We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the week before Christmas and could not fault it apart from the weird convention that was taking place most of the time that we were there. One meeting went on most of the night and the participants were very noisy going to and from their rooms and then a lot of them were lying around the hotel the next day sleeping on the sofas in the foyer, made the place look like a 'doss' house. We also complained about our very disruprive neighbour and nothing was done about this and we had to endure him the whole time we were there. Other than that the staff were excellent, the hotel very clean and the pool area was lovely. Not too far to walk to downtown Sarasota which was a bonus. Overall excellent as the hotel didn't know what type of people were going to be at the convention.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Takeachance270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for your review! You did happen to come in over a quite busy 'group' week however, I am delighted that you found our pool and service excellent. We hope that you return for a relaxing vacation soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,596 - 1,602 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed two nights for a wedding function. The staff was terrific but the footprint of the room made me think this was a rebrand of some other property---bathroom terribly small and towels in room were not up to Regency standards. The first morning at buffet breakfast (Saturday) all selections were cold and the replenishment was terribly slow....who runs out of food at a buffet? Sunday was much better with the service staff on top of things. The property is attractive and well maintained and, as I noted, staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking and access very convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texascouple21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and I hope the wedding was a blast. Your review was very helpful. This hotel has always been a Regency and we will certainly check into the towel quality. The breakfast buffet is quite popular and the consistancy of the quantity and service will certainly be addressed. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nice hotel in good location. Pool is fun for kids. Nice buffet for breakfast and healthy choices on menu for lunch. Staff was very friendly. Have stayed here a few times and each time was a good experience.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mitchy1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Your review was certainly helpful and thank you for taking the time to respond. The hotel makes it a point to source our food from local and sustainable sources. This ensures the best quality for our guests. The healthier menu options are part of a corporate directive that is getting great reviews as it's getting children away from the regular, less nutritious options that parents are normally faced with. Thank you for being a returning guest and we hope to see you and your family back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

On the upside, it is a comfortable, cheerful, and well-decorated property. The renovations seem new. We had a pretty 8th floor room facing the Ritz and we liked the sunny afternoons there and used the glass enclosed reading nook. Nice that they take dogs. The pool is clean and attractive and there is a good hot tub and a similarly clean but bare-bones gym that really has no place to do any stretching or yoga moves. The staff are mostly a cheerful lot. I wandered the neighboring Ritz Carleton and found it stuffy and overly predictable and I am glad I did not stay there. Several things were problematic. The wifi charges go on 24 hour cycles and you have to sign up again every day, choosing between two different charges. I always chose the faster speed but found the service always slow with a tendency to frequent slow-downs and outright freeze-ups such that my daughter was unable to stream a netflix movie on her ipad. That was a bummer because the options for TV for kids were minima. I just don't like it when hotels organize things this way. It feels like being chiseled. I can more than afford to pay for it, but I don't think I should, I think it ought to just be embedded in the room rate. The room is a bit small for 2 adults and a small child. The beds are doubles, not queens. The toilet in the room is also in a teeny-tiney space with a tub, so small that a bath is not a pleasant experience and the space is just barely functional. Breakfast buffet is fine one day, but by day two feels boring and overpriced for what you actually eat. It was in our room rate so we ate it. Starbucks coffee in the lobby is $3.50 for a the small. The children's menu was excellent, but not available alas in the pool area where only unhealthy offerings are at hand. Staff were annoyed when I asked if we could order off that menu in the pool area. I won the argument but it was not a good feeling with a pissed off waitress just doing what a manager asked her to do. The setting of the hotel is also a problem. Yes it is walking distance to downtown, but through a long nasty stretch of parking lots and strip malls. In fact, there is so much parking around the hotel that it seems like it is in a strip mall. If I were to return to Sarasota, I would more likely choose one of the "suites" type chains that offer a living room and kitchen and don't chisel you at every turn. Many of them are attractively renovated now as well.

Room Tip: higher floors facing the marina get more sun in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmasmom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback in regards to your recent stay at our property. I’m saddened to hear that your stay did not meet expectations. It sounds like you found the pool to be clean and attractive. We do have a fee for internet access at our property. I will be sure to share your feedback regarding the internet quality to our management team. Your feedback is very important to us as we use it to continue and improve our overall guest satisfaction. If there is anything that we can assist with in the future please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a very nice Hotel. The staff is great, rooms are clean and comfortable, the pool and location are outstanding. However, we are here for a week and they say they have wifi but it does not work for more than a minute at a time. We will change rooms tomorrow to see if that helps. I am not excited about packing tomorrow since we have completely unpacked and settled in. Just a heads up if you depend on wifi.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your review. We take pride in each guest's overall stay and while you have had pleasant experiences with our hotel, the wifi is an issue that I hope was resolved. We will certainly have this checked out so the next guest does not experience the issues that you unfortunately did. We hope you see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stay at the Hyatt Regency every year. The staff is very accommodating. The hotel looks great after a renovation a few years ago. Nice buffet breakfast in the lounge. We get a suite with a balcony overlooking the pool, the marina, and the Gulf. The atmosphere makes it very relaxing. Nice fitness center. Great pool, spa, and waterfall. Fantastic location...close to everything, i.e. downtown, restaurants, Tamiami Trail, and St. Armand's, LongBoat, Lido Key, Bird Key, and airport are only a short drive away. We'll be there again in 2013 for about our 25th consecutive stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TastyBake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Hank-Jill:

Thank you for going out of your way to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Sarasota. Our employees will be recognized for the fantastic customer service provided. We're glad to hear how much you enjoyed the balcony rooms as these rooms offer some of the best views of the water in the area. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon!


Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

By current standards this would be simply a Hyatt, yet they've been able to maintain their "Regency" tag for several years now. Location is very good, and walkable to town and other nearby dining alternatives for breakfast/lunch/dinner, instead of eating at the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for an "Odd" numbered room facing the harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Sarasota for your recent stay. I’m delighted that our location was perfect for your travel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit to Sarasota!

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 50 in Sarasota
938 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 50 in Sarasota
226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#14 of 50 in Sarasota
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Westin Sarasota
The Westin Sarasota
#35 of 50 in Sarasota
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $217 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing