We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bed bugs.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The service was great. Staff was accommodating and appropriate when I came to check out after finding a bed bug and the feces spot on the mattress. After we found it, as well as hair in the sheets that were not changed, my husband and I searched the web on our phones to make sure it was a bed bug and then learned bout the feces spots. Hotel and surrounding areas were sold out, but I couldn't bare to sleep knowing they are there. Hotel was renovated, but when you look closely, not so clean in other spots. Overpriced for the cleanliness they offer. Prices are in the range of Hilton; at least during that weekend. Only nearby hotel outside of siesta key.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your room was well inspected upon your departure and was completely clear of any insects. We are exterior corridor. Guests and personnel entering and exiting rooms leave the ability for insects to possibly be present from time to time. The room has been rented several times since your departure without incident. Although the internet is a good tool, this kind of claim should be left to professionals only.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    486
    169
    43
    41
See reviews for
459
497
50
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This turned out to be a great choice for me and my 2 children, rooms are a little on the small side but it was o.k. They have a great breakfast and pool area. Staff is very nice. Check in and out went smooth. We would stay here again for sure when coming to Siesta Key.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candisumfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your compliment about our breakfast. We do pride ourselves on having the best complimentary breakfast around, including fresh fruit, cheese, Danish and 3 hot items every day. We hope to be able to host you for another stay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was surprised to see this hotel changed flags, but the stay was just as good as the last time. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is fantastic - lots of good options. It is close to the beach which makes it even more attractive. The staff were very friendly at check in and check out. I'll be back again next month.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pouncethetravelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that we met your expectations, even with our brand conversion to a Best Western Plus. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Unless you want to pay a fortune and stay directly on Siesta Key, there are no decent hotels within two or three miles inland from the island. I think that Best Western Plus is as good as it gets - which, that being said, isn't very good. The lobby of the hotel has been renovated and is nice and modern. Some modern upgrades have been given to the rooms such as granite counter tops and flat screen TVs. However, other things appear to be original to the construction. The worst of these is the horrible carpeting on the back side of the hotel leading to the pool. It is the color of mold and appears stained in various places with unidentifiable substances (one can only imagine). The bathrooms appear to have their original tubs and grouting. In our room, it didn't look like the grouting around the tub had had a good scrubbing since opening day. The a/c was the type that turned on and off at a temperature setting; there was no way to keep the fan running to drown out the noise from outside or in the next room. This was particularly annoying on the last night of our stay when a couple got into a drunken brawl in the room next to us at 2:00 am. We heard all of the yells, crashes, the frantic phone call to the police, and the interrogation by the police when they arrived. All from the comfort of our beds.

Not all was horrible, though. The pool was lovely and heated. The lounge chairs were new. The grounds were pretty and had well-tended flora. The breakfast buffet was the best complimentary buffet I have seen. There is a free shuttle to the island, but call at least 20 minutes ahead of time. The drivers are nice and friendly.

All in all, I am not overly disappointed in my stay here. We got a great deal on the room. If you pay $100 or more, then you will not be getting your money's worth. Just stay on the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cupecoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, Owner at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. I must, however, point out a couple of your assumptions as being incorrect. This property underwent a $1.5 mm renovation, completed in July, 2012. Among the many things that were upgraded were the corridor coverings, which is all brand new exterior carpeting. Being exterior corridor, as you can understand, we are subject to the elements. The carpeting is exposed as well and is cleaned regularly. Most exterior corridor hotels do not have corridor carpeting as it is an extremely expensive investment. However, in order to mitigate guest noise throughout the building with rolling suitcases, we opted for this route.

The air conditioners, among many other things, are brand new Amana units. All hotels that are upscale limited service employ this type of a/c unit with a digital readout.

We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel itself is fine for what it is. The breakfast was good. However the staff and General Manager are lacking in professionalism. We had in an incident where the housekeeping staff (presumably) used our bathroom and when we notifed the front desk/mgmt spoke with the General Manager who had absolutely no compassion for the situation. Was told there would be a followup, never heard from mgmt/staff ever again. Felt like the matter was completely ignored.
Next day, after housekeeping had cleaned the room, no clean towels left at all. Staff is inept.
Location of this hotel, although convenient, it is noisey because of the major roadways nearby. No view except of all commerical real estate/shopping plazas around you. After posting this review we will probably see a response from hotel mgmt, but too little too late. Plenty of other nice hotels in the area to spend your money on.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingForDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your review states that a housekeeper presumably used your bathroom but your room had not been serviced. This unfortunately, does not sound as if it was our staff that had been in your room. If we did not leave towels for you during your stay, that is not part of our normal service unless you hang your towels up as indicated on the bathroom signage or you leave your do not disturb sign out on your door. We apologize for this if it is the case as it is not normal procedure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I actually was surprised at this hotel after reading some of the reviews..I went to see for myself on a business trip and I am so glad I stayed. The hotel staff upon and arrival and departure were excellent! I will stay again!! The breakfast surpised me! French toast & fresh fruit with all the other normal good stuff. I must say the fitness room was AMAZING!! New equipment I thank you so much!! All in good working order and CLEAN!! This hotel staff and room far exceeded my expectations! Room had fridge and micro!! Great location to shops and eating establishments. I walked around near the hotel and glad I did. Thanks for making my time away from home easy!! EXCELLENT JOB!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ConnieIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you decided to give us a try and we were able to exceed your expectations. So glad you like our breakfast since it is something that we do pride ourselves on, adding fresh items and rotating them to keep the choices varied for our guests. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay. We went to Sarasota for a family wedding and did a lot of research of hotels in the area prior to booking.
The hotels close to the beach were very expensive but this hotel was very reasonable and in a very good location for all attractions including Siesta Key, and not that far from Longboat Key and St Armands circle. There are also lots of shops and places to eat quite close to the hotel.
The room was very clean, lovely comfy bed, tea & coffee making facilities in the room along with a fridge and microwave and large flatscreen TV. The breakfast was included in the price and there was a varied selection of food including hot stuff that changed daily. The pool area was very pleasant with pool towels and sun loungers. The staff were very helpful and popcorn, cookies and tea & coffee were available free. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway

Property: Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing