do here and for him to exceed your expectation is we what strive for. I hope you see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited Florida over Easter and stayed at the Hyatt Regency. My wife and I were impressed with the hotel. To us the Hyatt is a big boutique hotel. The hotel is clean and orderly. The staff was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Dinner and breakfast at the Hyatt was better than average hotel fare.
Our room was a nice size, though not big. The bed was comfortable. Overall, this is not an inexpensive hotel, but its worth the extra cost. If visiting Sarasota again, I would definitely consider the Hyatt again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed there during the Spring break -all the area was busy and I was happy to find a spot. Room size and amenities were as expected. One side faces a small marina and the other side is above a science center with sea view (so they call some rooms "water views"). It is in a dead end, I would have liked to be able to walk around but not really the place for a morning jogging. The pool was too busy in this season. Town and marinas, are preferably accessible by car (there is a free parking lot at the back of the hotel which was useful). The beaches are located on Longboat key island (about 15 mn drive) so again, a car is useful as the hotel shuttle doesn't run very often. Breakfast buffet is not very big but we got all we needed. The only minus was the unacceptable room service time (ordered at 9:20pm and was delivered at 10:35pm for 2 main dishes and a soup!! the in-room movie was almost finished!). Check/in check-out were really fast and efficient. Above all, I'm really glad we discovered the Sarasota area, Longboat Key is worth the trip.

Room Tip: Marina side views may have a better sunshine (don't know if you can choose)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SweetlifeChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for providing feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. It is great to hear your room size and amenities were satisfactory for your stay. I will share your comments regarding the room service delay with our management team so we can prevent this from happening to future guests. Your feedback is very important to us as we use it to continue and improve the service offered to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Sarasota in the future.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Average hotel. Beds were not comfortable, room average size. Poor location was not walking distance to anything. Hyatt likes to charge many extra fees such as $10 internet fees daily that other hotels give for free. Restaurant was overpriced with unusual menu. Pool was great but there was a lack of chairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKC60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to share your candid feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. I apologize that your stay did not meet expectations. Please know that I have shared your comments with our management team. I hope we can have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future so you can experience our true Hyatt hospitality.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The hotel itself was very comfortable and quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. I only ate once in the restaurant for a group dinner and the food was good but the service slow. Good location - walking distance from downtown, Marie Selby Botanical Garden, and the Westfield mall - and of course on the sea front.

Birding was a side benefit - just across the street towards the science centre is a mangrove lined inlet - with several species of shore birds (yellow crowned night heron, egret, great blue heron, tricolored heron) visiting during the day - and a tall nesting pole with what looked like a fish eagle chick on top. Just inland is a small pond and garden area with some good garden birds - such as red bellied woodpeckers....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_and_M006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Always nice to have a fellow Canadian staying with us and thank you for your review! You comments regarding the restaurant have been passed along for review as well. Your point about birding is an interesting one...I will look into getting something on our website to make it easier for enthusiasts like yourself to get all of the information you need in on place...including sleeping room rates!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This one surprised us in many ways. First, it has that sunny Florida feeling all about it...upon arrival, definitely towards noon, complimentary pink lemonade in the lobby to quench our thirst!
Easier to read, my list of likes and dislikes here below:
Dislikes:
1) semi soft mattresses.
2) ventilation outlet above closet in room: promptly serviced after I noticed dust caked in.
3) no distinction between daytime and nighttime dining atmosphere in the only restaurant. Tablecloths would make a difference since chinaware although beautiful, is chunky and plonks in front of the guest if server delivering a big order. Food not bad by the way!
4) not enough lighting on path from pool to coin-operated laundry room.
Likes:
1) friendly atmosphere all around.
2) complimentary bottled water in the lobby early morning for joggers and non joggers!
3) Starbucks corner in the bar area for coffee and breakfast on the run (easy on the wallet too!)
4) spacious rooms and ample storage (shelves where coffee maker sits on...a huge plus!)
5) wash basin separated from bath/shower and toilet.
6) bathroom amenities generously replenished and yes, even travel size toothpastes!!!!
7) generous lighting in the room (love well lit rooms when the sun has set).
8) complimentary shuttle bus to downtown and charming St. Armand Sq.
9) small pets welcome apparently.
10) nice pool and pool area...hotel building does not seem to cast a shadow over pool area which is a huge bonus.
11) coin-operated washers and dryers
12) covered and open carparks
13) strong wifi connection
14) location location location!
15) will return!

Room Tip: Apparently rooms facing the pool cost more but I say that the ones facing the other side are just as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. All of the points (both suggestions and compliments) that you have made have been passed along to the appropriate departments to be acted upon or taken into consideration when updating the hotel again. Our goal is to stay out in front of the issues that you have experienced but by you bringing them to light, we can work that much harder to impress other guests and you, upon your return to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
916 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#15 of 49 in Sarasota
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing