We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need curb appeal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 48 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Athens
1 review
“Rooms need curb appeal”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My family and I have been staying here annually for the past three years and overall enjoy our stay.. However, as a four star rated hotel, I just do not see anything four star when describing the rooms curb appeal.. Besides a couple nice pictures, if you really look at the rooms decor, there is nothing more than what you would see at a three star hotel room. Bathrooms are ok, but wouldnt hurt to give it a little "Ritz"appeal.. some basics that would make it truly what a Regency used to be.....crown mouldings, appealing paint besides just plain white walls... attractive curtains, not those you.d find in a two star... bed skirt around that fancy mattress you do so well to promote.... hookups for todays electronic gadgets, heck you get a nicer room at the three star rated Hyatt place.. If your going to compete in the shadows of the Ritz Carlton, then lets spruce it up... Great pool though, however, pool service also needs to take some lessons from Ritz..... It's the little things that make a big difference...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mepifano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are currently taking a look at sprucing up different facets of the room product and your comments will be taken into consideration. We do appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you next year in keeping with your tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    692
    241
    103
    51
See reviews for
488
750
77
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarkston, MI
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We checked in around 8pm Christmas Eve. There was only a skeleton staff on hand - which we were ok with given that it was a holiday. We soon realized that the hotel seems to operate all the time with a skeleton staff. Check in was quick. We asked for an upgrade which we took for an upcharge. THe room was small but functional. The decor was definitely Floridia, fun and colorful. The bed was comfortable. The very smal toilet and shower were separate from the sink/vanity area. The shower pressure was poor, the towels were not high quality. There was a closet and a dresser that contained a small refridgerator. There were only 2 drawers in the dresser - not much space. The room also had a small chair, ottoman and a desk. There was a sliding door that opened unto a small balcony with 2 chairs and a small table. The view was that of the city and marina. The pool was heated to a nice temperature. Pool towels were self service and abundunt. I never saw any staff around the pool picking up towels or offering food or drink service. The lobby bartender always appeared owerwhlemed. One night there were dirty glasses covering at least a third of the bar for the entire time we sat there. The weird thing was - the place didn't seem that busy and still the staff could not keep up. The lobby was decorated for the holidays with very colorful, beatuiful trees. The hotel is located several blocks from resturants and bars. The web site offers shuttle service to the beach, downtown Sarasota and St Armands circle but each of the 5 nights we were there the shuttle was not operating because "the other guy went home" (honestly that is what the bell/valet person told us). There was no one out front to call a cab for you - we ended up getting a number and calling ourselves every night. Cabs are not lined up waiting for passengers. This added an unexpected cost to our trip as round trip with a tip was about $25.00. This hotel is obviously a franchise operation because the service is not what one expects when staying at a Hyatt.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. It’s disappointing that you did not have an excellent experience. I’m sorry that the service the staff provided was lacking. This is unacceptable for guests to have to experience. I have forwarded your comments to our management team so they are aware of the issues you endured. I hope you will give us another chance in the future so you can experience our true Hyatt hospitality.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Its very simple, if you want to sleep at night dont stay here. Every single of the 5 nights we stayed there, major disturbances occured throughout the night, including knocking a door down in a room next to us by security.
We have been staying at this Hyatt for about 8 years, and over the last few years it has been one of the best Hyatt's I stayed at. Apparently since Senior Management changed in Septmeber this hotel has turned to hosting heavy partying crowds and it shows just not in the noise, but in how decayed and dirty the hotel has become over this short time. They have even posted placards everywhere asking guests to observe quiet time between 10pm and 7am. Obviously many guests staying there can't read

Do yourself a favor, find somewhere else to stay if you want to sleep. On the other hand, if you are looking for a great party location, this is it.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room, that will keep you as far away from the noise as possible. Also if you face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epg_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I’m extremely disappointed that your stay at our property did not meet expectations. I want to assure you that this is not what our guests should come to expect while staying at our property. I apologize for the disturbances you had throughout your stay. Please know this is not the norm and I will be forwarding your comments directly to our management team. Your loyalty is very important to us. I hope we can have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the week before Christmas and could not fault it apart from the weird convention that was taking place most of the time that we were there. One meeting went on most of the night and the participants were very noisy going to and from their rooms and then a lot of them were lying around the hotel the next day sleeping on the sofas in the foyer, made the place look like a 'doss' house. We also complained about our very disruprive neighbour and nothing was done about this and we had to endure him the whole time we were there. Other than that the staff were excellent, the hotel very clean and the pool area was lovely. Not too far to walk to downtown Sarasota which was a bonus. Overall excellent as the hotel didn't know what type of people were going to be at the convention.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takeachance270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! You did happen to come in over a quite busy 'group' week however, I am delighted that you found our pool and service excellent. We hope that you return for a relaxing vacation soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed two nights for a wedding function. The staff was terrific but the footprint of the room made me think this was a rebrand of some other property---bathroom terribly small and towels in room were not up to Regency standards. The first morning at buffet breakfast (Saturday) all selections were cold and the replenishment was terribly slow....who runs out of food at a buffet? Sunday was much better with the service staff on top of things. The property is attractive and well maintained and, as I noted, staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking and access very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texascouple21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and I hope the wedding was a blast. Your review was very helpful. This hotel has always been a Regency and we will certainly check into the towel quality. The breakfast buffet is quite popular and the consistancy of the quantity and service will certainly be addressed. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nice hotel in good location. Pool is fun for kids. Nice buffet for breakfast and healthy choices on menu for lunch. Staff was very friendly. Have stayed here a few times and each time was a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchy1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Your review was certainly helpful and thank you for taking the time to respond. The hotel makes it a point to source our food from local and sustainable sources. This ensures the best quality for our guests. The healthier menu options are part of a corporate directive that is getting great reviews as it's getting children away from the regular, less nutritious options that parents are normally faced with. Thank you for being a returning guest and we hope to see you and your family back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

On the upside, it is a comfortable, cheerful, and well-decorated property. The renovations seem new. We had a pretty 8th floor room facing the Ritz and we liked the sunny afternoons there and used the glass enclosed reading nook. Nice that they take dogs. The pool is clean and attractive and there is a good hot tub and a similarly clean but bare-bones gym that really has no place to do any stretching or yoga moves. The staff are mostly a cheerful lot. I wandered the neighboring Ritz Carleton and found it stuffy and overly predictable and I am glad I did not stay there. Several things were problematic. The wifi charges go on 24 hour cycles and you have to sign up again every day, choosing between two different charges. I always chose the faster speed but found the service always slow with a tendency to frequent slow-downs and outright freeze-ups such that my daughter was unable to stream a netflix movie on her ipad. That was a bummer because the options for TV for kids were minima. I just don't like it when hotels organize things this way. It feels like being chiseled. I can more than afford to pay for it, but I don't think I should, I think it ought to just be embedded in the room rate. The room is a bit small for 2 adults and a small child. The beds are doubles, not queens. The toilet in the room is also in a teeny-tiney space with a tub, so small that a bath is not a pleasant experience and the space is just barely functional. Breakfast buffet is fine one day, but by day two feels boring and overpriced for what you actually eat. It was in our room rate so we ate it. Starbucks coffee in the lobby is $3.50 for a the small. The children's menu was excellent, but not available alas in the pool area where only unhealthy offerings are at hand. Staff were annoyed when I asked if we could order off that menu in the pool area. I won the argument but it was not a good feeling with a pissed off waitress just doing what a manager asked her to do. The setting of the hotel is also a problem. Yes it is walking distance to downtown, but through a long nasty stretch of parking lots and strip malls. In fact, there is so much parking around the hotel that it seems like it is in a strip mall. If I were to return to Sarasota, I would more likely choose one of the "suites" type chains that offer a living room and kitchen and don't chisel you at every turn. Many of them are attractively renovated now as well.

Room Tip: higher floors facing the marina get more sun in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmasmom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. I’m saddened to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. It sounds like you found the pool to be clean and attractive. We do have a fee for internet access at our property. I will be sure to share your feedback regarding the internet quality to our management team. Your feedback is very important to us as we use it to continue and improve our overall guest satisfaction. If there is anything that we can assist with in the future please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 48 in Sarasota
924 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
No photo provided
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 48 in Sarasota
187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#14 of 48 in Sarasota
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing