We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Pool, Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a Sarasota wedding at the Ringling Museum. They held a book of rooms at a great rate which also included breakfast.
The rooms were great with comfortable beds. (all do not have a balcony & they will charge for an upgrade). The view is more "marina" like, it is not on the beach. The pool is fantastic with a nice bar & light food. The staff there was great. We had a breakfast buffet included, which was ok. (no made to order options, just what was sitting out). If it wasn't included I am not sure it would have been worth the $20.
The hotel offered shuttle to our wedding every 15 min, which was nice to not have to worry about driving. The bar stayed open late for us as the after party continued at the hotel. They even allowed an ipod player for music. The gym was limited, but ok.
You are not too far from downtown Sarasota & St Armands Circle for shopping. Both recommended (by car).

Room Tip: Some are not balconies. Others have an indoor "windowed" seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

We are glad you enjoyed your time in Sarasota. We play host to many different weddings and the fact that you could have your own music at the Hurricane Hutt is always a plus! We get the observation regarding the fact that we are not on the beach however, I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the best poo in Sarasota and I hope that we see you back in the hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,696 - 1,702 of 2,205 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Live in the Tampa area and came for a mini vacation with my mom and daughters. The hotel looks cute and they seem to be trying to be upscale, but the rooms could have been cleaner (there was a thick layer of dust on everything on the bedside table and the bathroom had broken tile and mold. The carpets looked to need a deep cleaning and the bench in our room was very dirty with a cracked pad and chipped paint, also stains on the throw pillows.) The pool area seemed nice and the service was friendly throughout. It has potential, but it is obviously an old hotel that has been refurbished. It has a great location and maybe our room just need a bit more attention.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peanutpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

The feedback you provided regarding your recent stay at our property it greatly appreciated. Please know that we take all of our guest’s feedback very seriously. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of your guest room will be shared with the housekeeping manager. We will make sure that the room issues you experienced will get corrected immediately. Thank you for choosing the Hyatt Regency Sarasota for your stay. I hope that we can welcome you back to our property in the future.

Brock S. – A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

An older property has been beautifully renovated to a very high international standard. Fabulous beds. Efficient air conditioning. Tasteful, modern decor. Professional and helpful staff. Beautiful pool over yacht marina with nonstop restaurant and bar. Worth a trip to the restaurant with creative food and fresh ingredients also in late night room service,

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wsdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are very proud of the renovation that was completed a few years abck and we just got new beds so we are glad that you enjoyed them! Chef Leo and his staff are dedicated to taking the dining experience to the next level so we appreciate your positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I enjoed the hotel alot i liked the frige and the talking elevators althow theres one down fall the pool was closed on a thursday they should not close when it is in the middle of the week but over all i loved this hotel and i would like to come back if they lower there prices of the boats i also wish the hot tub waterfall was on but i really like it

Room Tip: Get a room next to stairs its really nice on floor 2 by west stair room231 230
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Hello and thank you for your glowing review! I'm not exactly sure why the pool was closed on the Thursday that you stayed however, we do have the occasional pool deck reception where we need to shut down a portion of our pool however, if it was because of a mechanical issue, I certainly apologize for the inconvenience. Our boat slips are a sought after and we will take your suggestion on pricing under consideration when we discuss pricing in the future. Again, thank you for your feedback and I hope you can come back to see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I booked a room with balcony, but when we arrived we've been told there are no rooms with balcony. So they gave us one without balcony. That was our luck. The balconies are really very dangerous for kids. Our son is 1 year old and he could easily go between the bars. Older children can jump over. On the other side the room without balcony doesn't have windows that can open. That's also not comfortable if you have a baby.
On the second day I got sick because of the A/C. Even if you set it higher it wouldn't make it over 74. I had to shut it down during next nights.
This was the only hotel in our tour which didn't offer free wi-fi!
Location of the hotel is nice, close to everywhere by car and parking is easy. However if you want to walk around, there's nothing near by.
We had to wait 15 minutes to get a table for breakfast!
I was expecting much more from Hyatt! It was the most expensive and worst hotel of our trip.

Room Tip: Don't take a room with balcony if you have a kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosencreuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you your feedback on your stay. We do try to keep the hotel as cool as possible over the summer months however, we have taken note of your displeasure and we will check that specific room to see if we can find the reason why it would not allow you to set a temperature over 74 degrees. We do enjoy our location in the city and while you can walk to downtown venues (about a 10 minute walk), driving is much easier as parking is plentiful downtown and we have complimentary self parking. I agree that a 15 minute wait for breakfast is a bit excessive and as a management team, we will continue to work on streamlining processes and being more efficient in our outlets and hotel overall. Please let us know if and when you plan on returning and we will be sure to accomodate you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great pool, great staff all in all a great place to stay in the Sarasota area. We stayed 1 night but stayed by the pool after we checked out. Just a wonderful surprise. We hadn't intended to go to Sarasota while on our Florida holiday but had many people tell us about the beaches there and everyone was right. Simply beautiful beaches and Armonds Circle was nice too. After several days at Disney World we needed to relax and that we did! The waterfall at the pool was the most relaxing bit of the holiday. I could stay there forever.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KookyKanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thanks for the review! Always nice to hear from a fellow Canadian! I agree that Sarasota is a great place to visit and we would love to have you back sooner rather than later to a little R&R. Let us know!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel sets very near the Gulf of Mexico. The architecture is elegant & beautiful! Rooms with balconies are a Tad more than others, but worth every dime! My room was pool/bayside overlooking the boat dock. There was an extremely relaxing waterfall outside that put me to sleep on the balcony. I slept with the sliding doors open (once inside)! The service is fabulous & the convention rooms are adequate. Nothing is really close enough to walk to; so if you don't have a car to drive to another restaurant, you'll have to pay 'Hyatt prices' for food, but it is very good food! The Service is great!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJSG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChrisLevine, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated! We are quite proud of our location and views here and I am glad that you enjoyed them as well. Our service is also something we take very seriously and continue to teach on a daily basis so when you come back, you will have an even better experience. We provide a complimentary shuttle to and from Lido Beach and St Armand's Circle if our guests are looking for something other than Currents or our poolside bar, Hurricane Hut.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#4 of 51 in Sarasota
948 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
The Westin Sarasota
The Westin Sarasota
#33 of 51 in Sarasota
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 51 in Sarasota
243 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#12 of 51 in Sarasota
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range: $229 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing