We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Nearby Hotels
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$138
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Suites Sarasota(Sarasota)(Great Value!)
$108
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$150
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lido Beach Resort(Sarasota)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,427)
Filter reviews
1,427 results
Traveler rating
571
547
207
53
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
547
207
53
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssiesta keyfree popcornpool barfree shuttle to the beachfire pitroom was cleanpool sidehot breakfastsiesta beachtamiami trailhot tubyogurtgreat place to staypublic beachminute driveeasy accessconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
1,159 - 1,164 of 1,427 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I was surprised to see this hotel changed flags, but the stay was just as good as the last time. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is fantastic - lots of good options. It is close to the beach which makes it even more attractive. The staff were very friendly at check in and check out. I'll be back again next month.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pouncethetravelcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that we met your expectations, even with our brand conversion to a Best Western Plus. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to hosting you again next month.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Unless you want to pay a fortune and stay directly on Siesta Key, there are no decent hotels within two or three miles inland from the island. I think that Best Western Plus is as good as it gets - which, that being said, isn't very good. The lobby of the hotel has been renovated and is nice and modern. Some modern upgrades have been given to the rooms such as granite counter tops and flat screen TVs. However, other things appear to be original to the construction. The worst of these is the horrible carpeting on the back side of the hotel leading to the pool. It is the color of mold and appears stained in various places with unidentifiable substances (one can only imagine). The bathrooms appear to have their original tubs and grouting. In our room, it didn't look like the grouting around the tub had had a good scrubbing since opening day. The a/c was the type that turned on and off at a temperature setting; there was no way to keep the fan running to drown out the noise from outside or in the next room. This was particularly annoying on the last night of our stay when a couple got into a drunken brawl in the room next to us at 2:00 am. We heard all of the yells, crashes, the frantic phone call to the police, and the interrogation by the police when they arrived. All from the comfort of our beds.

Not all was horrible, though. The pool was lovely and heated. The lounge chairs were new. The grounds were pretty and had well-tended flora. The breakfast buffet was the best complimentary buffet I have seen. There is a free shuttle to the island, but call at least 20 minutes ahead of time. The drivers are nice and friendly.

All in all, I am not overly disappointed in my stay here. We got a great deal on the room. If you pay $100 or more, then you will not be getting your money's worth. Just stay on the island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cupecoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, Owner at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you for your review. I must, however, point out a couple of your assumptions as being incorrect. This property underwent a $1.5 mm renovation, completed in July, 2012. Among the many things that were upgraded were the corridor coverings, which is all brand new exterior carpeting. Being exterior corridor, as you can understand, we are subject to the elements. The carpeting is exposed as well and is cleaned regularly. Most exterior corridor hotels do not have corridor carpeting as it is an extremely expensive investment. However, in order to mitigate guest noise throughout the building with rolling suitcases, we opted for this route.

The air conditioners, among many other things, are brand new Amana units. All hotels that are upscale limited service employ this type of a/c unit with a digital readout.

We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel itself is fine for what it is. The breakfast was good. However the staff and General Manager are lacking in professionalism. We had in an incident where the housekeeping staff (presumably) used our bathroom and when we notifed the front desk/mgmt spoke with the General Manager who had absolutely no compassion for the situation. Was told there would be a followup, never heard from mgmt/staff ever again. Felt like the matter was completely ignored.
Next day, after housekeeping had cleaned the room, no clean towels left at all. Staff is inept.
Location of this hotel, although convenient, it is noisey because of the major roadways nearby. No view except of all commerical real estate/shopping plazas around you. After posting this review we will probably see a response from hotel mgmt, but too little too late. Plenty of other nice hotels in the area to spend your money on.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingForDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. Your review states that a housekeeper presumably used your bathroom but your room had not been serviced. This unfortunately, does not sound as if it was our staff that had been in your room. If we did not leave towels for you during your stay, that is not part of our normal service unless you hang your towels up as indicated on the bathroom signage or you leave your do not disturb sign out on your door. We apologize for this if it is the case as it is not normal procedure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I actually was surprised at this hotel after reading some of the reviews..I went to see for myself on a business trip and I am so glad I stayed. The hotel staff upon and arrival and departure were excellent! I will stay again!! The breakfast surpised me! French toast & fresh fruit with all the other normal good stuff. I must say the fitness room was AMAZING!! New equipment I thank you so much!! All in good working order and CLEAN!! This hotel staff and room far exceeded my expectations! Room had fridge and micro!! Great location to shops and eating establishments. I walked around near the hotel and glad I did. Thanks for making my time away from home easy!! EXCELLENT JOB!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ConnieIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you decided to give us a try and we were able to exceed your expectations. So glad you like our breakfast since it is something that we do pride ourselves on, adding fresh items and rotating them to keep the choices varied for our guests. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 7 night stay. We went to Sarasota for a family wedding and did a lot of research of hotels in the area prior to booking.
The hotels close to the beach were very expensive but this hotel was very reasonable and in a very good location for all attractions including Siesta Key, and not that far from Longboat Key and St Armands circle. There are also lots of shops and places to eat quite close to the hotel.
The room was very clean, lovely comfy bed, tea & coffee making facilities in the room along with a fridge and microwave and large flatscreen TV. The breakfast was included in the price and there was a varied selection of food including hot stuff that changed daily. The pool area was very pleasant with pool towels and sun loungers. The staff were very helpful and popcorn, cookies and tea & coffee were available free. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have a nicer view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews