We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MEDIOCRITY IS OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“MEDIOCRITY IS OK”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed at the BWP Siesta Key and the keyword is 'gateway.' It is nowhere near Siesta Key and you pretty much have to drive if you want to get there. The Siesta Key Beach is nice and the town is not exactly charming but worth a visit. (The food there is overpriced and rather mediocre, but there are plenty of places to buy ice cream if that is your thing,) Parking is difficult.
The hotel has a serviceable breakfast- even whole wheat bread!!. And you can come down before 9:30 am load up on a bunch of fruit and bring it back to your room to eat it after you go back to sleep. Oh- speaking of sleep- you will be awakened every morning by a very loud garbage truck that does its' thing right across from the parking lot at about 7:15 am or so. But it does leave quicky enough. The front desk is hit and miss. They are absent alot and so if you need something you might have to come back a few times until they show up. But they are generally professional when they are there. I found the rooms clean and the housekeeping staff efficient. In short, this hotel is basic, but if you want to be near the Siesta Beach and town there are worse places to be. If you want to be closer to Sarasota- it is quite a quaint, interesting place- there is a BW a few miles from the city also on 41.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on opposite side from parking lot- if that is possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was disappointed to read that you were not impressed with the area including Siesta Key Village, a quaint and charming hot spot on the island. Our hotel property is actually under 1 mile from the public beach accesses on Siesta Key, named the #1 beach in the US. We clearly identify its location and proximity to the island on our website and map located on our website. We appreciate that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our property and your room. I am unsure as to why the desk seemed to be lacking in presence but will certainly address this issue with our staff. We appreciate your time and hope you will continue to patronize the Best Western brand in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    486
    169
    43
    41
See reviews for
459
497
50
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Chili, New York, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel helped make our 5 days in Sarasota a great time. The hotel is very lovely, beautiful-flowered grounds, a clean and very beautiful outdoor pool. Our room was clean and well kept. The housekeeping staff is great. The full breakfast included with your stay was really good. Lots of choices. Very nice areas for eating as well. There is coffee, cappacino and ice water available 24 hours a day. In the afternoons to evenings, there is hot, fresh popcorn and fresh baked warm chocolate chip cookies in the breakfast area for free.
The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to malls, restaurants, shops of all kinds and best of all, close to the most beautiful beach in the US....Siesta Key. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel for 1 night. The check-in was smooth and the front desk staff was very friendly. They had a coffee machine vending different varieties of coffees and had some great cookies as well ;)
The room was great, LCD TV, clean restrooms...overall very decent. You can request a free shuttle to the beach, but you'll have to wait for 30 minutes to an hour.
My favorite part was the breakfast. They did had a lot of variety and we just loved it. If we come back, we know where we are staying.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Spent 4 nights here, was great. Room was very clean and bed AND pillows were very comfortable. Had a problem with the tub faucet, and they fixed it immediately. Front desk crew were very nice, and breakfast choices were plentiful. Nice pool area too! Very close to Siesta Key Village.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Hubby and I really enjoyed this hotel. The room was excellent, very clean and the bed was very comfy. Hubby enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Another free breakfast and a great selection. The front desk worker was very nice and friendly. We took his suggestion and enjoyed a dinner at the restaurant on the same parking lot as the hotel. I did use the free and easy to use wifi. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I recently spent six days at the Best Western Siesta Key with my wife and two teen age girls. First I want to say that the beds rank very high in comfort and better than any chain I've roomed in. The rooms had all of the amenities we required including a microwave and refrigerator. Their WiFi was easy to connect to when provided the password. I would of liked a little larger room. They offered a shuttle service to the beach which our girls took full advantage of. This freed my wife and I to go on our own adventures. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate with selections of egg, sausage, french toast, cereals, breads, fresh fruits and more. Coffee was available 24/7 and also in the room. We had a nice flat screen HD TV although we expected more channels from a Direct TV connection. We had plenty of hot water for showers and the Hotel was full. The Staff was very friendly, the place was very clean and most everything was relatively new, The pool was a salt water pool but the salt level was mild and I could open my eyes underwater without any discomfort. Much better than chlorine pools. There was a sports bar (Harry's) next door which provided affordable American fare. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Refusmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SiestaHotelMgr, General Manager at Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel property. We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay and that you were able to use the free shuttle service, the pool and other amenities that we offer. We are especially thrilled to know that you would visit us again and do hope you will return to us when you are in Sarasota in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarasota
4.4 mi away
Sandcastle Resort at Lido Beach
0.3 mi away
Hibiscus Suites - Sarasota / Siesta Key
0.2 mi away
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
Siesta Key Palms Hotel
#1 of 49 in Sarasota
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tropical Beach Resorts
Tropical Beach Resorts
#3 of 12 in Siesta Key
2,393 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarasota - Lido Beach
5.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
Hyatt Regency Sarasota
#6 of 49 in Sarasota
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway

Property: Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway
Address: 6600 S Tamiami Trl, Sarasota, FL 34231 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Southwest Gulf Coast > Sarasota
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 49 Hotels in Sarasota
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Best Western Plus-Gateway Siesta Key located at the south bridge to the #1 beach in the US. This hotel is 1 mile from public beach access on Siesta Key and surrounded by restaurants, shopping and many points of interest. Your stay includes hot breakfast everyday and every guestroom includes microwave, fridge and 42" flat screen with HDTV channel lineup. We look forward to seeing you here in paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Siesta Key Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sarasota-Siesta Key Area Hotel Sarasota
Holiday Inn Sarasota
Holiday Inn Express Siesta Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing