We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quayside Inn(Sarasota)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Aloft Sarasota(Sarasota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Ranola(Sarasota)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,319)
Filter reviews
2,319 results
Traveler rating
1,078
769
279
121
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,078
769
279
121
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatsself parkinghurricane hutbalcony roomresort feevan wezelpool areamarina viewgreat poolhot tublobby barvery nice hotelfront desk stafflido beachclose to downtownfire pitthe ritz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,930 - 1,935 of 2,319 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We'd booked this hotel for a 3 night stay on our way up the Gulf Coast. The room we were originally allocated was on the 10th Floor with a great view of the bay. The room was great, a nice size, very clean and comfortable.

We were enjoying our stay so much, we decided to extend the stay by another 4 nights, so we stopped by at Reception and a really helpful receptionist, James, got us on to a really good value for money plan for the remainder of our stay.

The downside of extending was that we had to switch rooms, but it worked to our advantage as we got a beautiful room on the 7th Floor overlooking the dock and swimming pool area.

We used the hotel’s Currents Bar and Restaurant a number of times; for drinks, for breakfast, for lunch and for dinner. The bar was a bit empty a couple of times, but one of those occasions was Superbowl Sunday, so we weren’t really surprised on that one. The restaurant was excellent on all but one time we dined there. Unfortunately my wife’s shrimp dish was served using stale shrimp, but it was removed quickly and replaced with her second choice, an excellent fillet steak served with profuse apologies. My wife’s meal and our bottle of wine were deducted from our bill by way of compensation. Everyone makes mistakes, it’s how you handle them that sets you apart; and the Hyatt staff reacted in a superb fashion to alleviate the problem.

The pool area was excellent, not crowded even though it was high season, except on Saturday.

There are great restaurants in walking distance (less than a mile), in the Main Street area.

The only downside was that the in-room fridges (in both rooms) were noisy. I heard other guests make the same complaint.

Room Tip: Go for a Balcony Room on a high floor to get the best views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobWrinkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

At first glance it looks like a great place to stay and it is if your not bothered about service
Personally if I am paying the sort of money that we put out for this hotel I would like to be taken care of
Here are a few things that might get your shorts in a knot
The eggs were cold on the $40.00 breakfast for 2 people
We waited 40 mins in the bar and never got served
Room wasn't cleaned on the second day
And don't order a pizza from outside the hotel ( this story is just to long to write )
This Hyatt like many that we have stayed at need a management shake up
The only reson we stayed here at this point was to top up our gold pass point account

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for a room with a balcony
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPTOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyattsrq, Manager at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. We strive to make everyone's stay an exceptional experience and we will use your comments as training for our associates. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt in Sarasota for a weekend get away. It was a great last minute deal.
We have been to the Sarasota area before, but this was our first stay at the Hyatt. Based upon our experience during this stay, we will return. The rooms were modern and clean. Housekeeping is usually not until later in the day, but they do a good job. Overall, staff is friendly and helpful. We used the pool for a short time. It was nice, but perhaps needs a little more seating. They have a shuttle that runs on a limited schedule, but drivers are very accommodating.
Overall, a great stay. My only complaint is having to pay for wi-fi even if you are a Hyatt gold member(only diamond and platinum are free).

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheetah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This is a modern, updated, very welcoming hotel

great pool overlooking small marina

I have stayed here many times and even with priceline booking they are extremely accomodating on room preference, etc.

The staff are super friendly, no snobby vibe like some hotels in the area

youthful feel, good class of guest

decent bar in lobby, very cool one by pool/waterfall

free parking, $10 for wifi (my only gripe)

you can walk to downtown but have to drive to beaches

Room Tip: ask nicely for marina facing with balcony, away from road
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pelicanoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here in november 2011. The location was really great. The rooms were very clean and the hotel bars were great. Very friendly staff and will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardGilliland83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews