We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located...for the right price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
old saybrook, ct
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well located...for the right price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

The lobby and staff are very welcoming. There is a covered garage should you prefer to self park (no fee). The color scheme used in the hotel is a little peculiar (very bright pinks, greens, blues...you get the picture) if you are sensitive to that sort of thing. The rooms are very nice even if you don't have a balcony. There is a lovely window seat with great views but if you like to open a door for fresh air, choose a balcony room. In the bath area, there are handy shelves for your toiletries and plenty of towels were stacked under the sink. A single cup coffee maker with all the amenities was right there, too. All the employees were incredibly friendly and helpful. The only negative is the cost of the breakfast...very overpriced for what you get. Take a walk into town for a very reasonably priced breakfast at a sidewalk cafe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpz52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattdirector, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your comment regarding the breakfast. We are always looking at ways to further enhance the overall guest experience and will take your concern into consideration. I will share this with the appropriate staff of the hotel. Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    934
    668
    235
    94
    47
See reviews for
468
722
76
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blois, France
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Sarasota at the end of November 2011.
Overall the hotel was great. Our room appeared to have been recently renovated and was big and clean. The only issues for me are in the bathroom : there is not enough light and nothing to hang the towels.
We had a room with NO balcony but I think it's really not necessary. We had a beautiful view on the bay and the window was huge.
Breakfast was a buffet style and was included in the price of our room. That's good because the price of the buffet is normaly 15 $/pers! We had croissant, waffles, omelette, bacon, bread and muffins. The really nice staff install you at a table and serves you coffee and orange juice.
Last things : free internet and computers in the business center (convenient cause wifi is not complementary and is expensive!), close to St Armand Circle with all the shops and restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilou27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattdirector, Director of Sales at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
While a majority of our rooms have outside balconies, all of the guest rooms provide views of our private 32-slip marina or of the Sarasota Bay. I am happy to hear that you experienced Currents Restaurant and utilized the business center. Free is good! On behalf of our staff here at Hyatt Regency Sarasota, we all look forward to providing you another warm welcome on Florida's west coast. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency on the second night of a Florida tour and definitely enjoyed it. When we checked in James was friendly and helped us get a room with a great view of the bay as well as giving us some info about the local area. The hotel definitely had a bit of a business feel – there was a conference going on downstairs, for instance – and there wasn’t much at the restaurant we wanted to eat, however the location was good and definitely an enjoyable second night of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Booked with Delta Vacations, felt that it was overpriced for the services we received. Great location, but the room which had been recently remodeled had some issues, the bathroom lighting was nonexistent, there were no towel racks to hang the hand towels on by the sink (so after using one it had to be laid on the counter), the "business center" was in poor shape, the computers were very slow and for three computers only two chairs that were in poor condition, thought breakfast was included, but it wasn't because we went through Delta. The thing that bothered us the most was when we had went to the beach one morning and came back four hours later hoping that the room would have been made up (the hotel had low occupancy during our stay), it wasn't and because there are no towel racks by the sink we had put the towel on the floor to guarantee that we would get fresh ones, also we didn't always get fresh toiletries, had to ask for toilet paper one evening. Hyatt Gold Passport member and have always enjoyed other Hyatt properties, the best thing about this property is the location. Not sure we will stay here on our next visit to Sarasota.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laughoutloudtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

I've been staying at the hotel 5 - 6 times a year on business for past few years. The service is always first class. Everyone is very helpful and will do what they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

One of the reasons I like it is the great pool/hottub facing the harbor side. Like many Hyatts, the pool is made to look like it was carved out of rock over the years due to erosion caused by running and falling waters. It's always nice to come back from a day of meetings to throw on the bathing suit and relax in a pool or hottub.

Rooms and hotel decorated in a pleasing Florida color palette. It is always maintained very well.

The dining room is small, but the few times I have eaten there I haven't been disappointed. So don't think that eating in the hotel will be a come down.

One caveat to this review: Beware of holiday weekends!! Those from inland stay at the hotel over holiday weekends, and the place gets overrun. Staff can't keep up during those times. Many of the guests are not the usual business travelers, so it can be loud and crazed. You've been warned.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

Came on business with a quick visit to the family. Since that never works out, came to the Hyatt to hide out. I gre up in Sarasota and the Hyatt has been there forever, so I expected it to be staid. The renovation that was performed was gorgeous. The staff was on point and the lobby was beautiful. A very Sarasota crowd at the bar, but I digress...
Check-in was quick. No club, but my status entitled me to breakfast as a 'mea culpa'. In the evening, I called down to see if I could take breakfast in my room, and the gentlemean at the desk said, "Sure!" That almost never happens, and it speaks highly to the Regency's attention to service.
The room overlooked the marina towards the Ritz. Nice waterfall. Some frozen-drink related excursions downstairs (I suppose) that I did not take advantage of. Chocolate on the pillow at turndown, which hasn't happened to me in so long that I forgot hotels did that.
It is great to see that there is a full-service hotel option besides the over hyped, over priced, uppity Ritz (who wants to have judgement passed on them by a valet? Ugh...) No fifth star based strictly on standards (No 24 hour room service, no spa on site though they will make arrangements, etc). While the Hyatt was my absolute go-to brand regardless (thanks for rewarding my loyalty), it is great to know I have somewhere comfortable to avoid my family when business brings me to the Suncoast. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a room high over the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecheshirechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Mark contacted us almost immediately after our review and apologized plus offered a refund for our stay. Instead we decided to take the two night stay on them at another time. We were supposed to stay on November 10 but on the way there was in a car accident when a driver reareneded us at a red-light. My wife and I had to spend most of the day in the hospital and she is still recuperating but we hope to go back next month. Obviously Mr. Becker wants to show us that the experience we had was not the norm and since we have used the Hyatt in many locations we are sure this time will be up to standard. Looking forward to proving our last stay was just a fluke.

We will report again after our next stay.

Room Tip: If you have a problem of any kind, contact management immediately so you can have a great stay. Hyat...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gneher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sarasota hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
Hotel Indigo Sarasota
#3 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Siesta Key Gateway
5.9 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#4 of 49 in Sarasota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aloft Sarasota
Aloft Sarasota
#14 of 49 in Sarasota
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Sarasota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Sarasota

Property: Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Address: 1000 Boulevard Of The Arts, Sarasota, FL 34236-4808
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Sarasota 4*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a beautiful resort like setting with our own private marina on Sarasota Bay, Hyatt Regency Sarasota is 3 miles from the Sarasota/Bradenton airport and minutes from white sand beaches and the premier theaters, restaurants, museums and attractions of Florida's cultural coast. Hyatt Regency Sarasota's oasis of lush gardens, sparkling blue water and relaxed elegance combines with the year-round temperate climate of Sarasota Bay to set the ideal backdrop for a perfect meeting destination in a beautiful resort-like setting. Once inside the viibrant "new" rooms you'll discover why our unique blend of business and pleasure come together as you experience our elegant design theme enhanced views of Sarasota Bay and its natural beauty. The Hyatt Regency Sarasota has completed a 22 million dollar transformation where guests will enjoy newly appointed guestrooms, lobbys and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Sarasota reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Sarasota Hotel Sarasota
Sarasota Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Sarasota

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing